We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Saluting Battery

Saluting Battery
Ranked #6 of 92 things to do in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Saluting Battery is one of Malta's most vibrant visitor attractions where history is brought to life daily! Located high along Valletta's eastern historic ramparts it enjoys unrivalled spectacular views of the Grand Harbour and its surrounding fortified towns. It is also perhaps the oldest saluting battery still in operation anywhere in the world. Here one can see a fully restored gun powder magazine, an artillery side-arm store, a handsome collection of original muzzle-loading artillery , ammunition and equipment and get a close-look at the saluting guns. The battery is equipped with audio-guides but guided torus in English are also available three times a day at 11.00, 12.30 And 15.00Hrs.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed December 14, 2013

WOW! Stumbled on this one by accident and what a treat. €2 entrance fee is nothing to pay for what we found a very informative an entertaining hour topped of with a boom from the cannon that sent shock-waves through us. We think this attraction sells itself short and would easily warrant a bigger entrance fee. Friendly staff had lots of time for us after the presentation and went above and beyond to answer all our questions. First class. Don't miss this one!
Hope your voice gets better, LOL

Thank Baldygitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Saluting Battery, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you very much Baldygitt.
We are still improving things, trying to improve the stuff and also trying to introduce some more complementary re-enactments, apart from the firings themselves, for that reason the entrance is still like a small donation contribution to help us to carry on with the restoration works at the Saluting Battery. But the tourists can help us investing some of their money by leaving some donation into our donation box or by buying some of our souvenirs from the reception and souvenir area.

Xulio Vazquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,174 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Beautiful setting and a great spectacle to watch. Well done Malta. Good uniforms and ceremony. It is free to watch from the gardens

Thank amumwhocares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Saluting Battery, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you Karen P.
It is free from on top, but remember the entrance is only €2 and is helping us a lot to keep this tradition alive. But if you cannot come down and enjoy the tour, you can always help us by leaving some kind of change you have into the Donation bucket that one of our soldiers will be carrying after the firing at the Gardens.

Xulio Vazquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

While visiting the upper Barraka gardens we saw the cannons below on the Saluting Battery. After taking a few pictures of the beautiful view, we heard an announcement to say the 12 o'clock gun would be fired in 15 minutes and we could go down to the cannon level for the sum of 2 euros each. My partner and I decided to do so and we couldn't believe the experience. From entering the Saluting Battery entrance, where the very helpful lady on the till explained their other "sister" attractions, we were shown through to the platform where the cannons are displayed. A very well spoken English gentleman talked us through the lighting of the 12 o'clock gun while two young lads undertook the process. All were dressed in military uniform and looked the part. After checking our ears were intact after the gun salute, we then thought we would wander at leisure to read about the cannons and the battery site itself. However, the well spoken gent called us over [a small group of 7 of us] and proceeded to take us on a guided tour of the site, explaining all about the battery, its purpose and the ins and outs of cannons. The knowledge and enthusiasm of this man were outstanding - if this man was my history teacher I would have got an A!! I would thoroughly recommend any visitors to Valletta visiting this attraction, which is funded by donations, and help keep the history going for others to enjoy. Thanks to the whole team for a great couple of hours.

1  Thank Fiona1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Saluting Battery, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you very much Fiona1405.
Your tourist guide during the visit to Saluting Battery is Rob Martin, from Birmingham. And our lovely sales person is Jackie.
We are proud of having offered you a good experience while visiting Malta. For sure, Rob will be checking this review really soon, as he does everyday.

Xulio Vazquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent interesting and captivating presentation with the stunning and dramatic backdrop of Valetta harbour.

Thank goodygoodburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Saluting Battery, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you goodygoodburn.
Don't forget the two firings, one at 12:00 and another at 4:00 p.m. They are giving even a better experience to the public while in Valletta.

Xulio Vazquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

or 4 pm if you miss it
make your way to the upper barraka gardens for about 11.40 found near the city gate and you will hear an historical commentry by the marines before they fire (or as on the time we visited it misfired) the gun

Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Manager at Saluting Battery, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you chris c.
We are using authentic Victorian technology, by pulling a lanyard attached to a fuse. Because of that the fuse some times can by problematic,. not coming out the key or not igniting properly the charge of explosive in them. That was common in those times and because of this we have the spare cannon ready just in case.

Xulio Vazquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saluting Battery also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Saluting Battery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing