We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is just outside the main gates to the city of Valletta. It is a modern building with love;ly pool, plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and small beach directly onto the sea. It faces one of the busiest creeks full of 800 different ships and boats. The public areas are very nice with plenty of seats, the two restaurants very spacious with a pool restaurant serving snacks and meals. The rooms are quite large, well furnished with some carpets looking old. The bathrooms are excellent, big walk in shower, deep but not long bath with toilettries, bathrobes and slippers. The beds are big and very comfortable, very clean and turn down service offered. Water is provided daily for free and there is a good sized fridge and safe. The balcony has a table and two chairs and is quiote large. The best balconies are those that have stone walls between each balcony - never hear your neighbours. The restaurants offer excellent food, well prepared and menus change daily. Maltese locals praise the Sunday buffet lunch and it was great. The pool and beach area are spacious with plenty of beds, ask for umbrellas on the beach part, which is closed mid October. The floor area and walkways are water pressured hosed daily and always pool attendants were about . The pool is large and deep and very nice, with plenty of shades. The bar here was wonderful and watching all the ships go by whilst enjoying sa snack, drink or lunch was just great. Did not try the spa but others said it was very good. Overall a very very good hotel with attentive and caring staff, very clean and great food and rooms. This hotel is ten minutes walk from a huge variety of restaurants bars and history.
Tip ask for a room near the top floor, one with walled in balcony and facing the setting sun. Watching the sun set over the creek with the colours of the sky changing, the lights of the harbour front and the continual movement of boats, large and small made this a wonderful holiday

Room Tip: Facing setting sun, high floor for perfect view and walled in balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,736
    1,198
    492
    140
    63
See reviews for
636
1,756
178
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel may be old but is charming.The staff are all very freindly and proffesional. The breakfast buffet is very large and offer's everyhting that one could have. Ufortunately some of the guests do not realise how fortunate they are and there manners where a disgrace.

The bedrooms are clean and though maybe need skme attention are very quite and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornboy495040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I would say excellent: the sea view, the assets, the rooms, the bathroom. All is very good, really. I find though that it is a bit tacky. Everything is a bit too much, from the Oriental gongs of the breakfast lounge to the the furniture that reminds the nouveau riches of Dubai. All this though is only in the common areas, whilst in the rooms everything is ok.
I loved the big table of my room and the little private terrace where relaxing after a nice bath. Staff is welcoming and quality of service belongs to the higher standard.
The food though needs to be improved: there is definitely too much, I would expect less food but more attention to taste and presentation details.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corrado l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from a great holiday in valletta the hotel right on the water front. We had a sea view and our view was the preperations for the Roulex middle sea race we loved it.
The hotel was very good but our bedroom carpet could have done with a clean for a 5 star hotel but every other thing was perfect

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

First the good news. If you like your hotels large, plush and classy in a great location then the Excelsior Grand will not disappoint. Yes, there are some areas that are in need of refurbishment but as can be seen from a response to another review, this is underway. I really cannot see this hotel letting its standards slip very far. And those standards are high. The staff are uniformly excellent (or were in our experience) and they must have a well thought through recruitment and training programme - everyone seemed to treat their guests with respect and care, with a human touch.

The location is superb, looking out over the leisure harbour and only a short (uphill) walk from the old town - a shuttle bus is available at certain times. The indoor and outdoor pool areas are without fault and the restaurant and bar food is very good. The rooms have superb views (even the non harbour rooms look out over gardens, although there is a busy road at a higher level - but this is a capital city, after all)

The "however" relates to functions at the hotel. Keep in mind that this is a large (relatively speaking) hotel, with many rooms and function rooms. It needs to keep busy and it was obvious during our stay that they do so by attracting conferences, corporate events and weddings. Our experience was that this had no discernible effect upon the day to day running of the hotel - doubtless beneath the surface there was a lot of activity, but on the surface all was calm and normal - the hallmark of a good organisation. That's the good news.

The bad news during our stay was that one corporate evening event and a wedding were held on consecutive nights in the pool area at the harbour side of the hotel, around the outdoor pool. And a lovely venue it is. It is a natural amphitheater and therein lies the problem for hotel guests if the event has music. There really is no escaping it in the majority of rooms. When the band at the corporate event launched into "Wake me up" at 1.30 am they were wasting their energy - I'd be surprised if anyone had managed to get to sleep. The wedding was more sedate but there was no escaping the fact that there were several hundred people around the pool until after midnight.

None of this spoiled our stay at the Excelsior Grand and we would happily return - in fact we are planning our next trip.

Room Tip: The best way to minimise the potential disruption from outdoor events is likely to be having a non-p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely week at the Excelsior. Whilst agreeing with other reviewers that the hotel is just about due for a refurbishment, it did not detract from our stay and the general condition is up with 4* and 5* hotels around the world. Our 10th floor deluxe sea-view room was large and airy with a large, exceptionally comfortable bed. The hotel staff were obliging and attentive throughout.

The breakfast buffet is as good as anywhere I have stayed. My only negative would be the cost of bar food and drinks, but I suppose that is the price of staying at what is probably the best hotel on the island. €6 for a 4cl measure of whisky which sells for €12 a 70cl bottle in the town seems exorbitant.

Yes, the 88 steps to get up to street level can be a pain, but at least it works off the extra pounds you put on during a vacation!! Although only an 8-10 minute walk, a continuous shuttle service to town would be appreciated by many guests.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool tend to be in the shade for most of the day, whilst west facing rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel taxi was at the airport waiting and as we arrived at reception we were given a cool drink. Our room was reasonably sized, though worn, was very comfortable for the week. Food - we loved breakfast and lunch but found the set menus in the evening restricting so spent most evenings with room service on the balcony or eating out. The Hotel had every facility we needed and and thoroughly enjoyed our spa facility. I would say because the is a very large hotel with a lot of corporate functions on, you are likely to come from the beach and bump into a lot of business groups in the lifts and public areas. This hotel was brilliant for sight seeing (once you have climbed the 88 steps to the road) and the concierge is more than happy to help you with whatever you need. An area of this hotel I have seen slated in previous posts is the staff, during our stay my husband injured himself and the hotel could not do enough, the staff were amazing! from the security took us to the health centre, stayed with us, made sure we got to the other health centre, the driver who took us to get his prescriptions, the front of house staff making sure he was comfortable and had water, room service man who checked on his health ...the list goes on everyone couldn't do enough and I thank every single one. Is this a 5 star hotel - it was when it was built 30 years ago by modern standard it is dated but should not be overlooked as a great place to stay in Valletta with great staff and facilities

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentSlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing