We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flavorful fresh food, a block off of main tourist street, lawyers from courts across the street eating there” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stretto

Stretto
Ranked #147 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Situated just a few steps away from the hustle and bustle of Valletta’s Republic Street, we are a great place to stop at whether you are exploring the capital as a visitor or here in Malta for Business.Stretto invites guests to a petite, family run restaurant with extensive attention to detail into food, wine & hospitality.We are open from Monday to Friday for lunch and Monday to Saturday for Dinner. The lunch menu is tempting and light. The dinner menu is a ten item gastronomic delight. All accompanied by a selection of Local & Imported wines around the globe.Our daily items are mostly Mediterranean with a modern Maltese influence. The cuisine is to the highest standards as reviews will confirm.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Flavorful fresh food, a block off of main tourist street, lawyers from courts across the street eating there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled in while trying to avoid eating lunch in the main square or on the main street of the old town. About four tables. Perhaps the tastiest dish we've had on Malta was their tortelacci con funghi. Also a nice lettuce, tomato and chicken salad, a bottle of good dry local rosé and cappuccinos. €50 for three of us -- not cheap but in many ways a nicer meal than we've had elsewhere in Malta. Very friendly and helpful young staff. If we were staying in Valletta we would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doddsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oostende
1 review
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently opened small, relaxed and modern restaurant. The restaurant is situated on a corner in the centre of town but in a quiet area. Very competent staff and tasty, fresh well cooked and presented food. Perhaps a little more than some tourists would plan to pay but well worth it. The the most enjoyable meal I had in Valletta.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a lovely little restaurant which had only just opened two weeks prior to when we visited. It has a small menu which we were informed is due to the establishment changing the menu on a two week basis as they get all the food fresh in and according to what's available seasonally. In my experience this is usually a promising sign of a decent restaurant so we thought we would give it a try. The main thing that we were impressed with was the impeccable service. We were a offered complimentary taster of the day which was tuna tuna tartare but as my partner doesn't eat fish they presented him with an alternative to suit his taste. The main courses were fresh and full of flavour and really well presented and good sized portions. The food they offer on the menu aren't particularly out the ordinary however they're done with a bit of twist to make them stand out from similar dishes you may have in other restaurants. The price is probably a little more than others in the area offering similar but for the quality of the food and the service and attention to detail, it's actually quite reasonable. It was easily the best meal we had while visiting Malta. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Valletta to try this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ecwjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friendly casual atmosphere - excellent service and freshly prepared fiood items. Good value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stretto also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Stretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing