We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandmaster's Palace & Garden”

Grandmaster's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.18*
and up
Valletta Walking Tour Including St. John’s Co-Cathedral
More Info
$47.76*
and up
Valletta - City of the Knights Half Day Tour
More Info
$23.88*
and up
Valletta Small-Group Walking Tour
Ranked #18 of 90 things to do in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Grandmaster's Palace & Garden”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

It was a long hectic walk in Valletta; so we visited the impressive old Palace from the outside and we skipped the famous Tapestries, Armors and Weapons, but enjoyed the Building from outside and the Palace Gardens.

The Palace Structure, Guards, Entrance, and the Gardens Plants, the Clock and the statues are worth a quick tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Issa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    452
    240
    67
    28
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“If you love medieval history & armor, this museum is great.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were in Malta for our third day & had just finished eating lunch in the downtown section of Valletta. As we walked by the government buildings we passed the Grandmaster's palace & decided to go through the armory musuem. What a pleasant surprise. Our son & I love history & are fans of the Knights Templar & the history around knights especially in Malta. The musuem is small, but is packed with armor, weapons & other historical items primarliy from the Great Siege of 1565 when the knights & Maltese undermanned army defeated the superior forces of the Ottomon Turks. The armor & weapons are not ceremonial items, but the real fighting items! The time it took to tour the museum was pretty short, but what a great find for history buffs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RonDog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Keep on lookout when taking photos. You never know...”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited the Grandmaster's palace whilst we were in Valletta for the day. It was hammering with rain at the time, so we were overjoyed this was an indoor attraction! Admission fee was 10 euros each, a bit pricey yes, but you'd probably pay double that to see Buckingham Palace, so 1st hurdle safely negotiated.
We then entered The Palace State Rooms, which was advised by the staff. To our pleasure we thoroughly appreciated the magnitude and creation of the ceiling/wall paintings, such art displayed in a way that you can admire, but a huge shame no photos could be taken.
But what the hell! We took photos as we were never going to return to Malta in the future, so LIVE and LET DIE! The Palace Armoury was next, and the condition of the weaponry on show was flawless, again photo restrictions, but we disobeyed again!
The most amazing thing is understanding that the Malta knights built Valletta 450 years ago! So we know what this Palace does for the people of Malta and the history of Malta..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Grandmasters Palace is worth a visit. It has a very interesting collection of armour and weapons in the armoury. Rooms do not contain much of the grandeur of the previous owners but still interesting. The Palace is one of the places covered in the Heritage Malta ticket which if you are staying in Malta for a view days and plan on traveling around the island is worth getting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 721Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tapestries beautiful”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our guide for the day gave us a great tour
The most impressive room was the tapestry room. I especially liked the animals and the colors were beautiful. My regret was that i could not take photos even without the flash.
The other thing that stood out was a set in the armoury. I forget the name of the knight that it belonged to but it was a gold/copper color and it had intricate designs on all the pieces including the headpiece for the horse. He must have been an impressive sight on the battlefield with the sun gleaming off that armour
We had an enjoyable visit and it was well worth seeing

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ipbchlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandmaster's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Grandmaster's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing