We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Modern Style and Architecture in a Majestic City
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern Style and Architecture in a Majestic City
Dine in Style Entering the Apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Modern Style and Architecture in a Majestic City
Dine in Style
Entering the Apartment
Grandeur, Contemporary, Perfect...
Entrance to block with Lift to all Floors
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
2 Single Beds
Leather Sofa for Your Comfort
Modern and Airy
Stairs from entrance to Apartment
Kitchen
Shower room
The old Telephone & Post Box by Cafe Cordina
Entrance to the block
Valletta Centre - Pjazza San Gorg just 2 minutes walk from Old Mint
Fireworks over Valletta
Valletta Waterfront with sophisticated Bars, Restaurants and Cafes
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema, just 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Historic buildings, close to the Old MInt
Superb Views of the Grand Harbour in Valletta
Upper Barrakka Gardens, just a short walk away from Old Mint
Panoramic view of Capital of Malta
Let's go for a walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Mike D
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

If visiting Valletta you can't get a better placed location than this. The main shopping streets at the top of the road and the ferry to Sliema at the bottom.
The apartment has everything needed, it's clean, tidy very secure and a lift to the apartment. The only down side is the spiral stairs to the bedrooms, it was fine for us but older people might find it a problem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valarie M...
Chickasaw, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment”
Reviewed March 31, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The apartment was very nice and the couple of things that were wrong Paul had his person fix them. It was nothing major. We never did the dishwasher to work (it was in every language but English). The apartment had everything you would need and was tidied every 7 days. We had trouble with the fire alarm going off 5 times while we were there, but Paul was very pleasant to deal with no matter what the time we called him. There is a wonderful bakery just down stairs and a small grocery store around the corner from the apartment, so everything we needed was right there. We had trouble the last 4 nights with noise from the apartment right above us though - Paul needs to put something on the feet of the chairs so it doesn't make as much noise down below. The baker and his family made for a constant source of drama and entertainment. All in all it was a perfect Holiday in our home away from home!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hebert L
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well where to start?
First I would like to say we booked the old mint 1 for 9 days ,the accommodation itself was beautiful and well situated ,only problem was the matress of the double bed which the spring were going trough my back.not good for relaxing nights!
Any way the major problem started 4 days after arrival when we were woke up every morning between 630 am and 700 am by building work next door ,drilling, shouting ,crane unloading.after sending daily emails of complaints,we never saw anybody to try to rectify the matter!
Surely you knew about building work going on next door but still accept to take our booking without saying nothing and to top it all up charge us 1060 euros with extra charge of 135 euros because a 4 th person decided to come and join us.
So in conclusion beware ,lovely flat next to building work wich will wake you upstairs 630 am every mornings

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
We are truly sorry your experience was hindered by works going on :-(

We did not know about the works, it is legal to do renovations internal with a permit known as a DNO from the planning authority, unfortunately until they start we do not know.

The channels provided as far as I am concerned are adequate... CNN, Euro News, Euro Sport, National Geographic, Discovery World, RT and a few others which off the top of my head slip me. I stayed in an accommodation in Italy recently having only BBC World in English, you need to bear in mind when outside your own country where the mother tongue is not English perhaps limited English channels should be expected.

You had an extra person stay at €135.00 over 7 nights is €19.28 per night in a capital city where a run down cosy 2 bedroom property cost €200,000 my take on this is value for money no?

Again and with sincerity we are sorry for noise disruption you encountered, we did not know next door was going to retile the floor.

I do see we exchanged 6 emails with you in connection to your notice of works going on and advised you the people had been directly approached by us and they advised us where possible they will begin noisy works after 09:00am

Rgrds,
The HLMG team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big apartment with lots of space and in the middle of town”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed with my family in this wonderful villa/apartment with my family whilst attending a family wedding and were so happy with everything. What a great place to stay and more so what fantastic air conditioning which kept us cool and a cucumber whilst it was baking hot outside. Will most likely be coming back again to stay again but for longer :)

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinvic...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our high expectations.”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Old Mint No1 apartment from 12 to 19 July. The prebooked taxi transfer worked very well and is definitely recommended. If anything, the apartment itself is better than the pictures on the website suggest - spacious, comfortable, well equipped and decorated and furnished to a high standard. The air conditioning and fans were very welcome in the heat. The fridge was particularly effective - wine seemed to be chilled in little more time than it took to get the glasses out!
We invested in the €21 seven day bus pass which proved invaluable and can be used on Gozo too. The ferries to Sliema and the Three Cities were also cheap and reliable and gave super views of Valletta itself.
The apartment is well located - close to the Sliema ferry and about a 10 minute walk from Valletta's main gate. There's no doubt that the apartment was a bit factor in the success of our great holiday in Malta - we're already looking at when we could make a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and overall specification.
Liked least: Steep walk into town centre.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen J
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious, convenient and lovely old building”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were met at the airport by the lady who was to book us in as arranged. This was a great help and took away the problem of trying to find the property or to park (which is difficult). The property was very good with sufficient utensils, crockery and pans to deal with any meals eaten at home. The two bathrooms were great and the bedrooms were very spacious and well fitted out. The design of the property was good and the style was in marked contrast to the age of the building. There is a lift to the property if needed. It was unfortunate that during the stay building work was being carried out next door but this didn't spoil the holiday for us. Valletta is a beautiful old walled town with plenty of things to do and see, some of which are reviewed elsewhere. The bakers next door and down the steep steps is well worth supporting and his pizzas were wonderful. I haven't recommended this property for young families as I would be worried about youngsters running around and colliding with the steps of the spiral staircase. This staircase may also put off people who are less mobile than others. Otherwise a great apartment from which to explore Valletta and Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and proximity to the centre of Valletta
Liked least: Building work being carried out next door
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing