We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

This summer, july/august, we spend our holidays on the Isle of Malta. We stayed for 3 weeks in the Grand Hotel Excelsior and is was a wunderful experience. The hotel is located very close to Valetta. We had a fantastic room on the 9th floor with seaview, overlooking a great part of Malta and huge balcony with sunchairs. The staff is very friendly, great service and the room was cleaned every day, very thouroughly. Twice a day clean towels and every day free bottles of water.
The restaurants offer delightful choices for breakfast, dinner or lunch. The poolarea is very well organized with staff that will provide you anything you need.
We checked the reviews on TripAdvisor before we left and noticed some negative comments about private dinner party's held around the poolarea that made that guests had to be removed and stay on the beach. Non of this happened during our stay. Yes, there were private party's but not to the inconvenience of the hotel guests. It was all well orgnized.
We can highly recommend this hotel when you plan to visit Malta. You will feel very welcomed to enjoy and relax. Try a nice treatment in the hotel's Spa. You will love that!
And when you decide for scuba diving, the hotel offers a great service on that aswell. The divicenter Watercolours will pick you up and bring you back to the hotel.
We will definitely come back next year and we already know where to stay....this great hotel!
To the staff of the hotel:
Thank you very much for the pleasant stay and the efforts you make to provide your guests a wunderful experience!
Jan, Anita and Jan van Meel from Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview are the best, we recommend one of the topfloor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna18188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarilynCusto, Public Relations Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Hello Anita, Jan and Jan Van Meel. Greetings from all of us at The Grand Hotel Excelsior. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for three weeks and for finding the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Your positive comments are truly encouraging. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to hosting you once again in the very near future.

With very best regards.

Marilyn Custo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    1,195
    490
    140
    63
See reviews for
636
1,753
178
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights at Grand Hotel Excelsior with my husband.

We had a fantastic room with seaview (which is worth the extra cost) on 7th floor. It gave us a huge balcony and amazing views over the wonderful marina and harbour. The room was very spacious, clean with modern decor. It also had a fridge which was very useful for cold drinks. Breakfast had a wide choice including egg station and the breakfast area also had views of the harbour.

We had a couple of meals at Tiki Bar (beside the pool) and although more costly than eating out at a restaurant the food and service was excellent. Pool area overlooks the harbour and is very well laid out. We always had nightly coffees in the lounge and again, excellent service.

All in all, we had a lovely time staying at Grand Hotel Excelsior.

Room Tip: Just bare in mind that Valletta can be very sleepy and limited opening hours. Also, not a large ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TannadiceTerrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarilynCusto, Public Relations Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
We thank you and your husband for choosing The Grand Hotel Excelsior. We appreciate that you found the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Feedback from our guests is very important to us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the hotel, your room, the view and the facilities. We fully agree with you that St John's Cathedral is not to be missed.

Thank you once again for your encouraging comments and we look forward to have you back at the Hotel.

With best regards.

Marilyn Custo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for three nights with my colleagues as part of a business thing. The rooms had a decnt view (partly seaview), would have ated to have a room with a view into a wall for the front of the hotel. Room was spacious, great toiletries selection and the cleaning staff was good and friendly. One point for improvement: the hairdryer was useless. It would have taken hours to dry my hair.
Air con probably didn't work very well, but I didn't bother to ask for new room or repairs.
Pool and "bach" area is really good, though the serving staff around the pool was quite slow (waited 45 minutes for a sandwich). Breakfast buffet amazing, other food served was really good.
Hope to go back with the husband at some point.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OsloTravelprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The hotel has the potential to be good with nice rooms and a good situation. Unfortunately the attitude is of a cheap hotel which ensures that this is the atmosphere that comes through. Breakfast has to be pre approved on your credit card or they will not serve you. There is no wifi in the rooms. The staff are pleasant but I feel the owners need a wake up call.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Probably the best hotel in Malta. You are greeted by a huge lobby with a majestic staircase as soon as you get in.

Hotel is in 2 minutes away from the capital city where the heart of shopping is. Staff are extremely helpful, rooms are big and equipped with everything including tootbrush, shaving blade and foam. Bathrooms are big and the views are amazing.

The food is great and each evening was a different theme. Asian, Maltese, Mediterranean and others. I certainly recommend a stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view - dont miss waking up in front of the sea :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We returned with a family member and she enjoyed the hotel just as we had before.
Lovely harbour view from both our rooms. Staff very helpful and food was excellent.
Very convenient for Valletta.

Room Tip: Sea View Room is well woth the extra supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marion123416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarilynCusto, Public Relations Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for choosing The Grand Hotel Excelsior and for finding the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel and we do look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Thank you for the positve comments. We appreciate.

With best regards.

Marilyn Custo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for just one night at the start of our trip, and were relieved not to be coming back on our return to Valletta later on in our trip. It's not hideous, but it's so far from a 5* star hotel it's almost comical. Architecturally the photos are deceptive; it really looks like a cruise ship collided with the bastion wall - vast acres of unrelenting concrete and black glass - and in between a pool/entertainment area that looks like a tired Vegas hand-me-down. Yes maybe it's grand but in a completely tasteless way. The desk staff were efficient but aloof and slightly condescending in a way that truly 5* star hotel staff would never be.

Our room was large but with a triple volume ceiling almost too cavernous, and the bathroom would probably be fine in an ageing Holiday Inn, but here just not well enough appointed or maintained. The process of acquiring a pool towel makes you feel like the hotel suspects you likely of petty theft. Hotel decor is obviously highly subjective but it's all just a taste-free zone - tacky, cheap, over-the-top - it's trying to be grand, but it misses the mark by a wide margin.

So while there was nothing disastrous about our short stay, there was really none of the tactile delight or sumptuous experience that should be part and parcel of a high-end hotel. Disappointing, but fortunately short-lived.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarilynCusto, Public Relations Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for finding the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Be it positive or negative, we always value feedback received from our customers.

Whilst we understand that liking or disliking the décor is purely subjective, and highly dependent on the individual’s tastes, we would like to assure you that a team of people have put a lot of talent and dedication to design and decorate the hotel as well as to keep it maintained in tip top shape on a daily basis. We also feel that being part of the Bastion, which is a UNESCO Heritage Site, is something that should make us proud and we do believe adds value to the Hotel and its guests.

We have rooms with a high ceiling and others with a normal ceiling. The high ceiling of the bedrooms was made especially to create a better feeling of space and it was never our intention to make the room feel ‘cavernous’ as described in your review. We would also like to reassure you that we have a 24-hour maintenance and housekeeping teams making sure that the rooms and the bathrooms are in perfect shape with all the needed amenities in place.

I wish to thank you once again for sharing your views.

Should you wish to discuss further, please do feel free to e-mail me on
marilyn.custo@excelsior.com.mt. I am always at your disposal.

Thanks and regards

Marilyn Custo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#5 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing