We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but over-commercial”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Good but over-commercial”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were fortunate enough to have a full harbour view room for five nights, room and breakfast. The room was excellent and the balcony large enough for table and chairs plus a couple of recliners. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and the staff pleasant and helpful.

Now for the downside. There are 85 steps leading up from reception and a busy main road to cross before the brief climb into Valletta – fine if you are fit but no good for wonky knees. That’s not the hotel’s fault but some warning would have been helpful.

Our main complaint was that on arrival I had to “pre-authorise” 250 Euros on my credit card, a sum that will only be released several days after leaving the hotel. Leaving aside the fact that they tried to get me to pay again for the pre-paid accommodation (soon corrected), it is off-putting to be put in the category of people who might incur charges and then run off. The tariff in the room for things that we might, presumably, steal included E4 for an inner pillow case, E4 for a shoe horn and E8 for a bath mat. I was assured that it was nothing personal but then who wants to stay in a place that has guests stealing inner pillow cases! The result was that we ate out for most meals – there are some very good places in town – and the hotel lost more than a shoe horn.

I am still awaiting confirmation from the hotel that I haven’t stolen anything.

A pity really, because it is a very nice hotel but I would not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beirniad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,875
    1,323
    538
    156
    68
See reviews for
694
1,925
185
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in The Excelsior for 3 nights in May 2012. Everything about this hotel screams luxury and sophistication. It's setting is wonderful with superb facilities including the beautiful pool area overlooking the waterway. Sitting by the pool watching the yachts drift home on a Sunday evening was glorious.
Very attentive staff in The Excelsior, opening doors, greeting you with a smile each time. Check in was effortless. Our room was beautifully appointed, very clean with a wonderfully comfortable bed and great bathroom. Downside perhaps was the shower being over the bath and as I stepped in to the bath a whacked my forehead on the towel rail fixed to the wall - could have been my eye but luckily not.
we had a beautiful mixed continental breakfast each morning witha wonderful selection of fresh fruit and traditional hot food.
We ate in the restaurant and had drinks in the bar each evening. Again the staff were attentive but not overly so.
The hotel itself is within easy walking distance of Valletta town centre - 10 minutes easily. A bit of a clinm up the hill but once you have that out of the way it's a gentle stroll to the shops.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've spent 3 nights in the hotel. It claims to be a real luxury 5-star property. But unfortunately it cannot be declared as 5-star premise anymore. I must stressed that the hotel is not awful, but I've written this opion taking into account that I assess 5-star hotel, and not a hostel. The hotel is a little bit shabby and it needs to be renowated for sure. The prices for all amenities are overestimated - they require 35 euros per person per access to spa area, which is extremely poor - only finnish sauna nam turskish bath, it is strange that the demand additional prices for such basic spa amenities. Additionally they required 50 euros per day to have harobur view which is for me too expensive and not worth it. Additionally the cuisine is franskly speaking awful. Please do not use the hote;'s kitchen - it's better to go to Valletta city center and get wonderful meal for less than a half of price in Excelsior. Dissapointing.

Room Tip: It's really not worth to pay 50 euro per day for harbour view which you will see during breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is not a modern hotel but it is very chic and staff is amazing! It was my second time in Malta for the Isle of MTV event. The previous year we stayed at the Westin Dragonara and this year I went for 3 days on my own to Le Meridien and later joined the group at the Excelsior. So i was in a modern hotel and changed so I felt that but at the same time the service is great, the style is nice, lots of space, room service did not bring what i requested before I had to call again but in other hand every day they brought us a new bathroom kit with even normal size toothbrushes ( not that ones that heart). Service in the pool was fast and prices were fair. They have a pier so we could leave for a boat ride direct from there and also the pool is big! I had manicure and the spa is super relaxing! I recommend!

Room Tip: Check if you have a view as my balcony was facing nothing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is an outstanding hotel, but perhaps some of "little things" that turn a four star hotel into a five star may need attention.

My reservation, through Expedia, was handled well although I resented having to prepay, but that's an Expedia issue I guess. However the after informing the hotel of my membership in their I prefer traveler program they sent me the followings response, "to opt for the I prefer benefits one has to book from the I prefer website." Expedia's suggestion that this was the best hotel in Valletta led to my booking decision, their response dishonored Expedia's recommendation.

On arrival I had to carry my luggage into the lobby before someone offered to assist. A 5 star hotel usually has a doorman to help arriving guests. The reception desk staff were a very friendly and efficient.

Our room, overlooking the harbor was delightful. But the towels looked old and worn. A 5 star hotel has plenty of bright white fluffy towels, these were rough, needed bleaching and limited to just enough for one bath and hand towel for each guest.

The breakfast and dinner restaurants are large and provide great harbor views. The food was very good but the service a bit less than 5 star quality, but definitely 4 star quality. The dinner waiters, at the international buffet could have been more attentive. A 5 star hotel would have dimmed the bright overhead lights and allowed the guests to see the great harbor views at night. The bright lights were distracting with only views of other diners being reflected back through the wall of windows.

The Internet connections worked well. The hotel honored my I prefer membership for this but not for the members room upgrade.

Access to the old city is a short walk but requires a long climb up the hotels steps to the street level. If one has trouble walking up 4 or 5 floors, hiring on of the hotel's cars is essential. Taxis are not called by the hotel since they have their own fleet of cars they offer to guests, for a fee. If the stairs are even slightly wet they are treacherous and slippery. one must be vey cautious during any incremental weather.

Overall I was vey pleased with this hotel, but would tend to rate it at 4+ not 5 stars.

Room Tip: Join I prefer program and book through their website to get room upgrade and free Internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have visited this hotel situated in an ideal part of Malta very near the City of Valletta and attended to the Lavish Food Buffets it offers at a very reasonable price of 30 Euro, all that you could wish for and more. Highly recomanded to everyone.

Room Tip: Book early, especially on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent_ungaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

First time in Malta, Hotel and staff wonderful and helpful, breakfast fab, pool area large, that you did int feel you were sitting on top of others,
sitting on our balcony in the evening, overlooking one of the many harbor's, absolute tranquility.
loved walking the quaint street's finding restaurants,
The history great, Medina a must, could go on and on, will return.

Room Tip: overlook the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tala102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Tala102

Many thanks for sharing your serenity experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. It is a great satisfaction to note that our team members contributed to your wonderful stay in Malta. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,213 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,957 reviews
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing