We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Falconeria(Valletta)
$264
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
66 Saint Paul's(Valletta)
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
$215
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$165
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
$341
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,417)
Filter reviews
4,417 results
Traveler rating
2,056
1,485
620
172
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,056
1,485
620
172
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltiki restaurantprivate beachsea viewlarge hotelevening buffetfive stardeluxe roomthe busconcierge deskturn down serviceplenty of sunbedssteep hillmanoel islandthe hotel offerspublic areasmarsamxett harbour
Filter
Updating list...
2,073 - 2,078 of 4,417 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great Hotel, and well situated, everything was well presented and thought out. The staff very helpful, we booked for bed and breakfast and the breakfast was very comprehensive.

The hotel also has large corporate groups, and on the last 2 days, the Hotel was inundated with a large group. The pool area became busy, drinking and then jumping or throwing their friends in the pool, my kids had a great time rescuing, wallets, watches, room cards, worryingly they also pulled out a lot of tacks and nails.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We've just enjoyed a great week's holiday in Malta and found the Excelsior a very comfortable hotel from which to explore the wonderful city of Valletta. It could probably do with a bit of an update but overall our experience was a very positive one. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was cleaned and re-stocked efficiently each day and the breakfasts offered were plentiful with a good choice. To be recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CalNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Got a great bargain with this one
Great value for money
Service excellent
But did everything it says on the tin
Great location hotel only 7 years old but looks 30 ready for a regress but at the price it was very good

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestonGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is our second stay at the hotel which we enjoyed very much. Some of the staff remembered us and that made the visit very special. Our room was on the 10th floor and was spacious, comfortable and kept very clean by the lady from housekeeping. The staff are helpful and eager to ensure that you enjoy your stay. I am a fussy vegetarian which has to be taken into consideration when I comment on the food. At breakfast there is wide range of foods available which makes variation of diet easy to follow. It is well cooked and presented. In the lobby bar the food was also very with some choice. The staff will do their best to accommodate your needs. We did not eat in the main restaurant as in my view the choice of vegetarian food is limit. My wife however who isn't a veggie may not agree with that. There is a new bar next to the swimming pool which isn't open yet but looks very good. Food from the existing bar was very good and well presented. The hotel is clean and tidy and well looked after. It may need a repaint at the end of the season. transfers to and from the airport is very efficient and value for money. From Valletta you can get to most parts of the island by bus making this hotel an excellent base for your holiday. Will we return, of course we will!!

Room Tip: You can have a harbour view or an outlook of the city. Both are very good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James46172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear James46172,

Whilst thanking you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users, may I also take the opportunity to show our sincere gratitude for choosing again the Grand Hotel Excelsior as your Maltese "home." Your feedback has been noted and shared with the respective departments. Our a la carte menu has a number of vegetarian dishes but there is always scope to increase the choice.

We do look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. For your next stay do not hesitate to contact me directly on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt and it will be a great pleasure to assist you.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The first comment on this hotel must be in relation to its splendid location, overlooking Marsamxett Harbour (not the Grand Harbour as its name might suggest at first glance.

Our check-in was efficient and courteous and we were greeted with a welcome cold drink on a hot day – how refreshing! Our room was numbered 614, a deluxe seafront double room with wonderful panoramic views over the harbour, facing Manoel Island. We are so glad we decided on this upgrade. We had plenty of hanging and drawer space in our room and a litre of water was provided gratis each night as the tap water was not particularly pleasant to drink unless you were used to it. We were extremely pleased to note that the bath was fitted with safety ‘grab’ rails which, in our view, should be fitted as standard in more hotels. The walk in shower was a good size too! The electric plugs are ‘English’ so we didn’t need to use a European adapter. There is also a turn down service each evening and, provided a ‘Do Not Disturb’ notice is displayed outside the room, the staff do not bother you if you prefer to rest. We did find the room service to be inconsistent but this could easily be rectified by the use of a checklist by the staff to ensure nothing is missed.

The hotel has inside and exterior swimming pools and a gymnasium, fitness room and sauna. There is an in-house hairdresser but, unfortunately, she was on her holidays during our visit! There is also an efficient room service for laundry.

Each night, there was entertainment in the bar and we found that this struck exactly the right note (no pun intended!)

We were disappointed that there was no computer terminal for use by guests or, if there is, we were unable to find it!

If you have any mobility problems, you should note that there are 88 steps from the hotel lobby to the steep main road and then about 11 metres uphill to walk to the entrance gates of Valletta. There is a fleet of ‘courtesy’ cars but their use has to be booked and paid for. On one day, because my wife found it a little difficult to climb the steps, I enquired about whether one of the chauffeurs might drive us up the city entrance, a round trip of less than 5 minutes, only to be informed that we were too late and should have been at Reception for 10.00 am with a pre-booking. (I feel this should have been explained at check-in). Once at the new City Gate, the centre of historic Valletta is fairly flat and easily walkable. Leaving the central pedestrian area involves steep streets sloping down to the two harbours, though there is now a new lift (elevator) from the Grand Harbour up to the Upper Barrakka Garden where the noonday gun is fired each day.

The Grand Hotel Excelsior serves an excellent hot and cold breakfast with something to cater for all tastes. It’s self-service but guests are escorted personally to their tables, most of which enjoy pleasant views over the harbour. What a wonderful way to begin the day!

The evening meals in the dining room take one of two forms. There is an a la carte menu where dishes are served at your table and, being individually prepared to order, might take a little longer. Then, there is the daily ‘international’ or themed buffets with a really extensive choice of hot and cold foods, including delicious desserts and local cheeses to finish. All of the food is of a high quality and we simply could not fault it. The table service was friendly and attentive too for liquid refreshments. The dining room staff were attentive and helpful throughout our stay, but not in any way officious.

Before leaving for Malta, we had researched this hotel and were more than a little apprehensive about the negative comments from some other Trip Advisor contributors. We need not have been and, having stayed in hotels of various types right across the globe, all I can say is that some people seem to be impossible to please! Yes, in any hotel things can go wrong but the test must always be one of assessing how well any dissatisfaction is dealt with and sorted. After all, we are all human and not infallible!

In summary, our experience was a very good one overall and we would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again when next in Valletta.

Room Tip: It is worth requesting a harbour view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manxtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews