We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Airy apartment in Malta's Capital”
other travelers have booked this property
Spacious and Airy Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious and Airy Living area
Relax in comfort Island Hob to Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Spacious and Airy Living area
Relax in comfort
Island Hob to Living area
Double Bedroom
Entrance to block with Lift to all Floors
Modern designer kitchen
Historic buildings, close to the Old MInt
Dining to Living area
Valletta Water Front - Restaurants
Kitchen to Living area
Upper Barrakka Gardens, just a short walk away from Old Mint
Entrance to the block
Modern interior with a Majestic Entrance
Entering the Apartment
Dining area
Stairs from entrance to Apartment
Bathroom
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema, just 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
From Bedrooms to Living area
Spacious and Airy
Old Mint Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Airy apartment in Malta's Capital”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The apartment is located on one of Valletta's long side roads. It is a 5 minute walk to Sliema ferry in one direction and the main shopping streets the other direction. It is light, modern and airy with comfortable furniture and beds with plenty of space. It also has 2 good sized bathrooms and was very clean. The kitchen has just about enough equipment, but saying that we didn't cook much and when we did the necessary utensils and cookware was there. We took advantage of the washing machine having only brought hand luggage. The apartment had everything we needed. The building is safe and secure with a working lift so no carrying bags up lots of stairs, unless you want to of course. Valletta for us was the right place to be, lots of shops, restaurants and the bus terminal is a 15 minute walk away. We watched the gun being fired in Upper Barraka Gardens and spent most evenings walking to the gardens to enjoy the view and sunset. It is very clean, the people are very friendly and the food excellent. You must go to Capistrano Restaurant in the next street from the apartment located in Old Bakery Street, that was our favourite restaurant, excellent catch of the day brought to you on a tray before you order as well as serving other excellent dishes. While in Malta try the Maltese wine too; also very good. You don't need to hire a car, the buses are air conditioned and take you all over the island for 21 euros for 7 days. We can thoroughly recommend Malta. I have only given 4 stars as the air conditioning units developed a fault, we contacted the owner straight and were provided with an extra floor fan the next day so not a problem, but it would have been nice to have been able to use the air conditioning without worrying about it especially as temperatures were close to 30 degrees. As the roads are narrow and only go in one direction outside the apartment cars like to beep their horns to let other road users they are there. All in all we would recommend. One last recommendation - take advantage of the taxi pickup from, and drop-off to the airpot, the extra cost is worth it for hassle free transfers.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Extraordi...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal location, modern apartment”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Centrally located apartment within easy reach of Valletta restaurants and shops. Having everything you could need for self catering stay, very clean and well presented.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M
1 review
“Spacious, well equipped, decent value”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Overall, very pleased with the accommodation.

Be aware there are additional costs which I had not appreciated until I'd booked - for wifi, electricity if you exceed your limit (we didn't), slightly inflated taxi fare from airport. That said, still represents good value and I do recommend as a place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Service
Liked best: The historical building in which located and its spaciousness
Liked least: The cost of the wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquelin...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Mini break”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Myself, partner and my mam decided we would like to visit malta myself and my partners first time but not my mam's. We needed a two bedroom apartment so we would not be tied down to two different bedrooms in.a hotel. We went onto trip advisor and came across the old mint. It had all we needed for our 4 night stay. The management company were very prompt in replying to my query and within a few days we had secured our deposit for our stay. We also organised pick up and drop off which went like clock work. We were arriving late at night but that wasn't a problem. There is a fee for arriving late in the evening and leaving after a certain hour in the day. When we arrived at the apartment we were just speechless it certainly as it said on the booking. We had two double rooms and two bathrooms. A fully equipped kitchen and plenty of seating areas. The wifi cost extra but it was excellent. Mam even got to see some of her soaps on the telly. This apartment is located not far from the bus station where you can get a bus to anywhere. Well worth booking if there are 4 people travelling and it's not too expensive. Everything was organised to a tee.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angieel
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a beautiful apartment in a beautiful city. Apartment was clean., well equipped and as described in the details. All amenities are walking distance away and Valletta is a lovely safe place to stroll around at any time of the day or night.
Traffic noise can be heard from the early hours but the apartment is in a city so is to be expected and this is lessened if you close the shutters, double glazing and interior windows.
Quite a lot of renovation work currently going on in surrounding buildings and the builders start very early!
One improvement would be to provide a basic food welcome pack on arrival but as a bakery is two doors down from which you can buy milk, bread etc, this is not a hardship.
We had an extremely enjoyable stay at Old Mint No 2.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephi164
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Apt”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 7 nights. It was very spacious and well equiped for x4 people. There was all you need to cook for yourself although we ate out every night .
It was really clean and spacious, Having a second bedroom was great for us. The location was very central with all the sites within east walking distance.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra P
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, would definitely go back”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent our honeymoon in Malta in July 2014, and spent a week at the Old Mint No2 in Valletta.

This is an absolutely stunning place, fully equipped, spacious, modern. This accommodation is divided between two floors. On the lower floor of the flat you will find a large living/dining area, fully equipped kitchen, and a shower room. On the upper floor you can find two double bedrooms and a bathroom with tub.

We received it clean and tidy, and all the additional charges were pointed out in advance. For example, you need to pay a small charge for wifi, or if you use the air-con during your stay then you will be charged for it at your check-out. It has a separate meter which was read when we arrived and read again before we left. We didn't use it at all because the evenings were nice and cool, so opening the windows was enough for us. This flat overlooks the street, but it was not noisy at all, like I said we left the windows open during the nights.

This is a self-catering place, which is exactly what we were looking for. There are a few little groceries nearby where you can buy breakfast essentials, and the high street of Valletta is just a few minutes walk where you can find many different restaurants. The seaside is in the other direction, but again, just a few minutes walk from the Old Mint.

The description says that it fits 4 people, but to be honest, the living room and even the bedrooms are big enough to fit travel cots for children. There is lift in the building, so you wouldn't need to carry the buggy upstairs in your hands. Although, it needs to be noted that the streets of Valletta (apart from the high street) are not buggy-friendly.

We spent only the nights at the Old Mint because during the days we were travelling around Malta and Gozo. The bus station of Valletta is at the end of its high street, about 10-15 minutes walk from the accommodation, and you can get anywhere by bus. We bought a weekly travel card that we could use as many times as we wanted during the week to travel anywhere in Malta and it cost less than 7 euros. No, that's not a typo, it was really this cheap. For people like us, who are used to the UK travel costs, it was unbelievable. If you want to go to Gozo, you need to pay for the ferry and then buy a day travel card there.

Apart from the excellent condition of the flat, I also need to praise the staff who were all very friendly and helpful. Thank you for your outstanding customer service, you really made us want to return to the Old Mint.

All in all, we fell in love with Malta, so hope we will go back some time later, and if we decide to stay in Valletta again, we will definitely stay at the Old Mint.

Date of stay: July 2014
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing