We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation, would definitely go back”
other travelers have booked this property
Spacious and Airy Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious and Airy Living area
Relax in comfort Island Hob to Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Spacious and Airy Living area
Relax in comfort
Island Hob to Living area
Double Bedroom
Entrance to block with Lift to all Floors
Modern designer kitchen
Historic buildings, close to the Old MInt
Dining to Living area
Valletta Water Front - Restaurants
Kitchen to Living area
Upper Barrakka Gardens, just a short walk away from Old Mint
Entrance to the block
Modern interior with a Majestic Entrance
Entering the Apartment
Dining area
Stairs from entrance to Apartment
Bathroom
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema, just 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
From Bedrooms to Living area
Spacious and Airy
Old Mint Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Petra P
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, would definitely go back”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent our honeymoon in Malta in July 2014, and spent a week at the Old Mint No2 in Valletta.

This is an absolutely stunning place, fully equipped, spacious, modern. This accommodation is divided between two floors. On the lower floor of the flat you will find a large living/dining area, fully equipped kitchen, and a shower room. On the upper floor you can find two double bedrooms and a bathroom with tub.

We received it clean and tidy, and all the additional charges were pointed out in advance. For example, you need to pay a small charge for wifi, or if you use the air-con during your stay then you will be charged for it at your check-out. It has a separate meter which was read when we arrived and read again before we left. We didn't use it at all because the evenings were nice and cool, so opening the windows was enough for us. This flat overlooks the street, but it was not noisy at all, like I said we left the windows open during the nights.

This is a self-catering place, which is exactly what we were looking for. There are a few little groceries nearby where you can buy breakfast essentials, and the high street of Valletta is just a few minutes walk where you can find many different restaurants. The seaside is in the other direction, but again, just a few minutes walk from the Old Mint.

The description says that it fits 4 people, but to be honest, the living room and even the bedrooms are big enough to fit travel cots for children. There is lift in the building, so you wouldn't need to carry the buggy upstairs in your hands. Although, it needs to be noted that the streets of Valletta (apart from the high street) are not buggy-friendly.

We spent only the nights at the Old Mint because during the days we were travelling around Malta and Gozo. The bus station of Valletta is at the end of its high street, about 10-15 minutes walk from the accommodation, and you can get anywhere by bus. We bought a weekly travel card that we could use as many times as we wanted during the week to travel anywhere in Malta and it cost less than 7 euros. No, that's not a typo, it was really this cheap. For people like us, who are used to the UK travel costs, it was unbelievable. If you want to go to Gozo, you need to pay for the ferry and then buy a day travel card there.

Apart from the excellent condition of the flat, I also need to praise the staff who were all very friendly and helpful. Thank you for your outstanding customer service, you really made us want to return to the Old Mint.

All in all, we fell in love with Malta, so hope we will go back some time later, and if we decide to stay in Valletta again, we will definitely stay at the Old Mint.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Apartment in a Great City”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Old Mint Number 2 for a week and thought it was great.

The apartment looked and smelled clean. It is spacious and well furnished; plenty of wardrobe and drawer space (and lots of hangers, which is always a welcome touch). It's obvious a lot of thought was put into refurbishing this modern apartment in a beautifully historic building.

There are two bedrooms upstairs on a mezzanine floor, reached via a modern spiral staircase (check the photos if you have young children), both with big patio doors to open the rooms to the living room area downstairs - giving a good sense of space when they're open and privacy and cosines when they're closed. There is a good sized bathroom on the upper level and a similar sized shower room with a washing-machine downstairs.

The kitchen is a large open-plan area with an island. There's a gas hob, eye-level oven and plenty of workspace. A dishwasher, large fridge/freezer and a good range of utensils are a bonus.

We had none of the problems with power mentioned by earlier reviewers; we were within the limit with normal useage plus a couple of washing-machine and dishwasher runs and 30 minutes or so of heating each evening to take the spring chill from the bedroom.

There are some good restaurants within a few minutes walk (turn left out of the door, take the first right up the hill and the road left towards Valletta centre has 3 or 4 well rated restaurants (we really liked Guzé and Capistrano)) and Fort St Elmo and central Vallettta are a 10-15 minute stroll away. The port with a short ferry to Sliema is only a couple of minutes walk down the hill.

We would definitely come back here if we return to Valletta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern apartment in a historic building. Good sized, well equipt kitchen and bathrooms.
Liked least: The front bedroom had some slight traffic noise, but not enough to disturb our sleep. We moved to the other bedroom, which was perfect.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCManc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, but with reservations.”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This apartment is well fitted equipped, clean, not far from central Valletta but with a steep walk up to the main attractions, and thus not for those with mobility issues - be aware, as we were not. It is also in an area taxis find hard to find. Our taxi dropped us blocks away and we had to trudge around steep streets with our bags for twenty minutes.
Inside it is a large open space with tiled floors, steep narrow stairs, no curtains, and not luxuriously furnished, so it is cold in winter - which brings me to my main issue: the electricity allowance; it is like war-time rationing.
Elsewhere in these reviews, where others complained about the electricity allowance the management try to justify it because someone abused power usage by leaving things on. We were even reassured that we could be confident in not going over if we did not leave things on unnecessarily. But we were sparing with lights, dishwasher, and water etc, and the allowance barley covers the basics before heating/cooling, and we were not there a lot, as most tourists aren't. Simply put, if you want to heat or cool the place it is extra - identifiably so as it is on a separate circuit. I imagine too if you are there a lot, the allowance won't even cover the basics. We paid an extra twenty euros over 8 days, and we were sparing with the heating too, running it only to warm up the place in the morning, and then turning it off, similarly in the evening. I you want to be really comfortable you will run up a bill twice that. Add that to the extras for internet, five euro a day, and using their service from the airport, which I advise you do, and there are a lot of extras - be sure to factor them in so it doesn't spoil your stay!
It would be better of course if it were all up front and they were honest about the real rental price, then you could enjoy you stay with no mystery about what expenses you might rack up, but they have chosen not too. Still, allowing for this, and the daily walks up and down the hill, it is reasonable value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space.
Liked least: The stingy electricity allowance almost spoilt it for us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2016
Further to your feedback in response I would like to point out the following;

To note that you took your own taxi from the airport and not our transfer recommended method, who know where the property is thus without issue deliver guest to the front door and communicate with us when leaving the airport with you and at the same cost! It appears your chosen taxi was keen to get back to the airport for his/her next fare.

In terms of the electricity/internet allow me to explain and clarify! The electricity is included in the rental cost at €5.00 per day or equivalent of 30Kw/h 30 kilowatts per day, to note that a family of 3/4 people will consume on average 15-25Kw/h per day, we introduced monitoring of the electricity due to particular previous guest leaving the air conditioning running whilst not in residence. It was noted that when the maid came in to clean she recognised an air conditioning unit running in the bedroom whilst no-one was using the Apartment, this was identified around 10am in the morning. Perhaps you have stayed in accommodation where the internet is very poor in terms of a signal and/or speed to load pages? We took a conscious decision to have an independent WiFi Router in the Apartment which is dedicated without bandwidth restriction and 30Mbps download speed, giving a far superior internet experience than one WiFi router serving several points.

You mention it would be better we were up-front and honest about the real rental price! The booking platform you used TripAdvisor offers you the opportunity to view the 'Owners Booking Contract' when selecting your dates, furthermore we sent you a link on an email subjected 'Booking Form' of which you filled in! The Booking Form has all the terms, conditions and cost outlined on it!!! There is not a hidden cost anywhere across any of our listed properties it is ALL outlined on the Booking Form T's & C's!!!

In summery -

Your own chosen Taxi service could not find Old Mint Street in a city as big as some villages.

You paid €20.00 over electrical usage this is €2.50 per day, noting A/C left on in bedroom when no-one home!

Internet was given to you at less than €5.00 per day with a dedicated WiFi Router, no bandwidth restriction and 30Mbps download speed.
You did not read the Booking Contract, which outlines ALL charges relating to the booking.

We are not cunning or dishonest or not upfront, please do when booking a private accommodation read the 'Owners Booking Contract'.

Your Comment 'it is reasonable value for money'

Our Comment - For Valletta in terms of the size, appointment and location we know the Apartment is good value for money!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldaw48
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb apartment and location”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed over Christmas and new year, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.the apartment was up to date and very modern with good service from the agent. Ideally located for the bars and restaurants and all tourists sites. One or two minor details like the DVD player did not work, and the TV had only very basic channels, (which I think is needed in winter). Also wi-fi was an extra charge, which I have never encountered before. However, this did not stop us having a great time and I wil certainly use the same agent on our return in December. Our thanks to Paul and the team for making everything run smoothly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern outlook of the apartment and location
Liked least: Only one towel each per week also extra charge for wi-fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budjones0...
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Old Mint 2”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was my first experience in Malta and Valletta. The accomodation was clean neat and tidy and the team who dealt with the booking were very friendly and polite. All extras we had arranged were perfect, such as pick up from airport etc, The Old Mint was perfect for travelling around the Island, top tip is to take the ferry to Slima and the No12 bus will almost take you the whole legnth of the shoreline to St Pauls. Valletta was very hard to explore without a map and has some quite steep climbs, having just recovered from surgery I struggled on the first day and then worked out a Zig Zag route which was less stressful. There are plenty of Bars and Cafes in Valletta to break up the trek if you need a break. I had a wonderful time and will returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Steep hills
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heksi123
Espoo, Finland
1 review
“Great :)”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Very nice apartment,lot of light,8m high living room,two floors,kitchen, two bedrooms,two baths,lot of space,very clean,apartment, all like just renovated, great location,two blocks out of city center,lot of good restaurants near by,,
people of rental company were very kind and service minded ;) super !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location,lot of space
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter d
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“lovely modern apartment in wonderful old building”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

great location . spacious accommodation . well equipped with good sized bedrooms. modern split level with spiral staircase connection the two floors. Very attractive old building.Good value for money but be aware of the extras - internet and electricity, in summer with the air conditioning on this could get quite expensive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: being in the centre of valletta
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing