We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Asti Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valletta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asti Guest House
Ranked #13 of 21 Valletta B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed 10 days in August with my wife here in this 350 year old guest house and loved it. The guest house is run by a 81 year old lady. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is also included. Located right in the heart of Valletta, only a few minutes by foot to the main bus terminus, grandmasters palace and the upper Barraca gardens to name a few. The booking is only possible via telephone. We will surely returrn here. All in all, had a great stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Raghav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed with my husband in Asti for one week at the begining of June, first floor. The location couldn't be better - it is close to the port, buses, which you probably will use a lot as we did if you would like to see the island, visit different beaches, and the centre. Our room did not have a shower which is not a problem at all since there are two on the corridor for 2 rooms, so there are no queues whatsoever, the showers could be refurbished a bit though. Additionally, in the room you have a quite handy sink. There are no TVs in rooms, but who would need them while visiting Malta.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

..or at least, for the best Host in B&B ever.
We changed 3 places in Malta, and we must say that the B&B of Annie was the best one for us.
If you look for a maltese experience in the middle of the Valletta town, and have a look from the inside of a maltese house and maltese host, this is the right place to be!
The rooms are ok, but the view from the small balcony is very characteristic and cute. The breakfast is quiet ok, with bread cerals jam ham tomatoes juice coffee and milk and homemade cakes. But it's very nice to see how Annie, the old hostess, serve every guest as it was her grandson. And to complete the experience, try to get to the closest bar that is offering for all the summer fridays jazz concerts for free in the stairs of a typical Valletta spot. The bas has another very nice host, who must be called John.
Definitively, if you go to Malta, that's the most human historical and healty place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alerai80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Hello, how can we book a room at asti guesthouse? We can't seem too find how to book by internet, can someone let us know if it's possible? thnx! Hans en Anja(belgium)

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We needed a short stay in Valletta, Malta at a moderately priced B and B and checked the reviews on Tripadvisor for the Asti Guest House. They were almost all excellent and convinced by the reviews we called them to make the booking. (It was clear that there was no website or online booking for the Asti) We booked in October for late April and were told (understandably) to re confirm nearer the time. I wrote a letter confirming this conversation and then rang again in March to check all the details again and once more confirmed the conversation with Annie in writing and sent directly to Malta by post. As a belt and braces move I sent a third letter two weeks before we travelled to say we were looking forward to our stay. This letter brought an immediate response (by text to my mobile) asking us to ring the Asti Guest House. Speaking to Annie, I was told 'there was no room for us'. There was no explanation and whilst Annie's English is good she didn't respond to any of my pleas for an explanation or remonstrations about why a booking made months before now was being denied. In the end she reluctantly agreed to find a room for us with single beds (we'd book a double en suite) with shower facilities on another floor. So near to our departure we felt we had little alternative. Once again I confirmed our conversation in writing and mailed it. The night before we were due to check in we called again to give our time of arrival and this time there was complete denial that we had ever had a booking and no discussion would be entered into. We were left high and dry and had to make a last minute booking at another establishment at a much higher rate than we had budgeted for.
So...The Asti Guest house may well be a wonderful place to stay in Valletta but we never got the chance to find out and I would advise anyone booking that you will get no confirmation, and could well find yourself without a room if you turn up believing you have a resevation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
22  Thank rangersgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was in Malta for 7 days/6 nights in March, and stayed at the Asti.(after having read all the reviews on Tripadvisor) All the positive comments which can be found in the Tripadvisor reviews of the Asti, and of Annie Galea, are in fact, spot on the money, and as i did myself, they can be relied upon for accuracy.
It would be a complete waste of time to simply repeat them, except to say that at 20 EUR per night, including breakfast, how could you possibly go past staying at the Asti ????

All i can really add in relation to the Asti, and of Annie, is that i travelled the 30 hours home to Australia quite despondent.
Quite despondent because Annie laughed at my suggestion of her migrating to Australia and opening up an "Asti 2". (some food for thought there for any of you budding entrepreneurs)

The Asti is very central to the Valletta bus terminus, and everything you could possibly want or need is close by.
A great B&B in a great location, in a great country !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DadNDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I spent Easter at the Asti Guesthouse and had a wonderful time. It is true what the other reviewees say about Annie, she is a great host and the value for money is spectacular. For Easter we had a lovely breakfast and each person was presented with a beautiful small cake decorated by Annie's daughter. I would definitely go again and recommend it to my friends and family for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chinchiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#9 of 15 in Valletta
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asti Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asti Guest House

Address: St. Ursula Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Asti Guest House Hotel Valletta
Asti Guest House Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing