We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position, Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good position, Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having spent four nights at the Osborne Hotel, I have to say that it was wonderfully located near the main shopping street, the museums etc. and the bus station, all whilst being situated on a rather quiet street. The room, whilst on the small side, was clean and beautifully decorated, had air conditioning and a good sized en-suite.

Having read the reviews about the meals at the hotel, I have to admit to having reservations about the breakfasts and evening meals. I was happy to discover that these reservations were unfounded as there was a good selection of food available for breakfast from continental options to a cooked breakfast, along with fruit salad and yogurt etc. There was also a good selection for evening meals. A selection of salads to start, followed by freshly made soup and several choices for your main course. Each evening there was a roast, another meat, fish, a vegetarian option as well as potatoes and/or rice and vegetables. For dessert each evening there was always a delicious chocolate cake, swiss roll, cheesecake or truffle along with fruit and cheese.

The staff always greeted you with a smile and a hello, good morning or good evening. On occasion this may have sounded a little robotic, but when you consider how many times they might have already greeted guests, its understandable.

Overall it’s a wonderfully located hotel with a satisfactory selection of food for breakfast and evening meal. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Osborne Hotel in Valletta.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor. The swimming pool is quite small - more a plunge pool really
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamB900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    511
    186
    62
    38
See reviews for
125
540
94
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent 9 nights at this wonderfully located hotel. There were a few niggles at first - no soap one day, too many towels the next, having to ask for extra creamer and coffee - but then we relaxed and just got on with enjoying our holiday. The restaurant had a buy 3 get one free offer on meals, so we ate there nearly every night. Good, straightforward food and wine, a varied menu and incredibly cheap. Comfortable beds, and quiet rooms. Air con worked well. Staff very friendly. Our room was a bit small and the bathroom was cramped, but everything worked well. Turn left outside the hotel and in 400 yards we were in the main street. Turn right and within 200 yards there was a fantastic night view of the harbour and Sliema - from a very rough car park. One minute away are the Hastings gardens with more wonderful views. So, would we go back there again - definitely. And only 10 minutes away from the central bus station which is the transport hub of the whole island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and loved its central location. We had asked for a room on a higher floor with a view and the view over the city towards Sliema was spectacular. The hotel is well located within walking distance of all the sights of Valletta. I would agree with other comments that the hotel reception staff are particularly friendly and helpful, booking a restaurant for us and arranging a taxi to the airport as well as pointing out main sightseeing highlights. The price of drinks in the bar is very reasonable - 1 euro for a glass of wine! Our only gripe about this hotel is the standard of the breakfast - fruit salad is a mix of fresh and tinned fruit together with glace cherried - ugh! Also, bacon is very stringy. We will probably use this hotel again if we return to Valletta, but on a room only basis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthqueen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent a week at the Osborne and really enjoyed it. The location is prefect for Valletta town and is only a short, though steep downhill, walk to the Sliema ferry (and an equally steep uphill walk back)! We had an excellent large room overlooking the front of the hotel though the bathroom was a bit small. Room servicing was very good and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, and although the coffee came out of a vacuum pot, it was surprisingly good. Decor is beginning to show its age in a few areas but overall very good value for money, particularly as we got a '7 nights for the price of 5' offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UEL910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shildon, Co Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from a week's stay in Valletta. The Osborne is well situated for exploring this lovely city as well as the rest of the island and has been refurbished since we last stayed there eight years ago. We were on the first floor and although there was a decent-sized window it was tucked round a corner so we had the light on all the time we were in the room. There was also a foisty smell but no visible signs of damp. Despite these two points I WOULD use this hotel again as it is so conveniently situated.A big PLUS for this hotel is the staff who were all friendly and very helpful indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 5 and 6 have much better ventilation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 148ALANA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you're lucky - you'll love this hotel. But be careful! There are several rooms (No.111 and 211 at least) without windows in the room! No fresh air at all! You seem to be in a prison cell. :( Breakfast and dinner are OK. Swimming pool is really small ~2*5 meters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexander I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a terrific hotel in a beautiful city. Spent a week there with my daughter. Rooms were very pleasant and immaculately kept. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Out of the building and you are in the heart of the city - everything worth seeing within walking distance. A stroll to the nearby bus station means the whole island is open to you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulgibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 11, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing