We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Valletta
Post
Inbox
Search
Malta Private Tours - Day Tours
Save
  
Ways to Experience Malta Private Tours - Day Tours
from $505.34
More Info
from $150.48
More Info
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
27
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
27
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews capital city blue grotto boat ride full day tour narrow streets rita unesco insider marsaxlokk ship interests caves temple driver knowledge culture information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2018

Since my wife and I have been to Malta several times before and seen the main sites, we wanted to have a more personal view of Malta. We hired Rita Fsadni. She met us at our ship as scheduled. She also provided a driver so she could walk with us at stops and the driver return to pick us up. She showed us the old city of Mdina where she explained the details of the buildings and their meaning. She took us to an overlook to view the white cliffs of Gozo, a beautiful neighboring island. We visited a white sandy beach and she explained how the locals use the area. She took us to a small fishing hamlet where locals were swimming in the ocean. We visited the village of Qrendi and where explained local life. We found Rita very friendly and easy to talk with. She arranged for our drive to wait for us while we toured the Malta War Museum to see the bomb shelters from WWII. The driver returned us to our ship. We highly recommend her as a tour guide.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

We had planned a Mediterranean 10-day cruise from Venice to Rome aboard Celebrity Constellation Sept 27-0ct 7that included several port visits-one which was Malta /Gozo. As we have never been there before, I was tasked by our group of ten to do some research that might include some private tours of these two islands and their world famous UNESCO designated sites.

I found in my research through Instagram MaltaPrivateTours and Rita Fsadni and immediately found her quite helpful with information that included price and a proposed program that covered two full days of visiting the islands of Gozo and Malta. It caught our attention and interest right away.

We agreed on her proposed program that covered many of our group's interests that included UNESCO heritage sites, cultural and culinary interests and my own personal interest -to see an old ww2 airfield.

Rita and her team-Barabra delivered a great touring experience. Our visit to Gozo began by taking a ferry and to see island sites. We spent a full day seeing such magnificent sites that included the Ggantija Temple the prehistoric site dating back to 3600BC; the salt pans at Qbajjar Bay, Victoria /Rabat, and the Citadel Bay. We experienced a fine lunch down in Marsalforn Bay. It was a full day of ongoing information and experiences that all enjoyed.

Similarly, and for the Malta part, we visited Mdina the old capital city, a beautiful medieval town, a small fortified city with narrow streets with many symbols left from the Crusader period and before. Not far was the old ww2 airfield (what was left )at ta'kali, that played a vital role in the defense of Malta during the war. We also visited the limestone museum and understood the impact of this resource on the architecture of many buildings in Malta/ Gozo throughout the centuries.

We also toured Valletta, the Capital City which was designated European Cultural Capital City for this year but also has a permanent title of World Heritage Site. We walked the Upper Barracca Gardens and enjoyed a great view of the Grand Harbour.

Part of our interest was to visit Marsaxlokk, the fishing village, an idyllic, colorful picturesque fishing village with equally colorful boats. We walked along the promenade to see the fishermen mending/cleaning their nets, repairing/painting their boats.

We had a great lunch near the harbor followed by a small boat ride, down at the Grand Harbour, starting at Vittoriosa/Birgu, the city lived in by the Knights until Valletta was built up, to the Valletta side, a refreshing way of finishing the tour, hassle-free, no traffic and getting to see the Harbour from a different perspective.

Overall a delightful and well-designed 2-day program that was delivered in an informative and engaging way that made our trip quite memorable.

I would highly recommend Rita and her team at maltaprivatetours-check out Instagram and other platforms -for any of your touring and travel interests while in Malta. I would rate it 9.5 out of ten in all categories that include: price and value, knowledge, and information delivered by the tour guide, engagement with customers, comfort of transport, quality of sites visited, program design that included adaptability and flexibility depending on interests, and tour time over both days.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank orienstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Let me start by saying that Malta is a small country and not necessarily a major European destination. In saying that it was a stop on our cruise ship, and Clive did his best to show us as much as possible in less than 6 hours.

Booking with him was easy. Spending time with him was even easier. With an aim to please, Clive and his driver met us by the pier where we were driven in a van all the way to the top of this medieval city. With a stunning view from a botanical garden, Clive pointed out some highlights and gave us a brief history of Valletta.

We walked around the major street en route to St. John’s Cathedral, perhaps the highlight of this city. Adorned with 24-kt. gold molding in this magnificent baroque church, Clive gave us a talk followed by a viewing of beautiful Carravagio paintings.

From there we were on to Mdina, another medieval city just a 20-minute drive away. Clive walked us around the narrow streets and briefed us on this city. But the highlight for us was a stop at a local snack shop where we tried the specialty of this country, a pastizzi, a fantastic flaky pastry filled with a ricotta cheese filling. With people waiting on line for this scrumptious delicacy, they kept bringing in more to bake in the shop.

From there we were taken to a view overlooking the Blue Grotto. In addition, we had a photo stop with a live Maltese falcon!

On this hottest day of the year and no covering atop the boats, we passed on a boat ride through the grotto. Also we would have had to navigate a steep path getting to the dock and back up. It probably would have been the perfect way to end our tour with less heat and an easier walk.

Since we didn’t want to go out on the boat, Clive suggested a drive to another small waterfront town which turned out to be nothing special.

We got a taste of Malta through Clive’s eyes. He couldn’t have been nicer and tried to make this a special day for us.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank NewJerseyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

I was picked up at my hotel in a luxury car & met Rita, the very knowledgeable guide who tailored the trip to beat the crowds. It was a stunning day which started at 1pm & finished at 8pm, it included the magnificent Saint John’s Co-Cathedral in Valetta, gardens, boat trip, sea views, a falconer whose large hawk sat happily on my arm for a photo, Hagar Qim the megalithic temple & Mdina the mediaeval city. It was a wonderful day of learning & culture which I can highly recommend. Great value for money!

1  Thank RubyTuesdayNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

We first met Benjamin on the sunset cruise at Grand Hotel Excelsior, Valletta and were so impresssed that we booked for a private 2hour introduction to M'dina &Rabat. Great personality and so knowledgeable. Maltatours@hotmail.com

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank Nandita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews