We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Grand Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$453
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Falconeria(Valletta)
$273
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$467
$433
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$220
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
$201
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$171
$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Coleridge(Valletta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
British Hotel(Valletta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,374)
Filter reviews
4,374 results
Traveler rating
2,042
1,468
614
169
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,042
1,468
614
169
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltiki restaurantprivate beachsea viewlarge hotelevening buffetfive stardeluxe roomthe busconcierge deskturn down serviceplenty of sunbedssteep hillmanoel islandthe hotel offerspublic areasmarsamxett harbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,461 - 2,466 of 4,374 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the excelsior with my friend for a week in March. This was our second visit to Malta and our second time staying in the Excelsior Hotel. Expectations were high for our return trip given we had such a good experience the first time and we were certainly not disappointed.

We booked a deluxe room which had a view over the pool area, terrace and beautiful harbour. The rooms are finished to a very high standard and have all the touches you would expect from a five star hotel.

The nice touches continue in the luxurious lobby bar area where it is a pleasure to relax with a cup of tea and read the paper. In the evenings you can enjoy one of the many fabulous cocktails made by the experienced bar staff. I have to confess we spent quite a lot of time enjoying the view in bar all the while trying quite a few of the drinks on the menu!

Turning to food, I would recommend booking breakfast with your stay. The breakfast is the best I have had in a hotel abroad. Apart from the usual fresh fruit, breads, cereals, meats and pastries, you can also have a full cooked breakfast with bacon, sausage, eggs etc on offer each day. What was most impressive however was the fact that a chef was on hand in the restaurant each morning to cook each guest the following to order, pancakes, fried or poached eggs, omelettes or waffles.

While the breakfast at the Excelsior is second to none, no visit to this hotel would
be complete without experiencing the evening menu in the a la carte restaurant, Admirals Landing. We had the pleasure of dining in the restaurant for the first time during our last stay and the quality of the food is absolutely superb. Being people who would eat in high quality restaurants at home, we appreciated the attention to detail in each of the dishes which would rival those of some Michelin star restaurants. This is a real treat for any guest and should not be missed!

Finally it was the staff at this beautiful hotel that made our stay truly special. Everyone was extremely courteous and friendly, attending to our every need. From the porters to the breakfast room attendants, waiters to managers, everyone offers a kind greeting and nothing is too much trouble.

We will definitely be back!

Louise, 30, Belfast, Northern Ireland

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishlawyerlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have stayed in the Excelsior a number of times. Try and get a club room as they are more spacious and you get access to the lounges mid afternoon.
Pool is a decent size with a small kids pool.
Restaurants are expensive but plenty of restaurants in Valetta.
Steep hill to walk up from hotel to Valetta.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days for our family trip to Malta. We havea 3 1/4 years old baby boy. The room was spacious enough for him to go around and play. The bathroom also was spacious so we could enjoy our bubble bath and all...
Breakfast was good with quite a lot of selections. Gym is quite nice. Swimming pool (indoor) was nice as well. Staffs were friendly.
The Ferry stop to Sliema is near the hotel...it actually is walkable. The hill some people complained about was not that bad for us as we had a pushchair for the kiddo. We walked to the bus stop with no problems as well.

Just one frightening incident we had on the last night of our stay was a bit disturbing. A stranger almost walked into our room around almost 2am at nigh while we were all alseept! We had the door blocker. So the door did not open all the way. Obviously the hotel front desk made a mistake of giving out our room to the guy!!! It was a rediculous mistake for a 5 star hotel!!!! We felt bad for the stranger guest who came to our room at that time as well...poor guy was dragging his suitcase and I bet all he wanted was a comfortable bed to crash after his travel. We called the front notified them about their mistake. They said sorry.....but could have been a bit more apalogetic about their mistake. Of course I could not fall back into sleep after the surprise visit in the middle of the night.....but I do not want to penalize them for the mistake..so I am giving them a good rating as the hotel itself is nice indeed.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 4th floor as the hotel loby is on the 4th floor. If your room is below the loby floor and non sea view, you might have an old wall view in front of your balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aniese p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Aniese

Many thanks for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior with Trip Advisor users. Our rooms and public areas are designed to ensure maximum guest comfort, whilst enjoying the magnificent views of Marsamxett Harbour.

We apologise for the unfortunate incident and we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that this will not happen again.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior in the very near future.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent staff, all very friendly and helpful. One of the best breakfast buffets we have seen anywhere. We were invited to meet with the managers on Wednesday evening which was a nice touch, made us feel welcome and valued. We were also pleasantly surprised that we were both given a bottle of very good local wine for our birthdays, another personal touch. For a large hotel these things make you feel special and important. Any small problems were dealt with immediately, i made a mistake and couldn't open the safe and security came within 5 minutes and we had a plumbing problem, the loo was blocked, again sorted straight away with minimum fuss. The indoor swimming pool and fitness facilities were great, a robe and slippers was provided in the room for use going to and from your room to the pool. Would recommend and would stay again. Did not try the restaurant as there were so many other places to try in the town that were smaller and cheaper.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a first class Hotel run by well motivated staff who cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. The management team are top draw and will accomadate your every wish. The views from the hotel are stunning and the food options are wide ranging. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the harbour
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews