We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Valletta
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,263)
Filter reviews
5,263 results
Traveler rating
2,407
1,765
746
225
120
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,407
1,765
746
225
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool tiki restaurant private beach sea view large hotel evening buffet five star the bus deluxe room pool staff turn down service plenty of sunbeds pool side steep hill manoel island public areas tea and coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 5,263 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our third visit to The Excelsior. As previously the rooms are spacious and comfortable, we were upgraded to one with terrace and it suited the three of us very well.

The key reasons for returning to this hotel are the proximity of transport links to airport, ferries and the rest of the island, within easy walking distance of town (they also provide a shuttle but I've not used) and its pool/sea area.

Breakfast buffet is extensive and delicious although it often took a while to be seated as it was a very busy weekend.
Bar service and selection is good although the food served there or poolside was average. We didn't try the restaurant as preferred to eat out both for price and choice.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Danie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
187mathiasb, Customer Value Agent at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Danie C,

On behalf of everyone at the Grand Hotel Excelsior, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for finding the time to share your feedback. We take feedback very seriously, as it helps us to improve and grow, and to provide the best possible service to our esteemed guests.

It is always great to welcome back repeat guests, and we are glad that you were satisfied with your stay, particularly our proximity to the capital.

We hope we can get the opportunity to welcome you back for a fourth time, and should you wish to book or discuss any particular dates you may have in mind, please do not hesitate to contact me on guestrelations@excelsior.com.mt, and I will be more than happy to help.

Kind regards,

Mathias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our second visit to this hotel in three years. Still very good, particularly the restaurants. The buffet meals are excellent value and the service is excellent. The one area which needs attention is the food/drink service on the outside (pool area etc). Clearly the staff were new and were not sufficiently well trained.
The bedrooms are clean and well maintained. Try and get a room with a direct view over the harbour.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a direct view of the harbour - not a side view
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dje1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
187mathiasb, Customer Value Agent at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear dje1962,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our food and rooms.

I have forwarded your comments regarding the food/drink service to our Food and Beverage Manager, Mr Fenech, who has assured me that it will be followed up accordingly.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future, and should you wish to discuss any booking dates, please feel free to contact me on guestrelations@excelsior.com.mt.

Kind regards,

Mathias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The title is borrowed from the introduction to the hotel 's magazine. We met the manager who wrote this and some of his team. We totally understand why this is such a brilliant hotel with such high standards. It made our short stay in Malta blissfully memorable.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank nicholasfI7659MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
187mathiasb, Customer Value Agent at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear nicholasfI7659MO,

Thank you for the kind words, and for sharing your feedback with us and with out fellow TripAdvisor readers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was a pleasure hosting you during your short stay.

We take pride in what we do and constantly strive to improve and to give our esteemed guests the best possible, and to give them 'The Grand Life'. Our mission is to give our guests a magical experience regardless of the length of their stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future, and should you wish to discuss any possible booking dates and rates, please do not hesitate to contact me on guestrelations@excelsior.com.mt.

Kind regards,

Mathias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and comfortable room. Great choice at breakfast with efficient and polite service. Lovely pool area. Really couldn’t find fault. Within really easy walking distance of the City Gate. We ate one evening at the Tiki Bar/Restaurant and the food was only surpassed by the view. We received a very warm welcome and attentive service throughout dinner, which considering they were about two nights away from closing for the ‘winter’ was great. We felt as if our enjoyment mattered to them-what a team. We hope to return.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
187mathiasb, Customer Value Agent at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Julie B,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay, with special mentions going to the pool area, location and restaurants. Our aim is to consistently give our guests a 'Grand Life' while staying with us, as our motto goes, therefore we greatly appreciate your feedback.

To add to your comments regarding our proximity to Valletta, we also offer scheduled courtesy cars to town and back, on a complimentary basis. We also offer an out-of-schedule complimentary shuttle service for our esteemed guests who have a reduced mobility. These are bookable through our Transport Desk in the lobby.

With regards to your lovely words regarding our staff, should you have any particular staff member in mind that went above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay special, we kindly encourage you to let us know on guestrelations@excelsior.com.mt, as this allows us to nominate him/her for the IXL award, an internal award given every quarter to a member of staff who embodied what we are all about.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back once again to our hotel, and should you wish to discuss any booking dates or further arrangements, please feel free to email me on the aforementioned email.

Kind regards,

Mathias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

5 of us stayed here for 3 nights for my 60th birthday. The hotel has tons of old world charm and is fabulous. The pool area is very nice with very attentive waiters to serve you drinks & food. The rooms are very comfy with 2 double beds with grt sea views from the large balcony. The bar area is comfortable with grt views of the sea. The Admirals Landing restaurant was very nice for breakfasts with an excellent array of choice of food. Highly recommend the hotel would like to go back.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank mcfcfanBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
187mathiasb, Customer Value Agent at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mcfcfanBournemouth,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great to hear that you had a fabulous time at the hotel and that your were particularly fond of the pool area, staff, rooms, views and food. We take great pride in what we do at the Grand Hotel Excelsior, where we constantly strive to give our guests the best.

We are glad that you would like to return, and should you wish to contact us to discuss booking dates, and any other arrangements you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us on guestrelations@excelsior.com.mt.

Kind regards,

Mathias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews