We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location to get to anywhere!!”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The location is convenient to get to anywhere!! Not only in Valletta, but also to get to anywhere in Malta. The bus terminal and ferry to Sliema are very close to the hotel!! One thing...I couldn't stand was the kettle in my room was so dirty...I wanted make some tea...but...Ew!!!! I liked it other than that!! Nice atmosphere, clean room...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usakomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Osborne Hotel is easy to find and not too far off the main streets. We stayed in a sea-view room for 4 days and were not terribly disappointed. The hotel did have some issues. For instance the rooms security was a bit lacking. Our room had windows that opened onto a roof about foot below the window sill. The side-sliding windows did not latch (or lock) at all on one side, so I was always concerned about leaving my laptop in the room while we went out since I was worried that someone could easily come in from either the other rooms connected to the roof, or from the balcony below it where the workers had a 6ft ladder they moved several times a day.

The breakfast buffet was fair. Decent variety, but the bread was not too fresh. Annoyingly, the belt toaster squeaked for the entire meal all three mornings. The staff also asked for our room number more than once. (I can't imagine people sneaking in off the street to eat here.)

We tried to enjoy a mid-day snack of wine and cheese on the roof top terrace, but were initially told it was closed for renovations for the month (not disclosed before check-in). After walking up to see the work, we realized the only renovation was the pool is drained. I asked again at the front desk and was told I could not swim since the pool was closed. I finally realized we were not communicating, so I asked again with hand gestures and was told that it was no problem for us to sit and snack up there, but to stay out of the pool. I assured them I would not get in the drained pool.

Over all I'd stay here again, but I would insist upon a room that is a bit more secure and I'd opt out of breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sweagle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The best thing that you can say about this hotel is that it is really good value for money. In that respect it is far and away the best hotel in Valletta, and probably in every other respect, too, but only because the Phoenicia is about 100 yards outside the city gates and technically in Floriana. Now for the details.

RECEPTION : Variable, depending who is at the desk. The gentleman of a certain age who used to work for Air Malta is the most helpful.

ROOMS: Very basic 3 star standard. They may have recently been renovated as the hotel’s website claims, but the overall impression is of a seventies package deal hotel. The 6 English TV channels are a bonus, and the tea and coffee making facilities area nice touch, although how on earth can they have been persuaded that “Akbar” is a believable brand name for something that calls itself “English Breakfast Tea” ? Our first room had the dreaded mysterious all night rumbling noise that kept us awake. When we asked to change our room we were told by the young lady on reception that every other room was booked, but on referring to the manager we were given a choice of 2 rooms on the floor below. It was not their fault that the room we chose was under a room occupied by insomniacs who spent every night rearranging their furniture by dragging it loudly across the floor until the small hours. At least everything worked, although the shower was rather dodgy. They also gave us 2 free meal vouchers for the inconvenience, which leads nicely to -

FOOD : Good, if a trifle basic and fairly limited choice. Breakfast had water, orange juice, apple juice, peach juice, muesli, cornflakes, rice crispies, omelette, bacon, sausage, beans, cheese cubes, sliced ham, salami, croissants, toasting bread, honey, jam, marmalade, fruit salad, cakes, tinned peaches and 2 flavoured youghourts, with tea, coffee or chocolate. Some mornings there were boiled eggs as well and bread rolls, otherwise no variation. Dinner and lunch had the same menu, changed daily, all involving soup, hors d’oeuvre, choice of 2 meats, fish, pasta, potatoes and veg, with cake or fresh fruit to follow. All is very much to the British taste, and it was one of the highlights of the evening to watch the non UK guests putting mint sauce on their hors d’oeuvres instead of their roast lamb. They do a buy 3 get one free deal on meals.

OTHER FACILITIES : The rooftop pool was actually open the first two weeks in January, which we were not expecting and had not come equipped for. It’s a nice sun terrace up there, quite sheltered, with decent views. There is a small bar on the ground floor, which looked quite well patronised, but not by us. They will book reasonably price tours at reception, and also do an airport transfer for about the price a taxi would charge. Pity both their Wi-Fi and internet access on their computer in the bar area is so extortionate.

To sum up, you almost certainly will not do better in Valetta itself, but that is largely due to absence of competition. The nearest thing is the Castille ,which looked no better from the nose we had inside, and is more expensive.

If you can afford it, I would pay the extra for the Phoenicia and walk across the bus station to get into Valletta proper. If you can’t afford it, the Osborne is good value.

Room Tip: Get on the sixth floor if you can. The best rooms with the best views and the quietest surroundings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Akathistos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Price - Cdn$92
Cleanliness - excellent.
Quietness - excellent.
Comfort - excellent.
Location - excellent - pleasant, short walks to Valletta's sights and very handy for the bus terminal (which is great for exploring the rest of Malta for Euro2.60 a day)
Friendliness - excellent, especially the lovely chap at the main desk.
Breakfast 7am on - very good (hot and cold buffet, cereals etc.).
Dinner - great, reasonable buffet (Euro21.60 for two with a half carafe of wine) with chicken, fish, pastas etc. - most filling.
Classiness - very good..
Room Size - plenty of space.
Room included - tv (limited English channels); coffee making; small shower.
Facilities included - licensed lounge, rooftop.
Nice touch - our room was the one at the front with the red balcony (309).
Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved 309 at the front with the red balcony. Small shower was fine for us - larger folk might as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I have just return from this hotel staying for 10 nights over the Christmas period and we had a great time there. Every member of staff was smiling and friendly and couldn't help you enough.It is located within easy reach of everything really as stated in previous reviews. I think small and friendly would be the best discription. We will certainly return again maybe next Christmas but this time stay over the New Year as well if we can get in that is. The room we had on the 5th floor was certainly big enough lets face it your room is only your base you don't want to stay in it all day while on holiday. Also some very nice other guests were there at the same time as us which makes the stay even more pleasant.

Room Tip: Sea views limited try top floor but as i said above you don't stay in your room all day get out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSlaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I actually do not mean this as 5 mins to destination, but there is transport to everywhere within a few minutes walk of the hotel. The hotel is comfortable,good staff, just ask. The value for money restaurant is a real boon if you are on a budget. Dinner or lunch is a buffet at E9.90, so you can eat or not if you are not on 1/2 board. Soup/Salad/4choice main/sweet. Local wine at E4.20 a Ltr and very drinkable. 200yards from main st. 300 from main bus station ( E2.60 all day to anywhere and everywhere ) 400yards from Saliema ferry. 300yards to the new Barracca lift, then across the steet to the Birgu (3 cities) ferry E1.50 one way. This hotel is the best I have been in on Malta. Food is now about UK prices unless you go to the real cheepo tourists areas on the island and only eat burgers/pizzas and drink pints of lager.

Room Tip: Rooms with 03/08/10 on each floor seem to be the biggest. 03/08 face the street so go high 5 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WFDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Osborne for a weeks holiday, with half-board, and it was a fantastic choice. The hotel is just off the main high street of Valletta, only 5 minutes(downhil) walk to the harbour and only 5 minutes to the bus station. Perfectly placed for all our needs. The hotel is extremely professionally run but keeps the lovely family and fun atmosphere. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our chamber maid, Rita was really friendly and our room was cleaned everyday beautifully and fresh towels everyday. The breakfasts were buffet style but with a choice to suit everyone. Dinners were also Buffet style, there was always homemade soup or cold salad starters followed by a chocie of 4 mains, always with a fish dish on it,( which was ideal for me as I don't eat red meat) then there was cheese and a selection of puddings and/or fresh fruit. Delicious! You certainly don't go hungery at the Osborne! The dining room has lovely decor, very ambient.
The island itself is best seen by using the buses and the Osborne is perfectly placed to catch them and at only 2,60€ each you can hop on and hop off of them all day-brilliant.
A fantastic week of culture, history, shopping and being looked after and would go back to the Osborne at a drop of a hat!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linbar0559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#9 of 15 in Valletta
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: $86 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing