We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant views and great staff!”
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant views and great staff!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel before an early start to get to the airport. It's a traditional hotel but has the most stunning views from the restaurant and the rooftop terrace. The staff were very helpful and friendly, both at check in and the following morning when they gave me a (very welcome) light breakfast at 4.30am! Free wi-fi is available in the public areas, which was an added bonus.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank funofthefair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    146
    89
    66
    39
See reviews for
49
142
75
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I havn't stayed at this hotel for some time, but on my last visit to Malta decided on booking dinner there. I was so impressed that a day or so later I reccomended it to some friends. They wern't disappointed either.
I had a balcony table that gave me a view overlooking the Grand Harbour and was compleate with a full moon. [You could have set it to music]. The waiter remembered me from my last visit and was friendly and attentive.
My meal of stewed octopus and a bottle of Gozo wine was of really good quality and not expensive at all.
The British is 'a little dated' but I'd rather it didn't change, it's well situated for sightseeing in Valletta and the staff are friendly. What's not to like ?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forkinggeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This the perfect choice for a short budget stay in Valletta. Don’t expect a fancy tourist or business hotel experience: the British offers you an authentic stay in a rambling heritage building, so the decor is indeed a bit tired. But it’s clean; the rooms are large; everything works (including the wi-fi); and above all you are made to feel welcome. A refurbishment makeover might even take away some of its charm.

The hotel is perfectly situated close by everything you will want to see or do in Valletta. And, as every review mentions, the views from the front rooms overlooking the Grand Harbour are quite outstanding – it would not be possible to be in a better position. We were in Valletta in May at the time of the international fireworks festival, and it was no surprise that half Valletta was camping out in front of the hotel for the best views over the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

by the name. This hotel is "special". True it does need as make-over but if it had one it would not have the "charm". The views from the dining room is spectacular and possible one of the few hotels to claim such a view. Breakfasts are plain as are the evening meals. Rooms have everything you could ask for including pigeons during the month of May sitting on their nests which can be heard from the rooms at the front of the hotel. Saying all of this, this hotel is good, the staff are amazingly helpful, absolutely nothing is too much trouble. Take a chance on this one.......

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour - they have "Maltese" balconies - which are not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Friends28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed just one night in late April. We did not need the air conditioning which was extra. The hotel was basic but suited our purpose which was to see Valetta by foot. The view from the balcony overlooking the harbor was great! If a two star hotel is suitable for you, then I recommend it. Our flight left too early to have the breakfast, but a member of the staff made coffee for us which was very nice. If you're looking for a great location and don't need something fancy, then I recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We’ve stayed at this hotel in May for two weeks. Our room was 106, it has a shared large balcony with 105, and there were picnic tables and sun lounges, so you can even catch a great tan under a morning sun. Room was clean and simple: beds, bedside tables, TV with lot of channels, table and chairs. Air condition is available but at 7 euro/day. We didn’t have any need in it, but as the summer comes, you may want to turn it on. Bathroom was rather simple, with shower, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was simple but enough to start our day, room large and clean.
There are a lot of attractions near the hotel, Manoel theatre is in 15 minute walk distance, main bus station even closer. If you arrive in the season of feasts, this may be the best place to stay, in a just 5 minute walk from main city squares and cathedrals. And you’d better choose room with a sea view, so you can have some nice time watching Grand Harbour at different times of a day, and a variety of ships passing by.
Not only location, but hotel staff is the main feature of this place. You feel like you are most welcome here and everyone is happy to help you. It was such a regret to leave a place like this, but I hope to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodguyspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,906 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Property: British Hotel
Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — British Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing