We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, clean, modest, friendly”
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, clean, modest, friendly”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This hotel has probably the best harbor views in all of Malta. It' needs sprucing up but it's clean. The rooms are small and spare. The plumbing works well. The supplement for air-conditioning is only 7 Euros and worth it. The welcome is friendly and helpful; it's family-run, and the staff speaks English well.. Breakfast is ample, served on a terrace with harbor views. Fellow guests included young and old, from various countries. It's a l0 minute walk to the main bus station for island-wide transportation. The hotel is at the edge of the city center; the cathedral is about a 5-10 minute walk uphill.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    146
    89
    66
    39
See reviews for
49
142
75
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Epitomizes old adage: You get what you pay for. Strengths: (1) Staff. Very friendly, very helpful. Whatever you ask for, they will try to supply it. (2) Location. Absolutely superb. View from restaurant and bar looking across Grand Harbour at the Three Cities is spectacular. Easy access to all of the many historical sights in Valletta. (3) Free wifi, although it is quirky. Sometimes it doesn't work at some places in the hotel. (4) It is really cheap. My room (for one person) was 50 euros. Weaknesses: (1) Rooms are very plain and very old. Well worn, perhaps even a little shabby. Water pressure is weak. (2) It really is a rabbit warren of a place. Four steps up, three steps down, turn left, go down little hall, turn right, etc. (3) Restaurant is weak, breakfast is abysmal. Fortunately, Valletta is full of places where you can get a decent, full breakfast for 4 or 5 euros. Conclusion: If you remember what you are paying, and that this is a 2-star place, I think you would be very satisfied. If you expect a four-star, then you will probably complain.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papa_Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,338 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,720 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

The view's wonderful, over to the three cities, but apart from that the hotel hasn't got much to recommend it. Breakfast is only so-so, the rooms are plain to put it mildly, the lift's tiny and ancient, and the one occasion when I had supper there the food wasn't much good. Nor was the service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thanks for the feedback . As you know we are a two star hotel so if one is looking for comfort , luxury and more service then it would be better to book a higher grade hotel . Having said that we would have loved to have had your comments whilst you were here as most of them could have easily been resloved. We offer complimentary continental buffet breakfast and we do not charge extra for it as most of the small hotels in Europe. The lift has been replaced in the begining of January 2011 and is slighly larger but the important thing its gets you there. Regarding the restaurant , I do not know what you had but we offer Maltese cuisine which may not have been to your liking , but it does not mean that the food was not good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

A great location just outside Valetta - a few minutes walk there and to the main bus area. A short walk to the waterfront area - a modern cruise termiinal area with street cafes etc. Basic but nice bneakfast - self serve, continental style. Helpful staff all speaking English. My room overlooked a quite narrow street. I left an item in the room when I left - but the staff were helpful and posted that to me very quickly, to the UK

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DREW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Great location if you're interested in all the historical and cultural sites to be found in Valletta. View from the restaurant across the Grand Harbor is spectacular as can be seen on the hotel website. Staff was very helpful and always eager to provide advice on what to see and do in Malta. Under-pressured shower and church bells were minor inconveniences, both offset by the great location, staff, and price. Would stay there again on any subsequent trip to Malta.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastmanArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Family owned hotel overlooking Grand Harbour. Great views day & night from Dining room, Bar & front bedrooms. We had a large well appointed bedroom at the front,with a huge balcony.The room was efficiently serviced every day & all staff were very friendly & helpful.
The restaurant served good Maltese food especially the Lampuki Fish & Rabbit dishes.
Breakfast consisted of Maltese Breads, with meat & cheese, jams etc. Tea, Coffee & fruit juice. A cooked breakfast was available on request if desired. I stayed at this Hotel in the late 60's early 70's & this is why we returned.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DieselS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Despite the hotel being quite basic - very "old Malta" - the view was magnificent...straight out onto the Grand Harbour. Valletta itself is very quiet at night and strangely British - the telephone boxes and post boxes are British, they drive on the left, everyone speaks English, even the electrical plugs in the hotel were the three-point British, and there were even yellow and orange belisha beacons by the zebras. However, the city and the surroundings are exotic, so it has a wonderful mix of familiar and unfamiliar. There is so much to see on the island that whatever you want from a holiday, you can find it in Malta. Wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,069 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Property: British Hotel
Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — British Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing