We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place - Pity for bad staff attitude”
Review of Caffe Cordina

Caffe Cordina
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Valletta
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in an old palazzo in the bustling streets of Valletta, Caffe Cordina occupies a special place in the hearts of local and foreign visitors alike. Tracing its origins back to a small tea shop in Bormla, it has since grown and flourished into the Maltese icon we know today. The company is made up of a passionate team of dedicated staff members who take pride in their work and their role in the Caffe Cordina legacy. The quality food they provide and their consistently high-standard of service is testimony to this notion, whilst its long line of experience in the catering industry has resulted in the enviable reputation it enjoys today.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
“Amazing place - Pity for bad staff attitude”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A few weeks' ago I had the pleasure to conduct a business meeting in our lovely capital city Valletta and took my foreign client to Caffe Cordina. I must say the food and ambience was amazing and if I had to stop there I would definetely give 5 stars to this cafe' however the staff's attitude soured the experience and I am sure many people would think the same way. A black haired girl by the name of Paula/Pauline (as per name tag) could hardly speak English properly so when my client asked her very simple questions she was like Sorrry? What?? leaving my client looking at her wide eyed and shocked. To add insult to injury, she served us the wrong dishes and when she came to replace with the correct ones, she did not apologise but just shrugged her shoulders and instead of serving politely, our plates were 'slammed' on the table. I was so embarrased, I could clearly see the shock in my clients' face. Thank God the food was delicious! I hope the cafe owners see such reviews because I feel such a top notch place should not be ruined by careless staff attitudes who probably don't care much but to earn their salary and show no commitment to their place of work

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johncordina, Owner at Caffe Cordina, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciate our food and ambience but very sorry to hear about your experience with a particular server. We are taking necessary steps to correct this and hope such an incident will not be repeated. Having said all this, all of our staff speak English although for many Maltese, English is not their first language. They especially have a difficult time if the client has a particularly strong accent or is not a native English speaker either.
I do hope you will not let a one-off incident prevent you from returning to Caffe Cordina and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    825
    353
    107
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Uneducated staff”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food was good but dealt with staff member pauline u believe who cant speak a word of english and is very rude and short with clients. Surely NOT an asset ! Our experience would have been better without her i am sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cor101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johncordina, Owner at Caffe Cordina, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are very sorry that you had a disappointing visit at Caffe Cordina. We are actively looking into this matter and hope you appreciate that while all of our staff do speak English, for many of them it is not their first language. We hope you'll visit again and have a very different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilsthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing fruit smoothies”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

and lovely ice cream, also traditional pastries and cakes. The cafe does seem to cater to the tourist trade and sell boxed pastries to bring home.
The cafe and the pastries are expensive in comparison to other cafe's but the quality is good

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4AnneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johncordina, Owner at Caffe Cordina, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We hope that you agree that our quality and service reflect our prices. Thanks for your visit and hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best location for Coffee”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The spot is amazing, the inside superb and outside so comfy.

I was there everyday choosing some goodies at lunch time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johncordina, Owner at Caffe Cordina, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope we can serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth visiting for the decor alone!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Beautiful restaurant decorated in fin de siecle style. Try their hot chocolate and wonderful pastries. Pretty pricey but worth it as a treat.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1942Eryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johncordina, Owner at Caffe Cordina, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments and glad you enjoyed our beautiful decor. We are very proud of our lovely interior and strive to maintain it in good condition. We feel that our prices reflect our quality, service and ambience and we hope you feel that way too. Please visit us again, it will be a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Cordina also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Caffe Cordina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing