We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people in a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely people in a lovely hotel”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We are 2 disabled travellers who need walking sticks and stayed at the Excelsior in February 2013. There are 88 steps up to the road and we NEVER had a problem. Yes this is a 5 star hotel and I could find minor fault if I had to, but from the moment of arrival and being met by Heathcliffe at the door, through the friendly, efficient and professional Reception to our lovely room with a balcony and fantastic view it was a fabulous holiday. Whilst the people of Malta are so very friendly the hotel staff stood out and just one example would be Dennis the hotels taxi service, knowledgeable, helpful and so friendly.
Yes, there was only one restaurant open (The Admiral) but the fabulous view, the excellent food choice at the buffet and the care taken by all the staff could not have been bettered anywhere in the world (and I have spent a number of years working in Park Lane) Thank you Angela and Gwenoline for your kindness and care. I must mention Robert who is very knowlegable yet shows his love for and excellent knowledge of Malta's wines and it was a joy to converse with him. And yes we did get some of the special wine - No name but it begins with A, on the way home! And we hope your terrific Bar Manager enjoyed his coffee course. If I have a minor complaint, please teach that youg man in housekeeping how to press a pair of trousers - Ouch! Overall, how soon can we return, thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a room with a balcony on the 8th or 9th floor, unless we manage to get back t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandGNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    1,222
    498
    142
    65
See reviews for
644
1,791
178
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drama Region, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When you are writting a review about a 5-star hotel you have to be much more responsible about your words and also more strict regarding the provided services.So you don't have to stick to the basics...So summarizing the the 2 days staying I have to state that:
-The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the central gate of Valetta
-The receptionists gave us a half hour breefing about bars and restaurants in the city of Valetta and the cities nearby
-Every time I was needing an umbrella there was one for me (finally I delivered 5 at the check out!)
-Taxi service is fair enough
-Rooms are clean,quite but some details need renovation
-The food and the service at the Restaurant was fantastic (also the view from our table)
-The location of the hotel is privilleged
-The total surroundings are luxurious
-The final price for all the above was quite reasonable

So,at my next visit to Malta I will check again the Grand Excelsior Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doldou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week in February. Mistake. Only one restaurant open and one bar. Half an hour walk up steep steps to get anywhere. No bars or restaurants anywhere near the hotel so forced to either eat off the same menu each night, boring, or walk into Valletta and take pot luck. Staff were really friendly however and hotel was very luxurious even though mostly closed down being out of season. It's NOT a five star in my view but a good four star. Our oom looked out onto a stone wall. Only the Pool is free and there is a charge of 15Euro per visit per person to use the sauna and steamroom! Staff in the leisure club seemed quite put out that we were there and begrudgingly gave us a towel each having first made us go back to our room to change out of our clothes and put on the robes and slippers provided! Wouldn't stay again and wouldn't recommend it out of season.

Room Tip: Go for a room as high as possible! reception is on the 6th floor so go for 6th or above. Ours was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ess-Aitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel about 4+ times. Each time has been a good stay and it has to be said one of the better hotels on the Island. I know as I've stayed at most of the better hotels in the years I've been visiting friends/family/business. The only comparison being the Hilton maybe. But location and views with the Grand are better. The hire car was arranged/facilitated by them too, but one evening the bus boy left the lights on when he parked it, so I had a flat battery. It was quickly sorted with jump leads although I had to show them the best way to do this safely. After these years the wear is starting to show in some areas and care must be taken to address this on a week by week basis. Breakfast is sumptuous and will cater for everyone's needs. I have eaten in the restaurant before and that was adequate too. Because the Maltese like their pasta on the harder side of al-dente, you should tell them what you regard as al-dente! The hotel can be quiet in the winter months and the outdoor pool appeared to be un-used as the weather was cooler although sunny. If its your 1st stay in Malta it would be worth the visit then look at others thereafter.

Room Tip: A view over the Grand Harbour especially in the Fiesta season as the fireworks over the 3 cities is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIRECTOR_DES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night for a business trip. Great location, rooms are large and clean with good services. Not to far from centre of Valletta about 10 min walk. Just remember you cant check in until after 3. If youre booking on-line, might be worth checking with a phone call that they have received your booking. They lost mine and struggled to find another room, although the room I reserved for my colleague on the same booking was OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PML49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked an overnight stay to attend a very special event in Valletta. Upon entering, the service was good, the food in the Admiral's Landing was average (ketchup stained sticky knives and tiny pots of mayo and ketchup that you couldn't get the spoon into). We saw our room, it looked ok for the price (the headboard was well used and rather worn) but when we needed to use the facilities in the room to get ready there was no hot water: anywhere! We called reception who assured us that someone would come and fix it. We rang reception at least 3 times before we gave up, the line was either engaged or we were being fobbed off by the staff. The next morning the shower in our room was broken and we managed to get some kind of a shower from the over bath shower. The accouterments in the room (minibar) were absent and the bathroom accessories were old and tired. It was as if the room was stuck in time: a little old, frayed around the edges, in general need of TLC. For the amount we paid for our night's stay we could have stayed two nights elsewhere. Try and avoid this hotel if you REALLY want luxury. This is luxury for tourists or people who have little concept about what luxury really is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fallofelegeisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear electricgeisha

May I assure that your comments have been investigated in detail with the respective departments and most importantly made sure that the appropriate action has been taken. I strongly feel that trying to justify the issues you encountered would be inappropriate. On behalf of management I offer my sincerest apologies to you.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was hotel #2 on our honeymoon to Malta (first was InterContinental Saint Julian). POSSIBLY THE BEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN!

True 5 star hotel. It's beautiful, well taken care of, has great facilities, great rooms, very good food and the service is just top notch! The view from the pool is breathtaking also.

Keep in mind that if (like me and my wife) you prefer to walk instead of driving or taking a taxi you are looking at many stairs going up just to get out of the hotel onto the street. So if you have any kind of mobility issues or bad knees etc you may want to use the hotel's shuttle or call a taxi.

The service in the hotel is absolutely incredible, the front desk staff is friendly and very helpful. When checking out and going to the airport don't bother with a taxi, because the hotel shuttle will get you there for practically the same price in new, air-conditioned vehicles.

Our room was amazing! clean, well decorated and pretty spacious. The swimming pool and beach area is always clean, with lots of poolside chairs and 2 bars.

Overall our stay was quite great and Valletta is a beautiful city with lots of history.

If I was to write anything negative at all about this place is that there is really no bar/night life scene near by. So if you're looking for that, paceville in Saint Julian is a better fit. However, if you are looking for 5 star luxury, this is it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 14 in Valletta
2,130 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4,407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing