We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a very nice 10 days stay here in July/August. Only 5 min from citycentre with lots of good shopping and many nice restaurants. Try La Sfoglia on Merchant Street.! Friendly staff at the hotel, the food and roomservice was good. The room and bathroom was clean. We hired the hoteltaxi and the driver was very pacient and helpfull. This hotell had both pool and beach. Nice view and sunset:) We will come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony at seaside is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roregi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,736
    1,198
    492
    140
    63
See reviews for
636
1,756
178
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just got back from a week at the grand excelsior and I find it hard to fault customer service was excellent from the room maids ,receptionists,concierge ,waiters to the management, everyone was very helpfully and polite , from bing picked up at the airport to checking out . Food could not be faulted , beds very comfortable ,bedding changed daily ,turn down service on an evening . We've previously stayed at the fortina in sliema but not a patch on the grand excelsior.
They organised scuba diving for myself and my son with Watercolours dive centre ,absolutely fantastic, great location for Valletta

Room Tip: Stayed on the 9th floor overlooking the front steps ,nice and quiet ,could still get the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location- very close to the city centre yet a very quiet location, great service- used their taxi and he was friendly and guided us since we were new, good food- ate a few times at the Admiral restaurant and Spice Island, both were exceptional. Loved their seabass in crusted sea salt...yummy! The hotel has friendly staff and even the baby sitting lady was reassuring. Yes we would return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

When we arrived our room was not ready so we did all formalities and and then came back at check in time. After one hour the bellboy took our discussion with the reception and pushed them to get us our room, over 1,5 hours late.It was clear that the room was cleaned in a hurry. It was still dirty. Overall it was our impressions that the staff really did not want to work here: The reception was arrogant and unhelpful. The restaurant and pool staff looked like they were going to start crying day after day. We felt really sorry for them and tried cheer them up that worked for a while. We also had our worst food as far as we can remember. We waited 2 hour for dry food with lots bones. Plus: Nice pool, close to Valetta and bus station, best Ftira we had in malta at the pool. Neutral: Room ok, not really clean but not dirty, when we tipped it got cleaner. Negative: Atmosphere from staff depressing, horrible food, Heavy traffic to get in and out of hotel by foot, nothing for people with children. We arrived happy and left wanting to leave Malta at once.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger751023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Tiger751023

Whilst thanking you for your feedback, I appreciate if you could send me more details to my email address - brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt. Such detailed information is extremely important as it will help us investigate the matter and take corrective action where necessary.

From your review it is very evident that we did not meet your expectations and this merits an investigation. On behalf of the team, I apologise for not delivering a high level of service. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and guest experience and we want to make sure that this transmitted to all our guests.

I look forward to hear from you shortly.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights half board.

The location of the hotel was perfect for being able to explore Valletta without being in the middle of what is a busy place. We were able to walk into the centre of town in about 15 mins.

The hotel is on the harbour, and has a delightful pool area with a bar, and a small area to get into the sea.

We enjoyed the buffet meal option on both nights and have to say some of the food was truly excellent. The Asian night particularly was a highlight.

The staff were almost without exception helpful, polite and effective. We had transfer to and from the airport which went without issue. The concierge had also arranged a hire car for us which was delivered to the hotel.

I would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Valletta.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel has all the infrastructure features and staff to be 5*, but the bedroom carpet was stained and shabby, the hotel exterior facings need refurbishing, and the service was eccentric.

Items for improvement:
- unnecessary queueing for seating for breakfast. Sometimes a few minutes wait. Also the floor used for breakfast was randomly changed several times per week, which led to the elevators being blocked, as staff advised diners on arrival to stay on board and go back to another floor, resulting in queueing for elevators. Staff and luggage also used the guest elevators, which added to the load, as did elevator breakdowns.
- queueing for eggs at breakfast, at peak times up to 15 minutes. One guy in the corner cooking eggs, pancakes, waffles and omelettes. 10-15 people queueing, which effectively also blocked the rest of the buffet.
- room charge for each room key 5 Euros on arrival. Returned when key returned. Pool towels room charge 15 Euros per towel, returned when towel card was returned. Stop this nonsense.
- room service prawn Caesar salad was pleasant enough. For one of us this resulted in slightly dicky bowels, apparently due to the prawns.
- dining in the hotel is poor value, both poolside and in the main dining rooms. Food was mass produced stuff, but main dining room price was >100 Euros for 2 meals inclusive wine and tip.
- main lobby bar gave very good service, and prices reasonable except the usual rip off for cocktails like gin (6 Euros) and tonic (1.50 Euros) costing 7.50 each. Large beer was ~4 Euros, amazing value.
- we made our own gin and tonics in the room, but then after room service cleaned the glasses the following day, they put the previous night's lemon slice back in the clean glass and left it there! We asked them not to do this, but they refused, saying there had been complaints about this in the past when they throw food away from the rooms, and they are instructed to ensure lemon slices are left in the glasses!!! Definitely unhygienic, and refusing a service request from a guest is plain wrong. They compounded this with the dreadful 'we can't do special action for one guest, there are too many guests'.
- in general, staff looked downtrodden, bullied and unhappy. Management was invisible, and at no point in an 11 night stay did any of our comments or requests result in a staff member asking us our opinion about any aspect of the hotel. There is plenty of opportunity for improvement here, and most of it only requires decent management and deep cleaning. The only exception was the front desk, who invariably managed a smile and a personal greeting.

And a final bonus point: on my birthday, a small but exquisite chocolate cake appeared in my room, together with a birthday card signed by the whole front desk - thanks very much ladies and gents!

Cost: despite it being high season, the hotel discounted our room significantly in exchange for advance payment. So the price and experience were reasonably in line. Only be aware that this is not a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leiden_food_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here on first trip to Malta, the hotel was amazing such a great location and staff were really helpful, i would recommend this hotel highly. The facilities of the hotel is great from the pool to the restaurants,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing