We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History comes to life”
Review of Casa Rocca Piccola

Casa Rocca Piccola
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Malta Shore Excursion: Private Tour of Historic Palaces and Noble Homes
Ranked #5 of 90 things to do in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: If you fancy seeing something a little bit different when visiting Valletta from the usual run of museums why not make it a point to go and see Casa Rocca Piccola. Often described as a ‘living museum’ Casa Rocca Piccola is the only privately owned palace open to the public in Valletta and has a fascinating variety of different things to see.Originally built in the 16th Century for Don Pietro La Rocca, a Knight of Malta, it is now the family ancestral home of the 9th Marquis de Piro and his family. On your visit you will be able to walk through twelve palatial rooms including the two Dining Rooms, (one for the summer and one for the winter!) as well as the Four Poster Bedroom, a private Family Chapel and an Archive room housing family documents of the de Piro family going back to the 17th Century.Guides will point out the interesting things to see such as an 18th Century golden Sedan Chair which was once carried around Valletta by Turkish slaves and the glass tumblers used to hold ice which had to be rowed all the way from Mount Etna in Sicily! There are literally hundreds of magnificent objects to see including modern paintings interspersed with the ancestral portraits of the Marquises de Piro and the Barons of Budach.Lastly but not least as part of your guided tour you will see a network of tunnels cut out from the rock under the house which were used as Bomb Shelters in World War 2. Over 100 people could be sheltered here from the Nazi bombs that poured on Valletta.There is a delightful souvenir shop in the Carriage Room of the house and a cosy Sicilian restaurant in the old kitchens.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“History comes to life”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a wonderful heritage site. It is still a family home and this gives an evening better insight into the life of the Lodrly Maltese. The tour guide was just excellent - she is well informed, entertaining and oozes enthusiasm, which is infectious. The house contains something of interest to everyone from Order of St John, to Popes, to Queen Elizabeth, to art to WWII bomb shelters. Great little book shop also. After St John's Co-Cathedral this was my next favourite site in Valletta. €9 entry is a little steep however.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    260
    55
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Most Memorable Event while in the Med!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Casa Rocca Piccola! We've done quite a bit of touring and this is truly the first experience that not only kept everyone's attention, but made everyone long for more. The home is like a living breathing museum. Each item comes with a story of it's own. I would highly recommend a visit here when you go to Malta! We plan to make every effort to return someday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were tired, so we almost passed this place up when we were told that tours were on the hour and we'd just missed one, but we were awfully glad we came back. This was one of the highlights of Vallatta as far as we are concerned. It is still, as it always has been, a private residence, home to a local marquis and his family, and we were taken through by a pleasant and knowledgable guide. It was fascinating to see how this family live, to look over their family photographs, nose about the family's library and archives, and view the collection of art and artifacts the family has assembled. The current marquis, whom we met in passing, is an avid and discriminating art collector, so there is much to see. We passed on the opportunity to visit the World War 2 bomb shelter, but maybe we shouldn't have.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The highlight of my trip”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am so glad we made arrangements to visit Casa Rocca Piccola. The tour was the highlight of my vacation. There are fascinating things in every room--too much to absorb on one visit. If I am ever fortunate enough to get back to Valletta, I will work hard to visit this historic home again! Our guide was happy to answer questions and pointed out items of interest to our group based on our professions and ages. We had one 7 year old, some teenagers and some adults. Some of the best questions came from the 7 year old.

There are no elevators, only stairs in the house and narrow passages from the bomb shelter to the garden so this would not be a good tour for someone who finds those experiences to be a challenge.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinMalta, Owner at Casa Rocca Piccola, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of Casa Rocca Piccola. We like to make a big effort to look after our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again in Casa Rocca Piccola.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New insights”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have been to Malta several times, but this was our first visit to the Casa Rocco Piccola. It gave us a different view to Maltese history. The guide was excellent and very enthusiastic. Although the commentary was in English she made great efforts to involve the two Spanish youngsters on the tour, pointing out things that would be interesting to children, without neglecting the adults in any way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Rocca Piccola also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Casa Rocca Piccola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing