We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Valletta
Post
Inbox
Search
Malta Private Tours - Day Tours
Save
  
Ways to Experience Malta Private Tours - Day Tours
from $505.34
More Info
from $150.48
More Info
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
27
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
27
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews capital city blue grotto boat ride full day tour narrow streets rita unesco insider marsaxlokk ship interests caves temple driver knowledge culture information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 31 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Let me start by saying that Malta is a small country and not necessarily a major European destination. In saying that it was a stop on our cruise ship, and Clive did his best to show us as much as possible in less than 6 hours.

Booking with him was easy. Spending time with him was even easier. With an aim to please, Clive and his driver met us by the pier where we were driven in a van all the way to the top of this medieval city. With a stunning view from a botanical garden, Clive pointed out some highlights and gave us a brief history of Valletta.

We walked around the major street en route to St. John’s Cathedral, perhaps the highlight of this city. Adorned with 24-kt. gold molding in this magnificent baroque church, Clive gave us a talk followed by a viewing of beautiful Carravagio paintings.

From there we were on to Mdina, another medieval city just a 20-minute drive away. Clive walked us around the narrow streets and briefed us on this city. But the highlight for us was a stop at a local snack shop where we tried the specialty of this country, a pastizzi, a fantastic flaky pastry filled with a ricotta cheese filling. With people waiting on line for this scrumptious delicacy, they kept bringing in more to bake in the shop.

From there we were taken to a view overlooking the Blue Grotto. In addition, we had a photo stop with a live Maltese falcon!

On this hottest day of the year and no covering atop the boats, we passed on a boat ride through the grotto. Also we would have had to navigate a steep path getting to the dock and back up. It probably would have been the perfect way to end our tour with less heat and an easier walk.

Since we didn’t want to go out on the boat, Clive suggested a drive to another small waterfront town which turned out to be nothing special.

We got a taste of Malta through Clive’s eyes. He couldn’t have been nicer and tried to make this a special day for us.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank NewJerseyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

I was picked up at my hotel in a luxury car & met Rita, the very knowledgeable guide who tailored the trip to beat the crowds. It was a stunning day which started at 1pm & finished at 8pm, it included the magnificent Saint John’s Co-Cathedral in Valetta, gardens, boat trip, sea views, a falconer whose large hawk sat happily on my arm for a photo, Hagar Qim the megalithic temple & Mdina the mediaeval city. It was a wonderful day of learning & culture which I can highly recommend. Great value for money!

1  Thank RubyTuesdayNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

We first met Benjamin on the sunset cruise at Grand Hotel Excelsior, Valletta and were so impresssed that we booked for a private 2hour introduction to M'dina &Rabat. Great personality and so knowledgeable. Maltatours@hotmail.com

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank Nandita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016

Rita was unavailable for our cruise ship arrival, but set us up with another guide, Victoria. The full day tour was interesting, informative, and we saw a good part of the Island. A bad weather forecast for day 2 in the Maltese Islands meant we would have an extra day in Valetta, which meant we would be able to walk around the old city ourselves, so we changed the tour plan. Victoria is an extremely knowledgeable guide, and we got an education in Maltese history. I would recommend this to anyone. There's no beating a private tour vs. a busload of cruisers.
One important hint: make very sure you understand exactly where to meet your guide. The cruise ship exit from the terminal building is through a lower corridor in the building. It seems the local guides call it the 'tunnel'. The corridor ends in a 'T' alley. You make 2 left turns to go up a ramp towards the street. At the top of the ramp, on the left, is the BOV sign (Bank of Valetta). You do not see the sign unless you turn around and look backwards. If you're looking for a 'tunnel' and ask someone, they will point down the waterfront (a long way) where there is a 'tunnel' through the 15th century wall. That is NOT the tunnel you want.
Long story short, stay in the area of the exit when looking for your guide. Hopefully, they'll have a big sign with your name.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Mogarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Just returned from a Celebrity Cruise in the Adriatic and an overnight in the Port of Valletta on Malta. Since visiting Gozo from Valletta is a full day's journey with the overnight we now had an opportunity to plan a visit to the Island of Gozo. Months before we found reviews of Rita Fsadni's tour on Trip Advisor. They were all excellent. We contacted Rita to book a tour but sadly she was already booked. HOWEVER, Rita went out of her way to link us with a colleague who as she promised would deliver the same high quality experience we would have had with Rita. This experience was fantastic. For nearly ten hours Rita's friend and fully certified tour guide, Ilona immersed us in the history and culture of this small laid back island. This day was a highlight of our vacation. Gozo is even a better experience than Malta and Malta is a must! Rita's reputation of providing excellent customer service was seen throughout our booking process and the tour itself. Book your tour with confidence.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Hollandgrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews