We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best views in town”
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best views in town”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stay at the British if you can live without air conditioning (the ceilings are 18 feet tall for a reason) and if you do not care about perfect everything. The large bathroom, plenty of hot water and nothing short of spectacular views will make up the rest. You can always enjoy the views from the common terrace, which will be at your disposal most of the time, especially if you stay on the 2nd floor. Great staff, never ate there, so cannot comment on the restaurant.
Breakfasts can definitely improve at least by by upgrading the coffee, but otherwise excellent butter and average cheese are provided. The bread selection will do the job. The little maltese cookies were nice.

Room Tip: aircon is at an additional charge, but ceilings are ulta high, wifi is free in the common area, 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    146
    89
    66
    39
See reviews for
49
142
75
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I may have been unlucky with my room! I booked a single bedroom with seaview (for 2 nights) 4 months before and it seems like I got the worst room. my room was on the top of the building (4th floor, room 216), no elevator going up. I had to carry my own luggage up the stairs, no help of the staff who indicated me the way to the room. When I arrived at the room, bathed in sweat, I noticed a card saying that there is an extra daily charge for the air conditioning (7 euros per day)!!! the room was in general very hot, so impossible without AC. There is as well no WiFi in the room (only WiFi area downstairs). The staff at the reception was very friendly and they are taking care of you! the only positive thing of my stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyooa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments, however I want to clarify some things as in your heading you wrote no lift and no A/C and it is slightly misleading. The hotel is an old historical building consisting of three buildings joined together in one.
In the main building we have an elevator leading up to the sixth floor and the roof terrace. Your room was in the second part of the building which can be reached by lift till the second floor and the there are 3 flight of steps to reach it. The room has a onderful private terrace overlooking the sea
We have fans in all rooms but A/C is offered at an extra supplement as not all people want it since many guests come to Malta for the hot weather so its only fair to pay for it if you need it.
Once again I want to clarify that we do offer Wifi from the room at a small charge with an international provider Ozone who offer very good connection speeds. The hotel offers free Wifi from public areas for those who want to check their e-mails or simply browse the net on their laptops
I have to apologise if my staff did not help you with the luggage as usually they do and that is what really is bothering me as like you said in your comments the staff are friendly and helpful. thanks David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valletta hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is good located, the views from the restaurant and the wi-fi area (they call it bar but it is not a bar at any effects) are amazing and privileged. Restaurant is quite good and reasonably priced, service is nice.
If you book a single room, just be aware that they are extremely small and hot, not suitable for heat sensitibe guests. You have a fan, but still it gets pretty difficult to stay in there. Beds are ok.
I saw other type of rooms and they are more than ok. A/C has a 7 € per night.
The worst about this hotel is the breakfast that it consists, literally, on:
Bread, ham and plastic cheese slices, a type of mortadela, jelly and butter. The tea and coffee are already prepared in jugs, low quality. 4 types of juice (out of a machine that blends water and powder), regular milk and fruit in syrup. There is no chance to have anything else, not even a piece of fresh fruit or expresso (they have the machine but not for breakfast (????)).
I would have preferred not have it included in the rate, have the room a bit cheaper and then get a nice breakfast that you can find for less than 6€ within 5-10 min walking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments but I feel I have to correct some of them . The Wi fi area on the second floor serves also a bar where guests can purchase drinks from the restaurant below and drink then there as in the restaurant breakfast lunch or dinner is served. Yes A/C is well advertised on our site and even agent site at an extra charge as I do not feel that one should pay for it if he does not need it and believe a lot people don't want it as they prefer the hot weather . With regards to breakfast I have to state that cheese is edam and defintly not plastic as stated...the cold cuts are sometimes mortadella , salami or luncheon meat . The tea is prepared in jug and the coffee is ground fresh coffee which has been brewed that very morning and is kept in a boiler and its not low quality . The 4 types of juices are out of machine that is foun in 3 and 4 hotels worldwide let alone in a two star hotel. We do not charge for breakfast it is complementary with the room so yes if you would like to have an espresso we charge for it like most hotels locally or abroad. One can also ask for a cooked breakfast for a small charge. I just wanted to clarify some of the points but thank you again for your comments regards David Montebello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very strong positives outweighed the negatives for us, although they might not for everyone.
The positives have been mentioned over and over, but I'll repeat them one more time: (1) a breath-taking view of the harbor from the restaurant and bar and from the guest rooms on that side (we paid a 15 euro premium for one, and it was worth every cent); (2) a short walk (up a steep hill, to be sure) to the center of town; (3) a friendly and helpful staff; and (4) a reasonable price.
You have to decide whether these assets are worth putting up with some hostel-like aspects of the place. (If not, you should at least stop by for a beer or a glass of wine in the bar and take in the view.)
Here are three drawbacks to consider:
(1) The breakfast -- cereal, bread, processed cheese, lunch meat, coffee, and "juice" --would have been perfectly adequate had the bread not been stale every morning. (We ate lunch in the restaurant once and the bread was stale then, too.)
(2) The only ventilation in our room (106) was through a door that led to a terrace shared with the room next door (105). To avoid suffocation we had to leave it open at the price of some privacy and security. We had the option of paying an extra 7 euros a night for air conditioning, but it seemed silly when cool sea breezes were there for the taking.
(3) As in many "budget" hotels, the sheets were too small to stay tucked in, so we wound up sleeping partly on a bare mattress (which you don't want to think about too much).
Not to end on a negative note, our room was bright and clean, with nice new furnishings, including a flat-screen TV with a number of channels broadcasting in English, Maltese, and Italian. We found, however, that we much preferred to take in the marvelous view of ships in the harbor and fireworks across the bay.

Room Tip: Get a harbor-view room, but you might ask if it has a shared terrace, if that concerns you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great view of the harbor from our room, restaurant, and bar/sitting are! Very tranquil and beautiful! Hotel was furnished from the 50's thru 70's. but clean! Our room with a sharing huge balcony viewing the Valletta harbor was newer furnishing. Walking distance to old town shopping strip. But who cares if you want to stay in Valletta a street over side of the walled city and pay budget price!!! Staff are family oriented and very very friendly!!

Room Tip: Book rooms with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEDAPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

If you find yourself looking for an affordable hotel with quirkiness in old Valletta - then check in here! It's very 1960's. Has the most incredible views over the Grand Harbour for rooms that face that way.

We got room 115. It's a large room with twin beds (fiancé soon nailed those together though!) There were 2 sofa beds in there too (for anyone with 4 kids maybe?). There's also air con (€7 per day, but well worth it for the heatwave that we experienced). Also a ceiling fan and a standing fan also in the room. En suite shower and loo, no bath. Dressing table and hair dryer are also provided. TV attached to the wall t one end of the room. It's got a satellite box, so you can find something in most languages to watch.

You have an enclosed balcony with opening windows (so your 4 kids won't fall out perhaps?). A small table and a couple of chairs there too. We found it particularly excellent to dry off our diving kit before picking it away for the return journey.

Breakfast is in the 1st floor restaurant. There are fairly fixed opening times. So check these when booking. A small lift will get you and your luggage to most rooms. But it is a very old traditional Maltese house built on a steep hill. So the floors don't always match up. There are nearly always a few steps to get in or out of the place.

Top tip: not suited at all for wheelchairs. The lift is too narrow to get in or out of in a wheelchair.

I/we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liam_kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked 4 nights and got a smashing "suite" consisting of two adjoining rooms sharing a bathroom. Both rooms had views onto the Grand Harbour from their balconies! Priceless, really. Delightful quirky clean hotel with excellent friendly staff with paneling and mozaic floor probably done c. 1960. I came to Malta for the history and by cracky, I want it in my hotel, too. I also think it's a good location, far better than the Phoenician (which is next to the bus station). Valletta is tremendous, and I will use this hotel again (me, wife and two teenage sons). Postscript on breakfast: The best way to describe the breakfast is that it resembles food and the coffee and tea resemble coffee and tea, but they do not taste of anything at all. This was the only thing I can think of that wasn't great, but I wouldn't mind paying another £5 a night for a couple of fried eggs and and some espressos. There are some great places up the road where you can get full English breakfast with tea and coffee for five Euros or less. But I'd still come back...

Room Tip: Get one with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,903 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 15 in Valletta
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Property: British Hotel
Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — British Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing