We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,comfortable room”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Corwen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location,comfortable room”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent 1-4 November here.Well located, near ferries and bus station.Room was comfortable,fridge and tea making facilities.The staff were very helpful and friendly.We ate at the hotel on 3nights because it was much cheaper than eating in local restaurants.Weather was much better than expected was not able to use the lovely pool because I did not have any gear.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BillMT5096AV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    529
    194
    65
    38
See reviews for
130
552
98
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at this ideally situated hotel only one night but were impressed enough to book again for a longer time.
The B&B rate entitles customers to have a 3-course dinner for only €9.90 each. The food was delicious and the staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. The bar is delightful with comfortable armchairs and the air-con helps when you come inside from Malta's sunshine.
On the roof there are sun loungers and a small pool so make sure you take your swimming things.
The Manager, Brian, was friendly and approachable. His mission is to make sure every customer is happy with their stay and he is certainly succeeding.

Room Tip: We had Room 601 with a wonderful view over the rooftops to the little harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rowena2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I read reviews of this hotel expecting a clean room, good location and not very friendly staff! I agree with location and cleanliness, this hotel is extremely clean. However when it comes to attitude of the staff I totally disagree. They were hospitable, helpful and went above and beyond my expectations. I had a lovely room 601 overlooking the sea and Valletta. beautiful view! Food was excellent quality, but I do agree with past comments, it was overcooked. There's so many restaurant choices in the area it was no big deal! Very close to the bus terminal and the hop on hop off bus. You can see most of the Island by the bus system, the buses are clean. I hated leaving Malta and the friendly people that work at the Osborne. I had a wonderful visit and their hospitality made my vacation that much better.

Room Tip: Sixth floor has incredible views. There's only 3 rooms on the 6th floor. I had 601, very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Osborne 20th to 22 Sept 2013 and was very pleased with the location. Just a few minutes walk to Republic Street, major sites and also the the ferry to Silema and Gozo and nice restaurants nearby. Hotel was very clean and newly renovated. Charlie who was at the recption desk was helpful with lots of information about everything you want to know. He spoke with such enthuasiam like the was the Owner....Valetta is a lovely place to visit in Malta and why not make your stay memorable as I highly recommend this inexpensive, friendly, clean hotel with excellent location, we will definitely stay there when we return to Valetta. Thanks Charlie, you were off on the weekend and we never had the chance to say thank you.

Room Tip: Newly renovated, any room would be great. All rooms have wifi access which is so important these da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This met my needs in most aspects. The one drawback was the pokey bathroom and shower. The room was smallish but well appointed (other than the bathroom). I arrived with a damaged leg and arranged a chauffuered tour to see what I could in a day. Breakfast was so-so. There was a nice bar with a friendly crowd and good, reasonably priced coffee and digestives and spirits. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

After many visits to Malta and Valletta, I rediscovered the beautifully renovated OSBOURNE.
A Small period hotel in a prime position in the centre of Valletta. Amazing rooftop views of city and sea. Spotlessly clean. Good simple cooking. Well trained staff. Well worth the 3star rating.

Room Tip: Higher floor best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was not our first stay at the Osborne and it won't be our last ! The hotel staff (each and every one of them) are friendly, helpful and professional. The rooms are very clean and have all the amenities a traveller would want. Our only criticism is the evening meal. Whilst very competetively priced, small tweaks such as hot plates for the main course and vegetables which were not over-cooked would make this a superb dining option. Overall, we love this hotel; it is well placed for the environs of Valletta which in itself is more than worthy of a visit. We will be back !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boyes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,906 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
111 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#10 of 15 in Valletta
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing