We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to have a rest out of the crowded streets”
Review of Piadina Caffe

Piadina Caffe
Ranked #7 of 258 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: A little piece of Italy in the heart of Valletta, as we like to describe it. We offer light snacks like piadinas (home made italian flat bread), focaccias, superb Italian sandwiches, lovely salads and soups, all accompanied with exquisite Vergnano coffee. Un piccolo pezzo di Italia nel cuore di Valletta ... a noi piace definirlo cosi'. Offriamo spuntini leggeri come piadine, focacce, panini, insalate e zuppe, il tutto accompagnato con squisito caffè Vergnano.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for good food, a really good Italian espresso and a nice and friendly environment just a few steps of the crowded centre of Valletta, this is the place!
The place is really small and that is added value: you can get your food to take away or you can sit outside, with a hint of Arabian scene.

The girl running the place is a friendly and lovely guy, always smiling and in for advices and hints.

If you don't know what a Piadina is and you're not in Italy, this is the place to find out what you're missing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matrice05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buqinu, Owner at Piadina Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your review and kind words. We strive to be a little piece of Italy abroad and we are happy when Italians agree, it means we are doing it right. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 541 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

When you travel frequently, your desire for authentic food cooked with love and described with passion becomes a longing that is not often met. That is until you stumble into the Culinary arms of Giada at her Jewel of a restaurant, PIADINA CAFE. Lovely people perched on pillows or chairs on the sidewalk, engaged in lively conversation. The inside full of the local businessmen meeting for lunch. Across the narrow street is the doorway to the Church of The Shipwreck of Saint Paul. A peeks inside shows the beautiful counter full of goodies and a beautiful arched Maltese ceiling. We had stopped by in the morning to ensure that we knew the exact location and then took off on our errands of the day....when we returned for lunch, Giada asked why we did not stay in the morning......WHAT....we were remembered from our short scouting visit! This was going to be a GREAT place! We settled on the sidewalk among our fellow diners and immediately we could feel the warmth that Piadina is. Giada helped us choose from the marvelous selections. We had a wrap filled with the most wonderful vegetables and ham accompanied by a black rice salad with fresh mozzarella. The flavours were a Culinary Symphony playing across your palate. I so hope we will be able to return to Piadina several times before we leave. You MUST experience Piadina if you are inValletta. This is a Culinary dance that spins around the streets of Valletta and Giada will lead you in the dance that will leave you delighted! Please claim a perch on the sidewalk to fully enjoy your experience, but do not hesitate to follow Giada inside and chat with her as she prepares your meal. All this for pennies!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buqinu, Owner at Piadina Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

WOW! We are not sure where to begin thanking you for such a beautiful review. You have totally managed to capture what Piadina Caffe is all about and put it down so clearly and eloquently in words. Thank you very much and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place is amazing, clean, great food and service is always with a smile. If you are in Valletta I highly recommend it! Great food prices very reasonable. Love to go there :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denise1980Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buqinu, Owner at Piadina Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. We hope to see you back often. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It is a very small cafė/take away place, there ate only 5/6 seats inside, when it is sunny, people can eat outside in the stairs as well(petastrian street). We are welcomed by the warm and big smile of the owner( she makes the dishes) and another young lady. I orderd a piadina menu with a pianina tomate/mozzarella/pesto, and a soft drink and a lattė macchiatto. The piadina is just......Awesome!! It was very tasty and generously filled in. The whole menu for only 5 euros. It is a must try place if you travel to Valletta one day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Xin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buqinu, Owner at Piadina Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are glad you mentioned the possibility of eating your snack perched on one of the stools or cushions outside. It forms part of the allure of Piadina Caffe and is highly appreciated by our clientele. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Found this tiny place by chance in Valletta. Went in just for a coffee as we had already eaten. The smell of the food was wonderful, so we went back the next day and had a wrap, as mentioned before it tasted very fresh and light, but it certainly filled us up. I don't like strong coffee, but the lady behind the counter made it just right for me. They take the trouble to cater for you as an individual. It is not a big restaurant, but for a lunch time snack I wouldn't go anywhere else in Valletta now that I have found it. You are also made to feel very welcome by the staff and other diners.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HamletMiddleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buqinu, Owner at Piadina Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and lovely review. It gives us particular pleasure when clients take the trouble to come back to try something else which catches their eye (or nose!) on their first visit. Looking forward to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piadina Caffe also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Piadina Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing