We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights to allow us to explore Valletta, the hotel is very luxurious and the rooms are comfortable. The view over the harbour is great and the staff are very helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel every day and it was fantastic, thought we didn't eat anything else there because it was so close to the city and it was easy to walk into Valletta for dinner.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 4,190 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is my seventh business trip to Malta and I have stayed at the Grand Excelsior on each visit. I have experienced exceptional service on each visit and special mention must go to Eileen who greets me warmly with a smile each morning. Would highly recommend the Grand Excelsior for excellent service, very high standard of rooms, excellent food, excellent location and courteous attentive service.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area do not have the sun in the early evening, however sea views are spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We found our stay in this hotel to be a wonderful experience, and can find nothing to fault at all. The staff, including the General Manager, were friendly, cheerful and efficient, and nothing was a bother to them. We were greeted warmly by our hotel taxi driver, and a refreshing fruit drink was waiting for us on our arrival at reception. The room, with its excellent harbour view, was spotless and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast provided a vast selection of choice; everything we sampled was very tasty and well prepared.
We only ate dinner once in the hotel restaurant - the food and service were excellent. On a couple of occasions we had a room service light meal, which was promptly, efficiently and cheerfully served.
In short, we were both delighted with our stay, and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is well placed, 8-10 minutes walk from Valetta and rather less from the bus station, and although there is an initial climb, a courtesy car to the town is available (which we didn't use, preferring the exercise!)

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

A very nice hotel with true 5 star service - rooms are comfortably furnished, but are already a bit dated (some cracked tiles, dirty carpet..) Great pool where you can swim laps (in circles) and fitness studio area. The views from the restaurant and bar are very impressive. If you want to enjoy the view from your room, be prepared to pay for it. Tried the hotel restaurant and we were impressed with both service and quality of it. For a hotel restaurant the price was okay too.

Room Tip: If you want a view from the room, you have to pay for it. You will enjoy it from the breakfast area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badeente24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear badeente24

Many thanks for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. It is always great to hear such positive comments as it gives us the motivation to improve further our product and most importantly the guest experience. As a matter of fact we are currently refurbishing all rooms, the Executive Lounge and next month we will be launching a new concept the Tiki Village. These projects are all intended to enhance your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future and should you require any assistance with your booking please do not hesitate to email me on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Three of us stayed in 2 rooms for 4 nights, as part of a BA package.
The hotel was wonderful. The staff were especially friendly and helpful. The rooms were "deluxe" and were spacious and well appointed. Bathroom, also spacious, had both a roomy shower and tub.
The included buffet breakfast was very good, with a wide and complete selection of foods.
Had dinner in the hotel one evening, and both buffet and a la carte were good.
The outdoor and indoor pools were both excellent, and the outdoor pool location, with its harbour views, is superb.
All the public areas were good, but the lobby bar area with its views and live (but not too loud) music was particularly enjoyable.
Its a short walk uphill to the bus terminal and then into the old town. I also ran a 30 min circuit of the outside wall each morning.
Only slightly negative comment is that the rooms were serviced on the late side.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaverishintensity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband, our teenage daughter, and I stayed there for 5 nights, and had a wonderful, relaxing holiday, which we needed. The location is excellent with a wonderful view of the harbour with a private beach, where I would go before breakfast before my family was up to look at the fish in the sea. We made a good use of the indoor pool and the gym, which was all kept nice and clean. The breakfast was very nice, and we enjoyed freshly made omelette and waffle, etc. every morning. If I were to be pressed, the carpet could do with upgrading and, some members of the staff seemed more capable than others. But it didn't matter in the end. The staff did try hard. We are glad we went there, and we would love to go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Three of us travelled to the Excelsior to relax after a recent family bereavement. What we needed was a relaxing holiday where nothing went wrong and there was no stress as we had experienced a great deal of stress in the preceding three months. The Excelsior was perfect.

The staff were friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. The facilities were first class. The breakfast choice and quality was excellent. I have no hesitation at all in recommending this hotel and would be happy to answer any questions should you be thinking of making a reservation. Special thanks go to Brian Bartolo, Head of Marketing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
577 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: $106 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing