We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price”

Grandmaster's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.30*
and up
Valletta Walking Tour Including Grandmaster’s Palace
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The entrance fee is 10 EUR per person. For that you see like 4-5 chambers and the armoury. In my opinion this was waste of money, it may be interesting but definatelly not worth the price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 471Mar_ti_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    432
    227
    64
    25
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as much to see as I hoped, but spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a beautiful building, with a number of spectacular furnished rooms. Access seemed to be limited to only part of the building, which seemed a shame, though what you could see was well worth the entrance fee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrysis_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was very disappointed with the visit to the State Rooms. All rooms were indicated as being open when we entered - but as we accessed the rooms they were all cordoned off and staff were very unhelpful and bordering on rude about it. In the room with the amazing frescos of the 1565 siege you had to stand at one end and couldn't appreciate them properely. No audio guide and no interpretaive signage. Pooerest we saw in Valletta. The armoury however saved to day on this visit which is a 5 star museum. But I certainely think Malta Heritage should bring their high standards to bear in the management of the state rooms.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
255 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Intrigued by the legacy of the Knights of St. John?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

A 16th century palace full of suits of armor, majestic state rooms and a wealth of history.
However, the stairs are in a glass box and with quite a few tourists inside it was like entering inferno. Not a great idea for youngsters or oldsters.
It wasn't easy to access information but all in all well worth a visit, probably better to do so at a cooler time of year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizbetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of time and money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

There were only five rooms open, and these were not at all what we expected - very dark and gray. We had to wait until 10:00 to enter and spent all of ten minutes before leaving, wondering why we had bothered.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gareth_and_Sherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandmaster's Palace also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Grandmaster's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing