We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everyone, but we liked it a lot”
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Not for everyone, but we liked it a lot”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very strong positives outweighed the negatives for us, although they might not for everyone.
The positives have been mentioned over and over, but I'll repeat them one more time: (1) a breath-taking view of the harbor from the restaurant and bar and from the guest rooms on that side (we paid a 15 euro premium for one, and it was worth every cent); (2) a short walk (up a steep hill, to be sure) to the center of town; (3) a friendly and helpful staff; and (4) a reasonable price.
You have to decide whether these assets are worth putting up with some hostel-like aspects of the place. (If not, you should at least stop by for a beer or a glass of wine in the bar and take in the view.)
Here are three drawbacks to consider:
(1) The breakfast -- cereal, bread, processed cheese, lunch meat, coffee, and "juice" --would have been perfectly adequate had the bread not been stale every morning. (We ate lunch in the restaurant once and the bread was stale then, too.)
(2) The only ventilation in our room (106) was through a door that led to a terrace shared with the room next door (105). To avoid suffocation we had to leave it open at the price of some privacy and security. We had the option of paying an extra 7 euros a night for air conditioning, but it seemed silly when cool sea breezes were there for the taking.
(3) As in many "budget" hotels, the sheets were too small to stay tucked in, so we wound up sleeping partly on a bare mattress (which you don't want to think about too much).
Not to end on a negative note, our room was bright and clean, with nice new furnishings, including a flat-screen TV with a number of channels broadcasting in English, Maltese, and Italian. We found, however, that we much preferred to take in the marvelous view of ships in the harbor and fireworks across the bay.

Room Tip: Get a harbor-view room, but you might ask if it has a shared terrace, if that concerns you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    146
    89
    66
    39
See reviews for
49
142
75
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great view of the harbor from our room, restaurant, and bar/sitting are! Very tranquil and beautiful! Hotel was furnished from the 50's thru 70's. but clean! Our room with a sharing huge balcony viewing the Valletta harbor was newer furnishing. Walking distance to old town shopping strip. But who cares if you want to stay in Valletta a street over side of the walled city and pay budget price!!! Staff are family oriented and very very friendly!!

Room Tip: Book rooms with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEDAPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

If you find yourself looking for an affordable hotel with quirkiness in old Valletta - then check in here! It's very 1960's. Has the most incredible views over the Grand Harbour for rooms that face that way.

We got room 115. It's a large room with twin beds (fiancé soon nailed those together though!) There were 2 sofa beds in there too (for anyone with 4 kids maybe?). There's also air con (€7 per day, but well worth it for the heatwave that we experienced). Also a ceiling fan and a standing fan also in the room. En suite shower and loo, no bath. Dressing table and hair dryer are also provided. TV attached to the wall t one end of the room. It's got a satellite box, so you can find something in most languages to watch.

You have an enclosed balcony with opening windows (so your 4 kids won't fall out perhaps?). A small table and a couple of chairs there too. We found it particularly excellent to dry off our diving kit before picking it away for the return journey.

Breakfast is in the 1st floor restaurant. There are fairly fixed opening times. So check these when booking. A small lift will get you and your luggage to most rooms. But it is a very old traditional Maltese house built on a steep hill. So the floors don't always match up. There are nearly always a few steps to get in or out of the place.

Top tip: not suited at all for wheelchairs. The lift is too narrow to get in or out of in a wheelchair.

I/we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liam_kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked 4 nights and got a smashing "suite" consisting of two adjoining rooms sharing a bathroom. Both rooms had views onto the Grand Harbour from their balconies! Priceless, really. Delightful quirky clean hotel with excellent friendly staff with paneling and mozaic floor probably done c. 1960. I came to Malta for the history and by cracky, I want it in my hotel, too. I also think it's a good location, far better than the Phoenician (which is next to the bus station). Valletta is tremendous, and I will use this hotel again (me, wife and two teenage sons). Postscript on breakfast: The best way to describe the breakfast is that it resembles food and the coffee and tea resemble coffee and tea, but they do not taste of anything at all. This was the only thing I can think of that wasn't great, but I wouldn't mind paying another £5 a night for a couple of fried eggs and and some espressos. There are some great places up the road where you can get full English breakfast with tea and coffee for five Euros or less. But I'd still come back...

Room Tip: Get one with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a great place to see the Grand Harbour and all its activity. The view has got to be the best and because we had the room on floor 6, it all seemed to be ours! There are 2 roof terraces, 1 with sunbeds, tables and parasol (wind permitting), 1 with basic seats. Booked here on recommendation fropm daughter and this was great for our visit to Valetta.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucket_list68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a hotel which really offers stunning views of the sea. and its proximity to the upper Barraca park is great! Yet the room itself is not much to write home about. The staff was very helpful and changed room for us immediately when informed of leaking ceiling. But for the price, they really could benefit much for more updates.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Madeleineshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Enjoyed the helpful staff, good views and location. Spartan room with clean sheets, cable TV, desk, clothes cabinet and hot water. If checking in late, watch your step and Room 117 is on the 3rd floor. Self-service breakfast with bread, cereal, and lunch meat.

Room Tip: Book directly with the local hotel. Don't use Booking.com since pricing is more expensive. Ever...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sgronek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,906 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Property: British Hotel
Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — British Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing