We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location, friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Valletta
Ramsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just returned from a three night break in Valletta, very happy with our stay here. Yes it's a two star and simple, but the service is first class. Everything spotlessly clean, room done and towels changed every day, flat screen satellite tv, hairdrier, comfortable beds. It's well worth paying extra for a room overlooking the grand harbour, the view across to Vittoriosa is spectacular, a wonderful view to start and finish the day.

Breakfast nothing fancy - juice, tea/coffee, bread, cheese, ham, jam, etc. - but plentiful and good for filling up before a day's sightseeing it was served in room with same view as above - wonderful!

Valletta is a beautiful city, the Maltese were without exception very friendly and helpful. Do note that the convenient way to see it is by walking, and it is a steady climb into the centre from the hotel but it is just a short walk to the bus station and everything of interest is within easy reach. To quote a previous reviewer - If you're in Malta for just a few days, don't bother with the slick but soulless tourist traps up the coast,stay in Valletta at the British hotel!

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room, it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    131
    78
    57
    36
See reviews for
44
128
63
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Ideal location, good service and good for short stay. Hotel was clean and suitable for guests who do not require a pool etc and need a good base to return to after days out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank hugh w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just back from four nights in Valletta and very happy with our stay here. Yes it's a two star and simple, but the service is first class. Everything spotlessly clean, room done and towels changed every day, flat screen satellite tv (english channels a bit limited but you don't visit Valletta to watch eastenders!), hairdrier, comfortable beds. I contacted reception before our stay to ask if we could have a kettle in our room and it was there waiting, no extra charge. It's worth paying extra for a room overlooking the grand harbour, the view across to Vittoriosa is spectacular. We had 106 - huge balcony with table and chairs to sit out and I spotted some sun loungers in a cupboard, which we didn't use but were clearly available.

Breakfast nothing fancy - juice, tea/coffee, bread, cheese, ham, jam, etc. - but plentiful and good for filling up before a day's sightseeing. Also, it was served in room with same view as above - wonderful!

Location is brilliant - just a short walk from the bus station and everything of interest is within easy reach. If you're in Malta for just a few days, don't bother with the slick but soulless tourist traps up the coast,stay in Valletta at the British hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
I would like to thank you for your positive comments and am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to mention one small thing , there are actually more than 20 channels in English, amongst them BBC entertainment , BBC news , Eurosport channels, MGM , travel channel ,discovery, discovery & living, Zone reality and quite a few more. Once Again thank you for your feedback
regards

David Montebello
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Its a 2*. The lift does not go to all the floors doing stairs are a problem I would suggest you raise this with them when you book. We arrived at 10:30pm. The kitchen was closed yet the staff, who are extremely friendly managed to sere is soup & a main course with a bottle of local wine. Good value for money. The hotel is dated but good value for money

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinerDinerFaversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for your comment . I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and my staff managed to provide some food , even after the restaurant was closed. Its not easy finding somewhere to eat after 10.30pm especially on your first day so I can imagine the feeling of not having to wander at that time looking for a restaurant. Yes some rooms are not accessible by lift all the way due to the old structure of the building which is one of the oldest lodging places of the city dating back to the Knights of St John. It 's what makes it stand out from other hotels in Malta if you like culutre and historical buildings. Once again thanks for the comments
regards

David Montebello
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

As with all Maltese people, there is always a welcome and nothing is too much trouble. All the staff were very apologetic about the upgrading taking place, which will make the hotel even more attractive - lovely cool stairwells and newly decorated rooms. Very convenient for everything in Valletta and close enough to the buses and ferries. We will be back again !

Room Tip: Pay out a little extra to get one with a balcony/terrace view across the Harbour - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipper29_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmontebello, Manager at British Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments . Works nearly completed in the floors and should be ready just before the two feasts coing up this month and Easter next month which is already quite full . I hope that you can visit us again another year

regards and thanks

David Montebllo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in mid January then returned for a further 2 nights a few days later after returning from Gozo. We were really impressed with the staff friendliness, cleanliness and the views of the Grand Harbour. The hotel is one of the best for location, close to the good bus services which allows one to travel easily all over Malta and is centrally located near all the restaurants, shops & attractions. In our opinion the Lonely Planet review 'short changes' the hotel. We were travelling in off-season which permitted us to have a spacious harbour view room without pre-booking! The hotel is older style but that adds to its charm.
We wouldn't hesitate in staying again and recommending it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter-and-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for your positive comments about the staff and the hotel. We try our best to make you feel at home as I know the location alone although one of the best on the island is not enough if you are not made welcome. I look forward to having you or any of your riends staying here again especially now that most of the refurbishment has been completed. Thanks again

David Montebello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I returned last week from a very enjoyable visit staying at The British Hotel. Alterations and updating was in progres. The management and staff were welcoming and helpful, When I make my next visit to Malta I hope to stay there again. Central to everything with the Bus Depot the Hub of Island travel adventure. Valletta has the history and culture to make people leave the Island feeling reflective and uplifted. Due to the good nature of the Maltese people I felt at home and did not feel it necessary to be be" pickey " Best wishes to The Brirish Hotel,

Room Tip: You sleep in a room ......... and it is not for ever. The cost is up to the traveller!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grannyblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
I want to thank you for your review. Alterations are now nearly finished with new bathrooms and tiling in most rooms . We have also installed Ozone Wifi (at a small charge) in all the rooms so that guests have a good internet service directly from the rooms. In reception there is stil free wireless available . Thanks again for your wonderful comments

regards

David Montebello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#5 of 10 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 stars 3,195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 10 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#6 of 10 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 10 in Valletta
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 10 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Property: British Hotel
Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing