We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and adequately priced”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Location is perfect (close to Valletta center and bus station). The room was big and comfortable. Swimming "pool" on a roof terrace is tiny. It was very difficult to find this hotel by car, but on the other hand there is free big parking nearby. Hotel restaurant is good and cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

Yesterday back from Malta where we stayed at Osborne Hotel. We spent 11 days there tremendously. Brilliant staff, comfortable room, tasty meal. Close to Valletta bus station and the capital's unforgettable streets. We highly recommend this hotel for those who look for not only AI and a beach in 1 min. walk :) Next time we'll come back only to this hotel. The location is perfect for going out every day to different places (no matter if it is a beach or a historical city/place).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angeliukas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for a night and it suited us just so. Helpful desk staff, clean, well appointed rooms that look very recently refurbished. The room and bathroom were both small and for a long stay this would be annoying but for our stay of a night was not an issue. The Hotel has charm and is in a nice building. We weren't there long enough to use the dining facilities but the bar was nice. The splash pool on the roof is a great place to cool down in the hot Valletta sun. It's not big enough to swim in but it is lovely and cool and has sun beds alongside. It is in a great location for getting from the bus station - took us less than ten minutes to walk with cases. They also let us leave our cases in a locked luggage room when we arrived early.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheridanslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great location,staff were really helpful and friendly very clean and comfortable.My partner was diagnosed with coeliacs disease just before we went which means he needs a gluten free diet the staff went shopping for food items for his breakfast and were very kind and helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

So central in Valletta, being off the main street just inside the city gates: check out the wonderful wine bar down the stepped street just before the hotel. We also love the views from the Hastings Gardens behind the hotel, and also the noon day firing of the gun from the other gardens.

Our room was beautifully furnished and decorated. There was obviously no balcony. The bathroom, however, was tiny and outdated. Rather limited breakfast in their ground floor restaurant. There was a small plunge pool on the roof with plenty of sunbeds. I thought it was a quaint old fashioned, but stylishly decorated hotel. The other guests seemed to be generally older than us. There was a pleasant lounge and bar. The hotel had been highly recommended to us by friends who had stayed there many times.

Please buy a day or a week bus pass (week pass 12E) as it is far better value. From Valletta you can easily travel across the whole of Malta. There are always events involving marching bands and even fireworks taking place in Valletta and its surrounding area so look up these before you go.

Any questions - give us a shout. Cath & Kev

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed 3 nights on a business trip. If you want to stay in Valletta the location is just perfect, 5 min walking from the main pedestrian street and less than 10 from the main bus station from where you can reach almost every corner of the island (€ 2.60 one day ticket, really convenient).
On the other hand if you are more into night life and 'action' please be aware that after 10 pm is hard to find even a bar open downtown Valletta (unless you move towards the sea near the Ferry Terminal to Sliema) therefore I'd rather suggest some accommodation in Sliema, St. Julian or Paceville, where most of the bars, restaurants and discos are located.
Back to Osborne, the gentleman at the reception was really friendly and helpful, nothing to say about it. I just had to wait till 2 pm till checking in, but cannot really argue with it, the rules are rules. Single rooms are quite small but the double bed was rather comfortable. What I really found disappointing was the size of the bathroom, really microscopic, with a shower box in which I could hardly move (and luckily I'm not that big) and really bad quality (the doors were not properly sliding, they were almost falling apart), not to mention the sink which was probably the smallest I've ever seen in 15 years traveling.
On the rooftop a very enjoyable terrace with, again, a microscopic swimming pool I wouldn't really worry about it, with the beautiful Maltese sea at your disposal.
Internet is not included, they sell cards at the reception, minimum 3€ for 1 1/2 hours, not cheap at all.
Breakfast which was included in my rate is something you can perfectly skip, more of a 1 star pension. Horrible coffee (american) and juices, poor choice of hot dishes, canned fruit, you'd really better walk down to the city center and have a wonderful cappuccino with a pastry or a local sandwich 'ftira' sitting on a terrace for less than 5€.
Overall a just ok hotel, with definitely some improvements needed to be a very good one...

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank fijitime71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here for just 3 nights 9/7/12 as we wanted to see the historic sights of Malta and then spent 6nts in Gozo ( see review for Hotel San Andrea ).

Fantastic location and charming small hotel in the centre of Valletta.We opted for a superior room - which was huge and very modern ( although very small bathroom ) and everything was spotless.Room also had tea and coffee making facilities. We used the roof top terrace and pool ( we were often the only ones using it ) which had superb views over the city.

Breakfast was pretty average and we ate out in the evenings so can't really comment on the evenings meals. Nice Italian cafe bar a few doors from the hotel called Si Mangia - fantastic pasta dishes and so cheap !!

5 mins walk to the bus station.Hotel easy to reach from the airport on the X1 express service and also used local buses to St Julians,Sliema and Medina.

Would definitely stay here again if visiting Malta but maybe not in July as the temps were incredibly hot- could have done with more powerful air conditioning.

Lovely, friendly staff especially the Hotel Manager..

Room Tip: Request a superior room. Apparently these are more modern and larger than standard ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dgibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: $107 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing