We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right for a couple of nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just right for a couple of nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for a night and it suited us just so. Helpful desk staff, clean, well appointed rooms that look very recently refurbished. The room and bathroom were both small and for a long stay this would be annoying but for our stay of a night was not an issue. The Hotel has charm and is in a nice building. We weren't there long enough to use the dining facilities but the bar was nice. The splash pool on the roof is a great place to cool down in the hot Valletta sun. It's not big enough to swim in but it is lovely and cool and has sun beds alongside. It is in a great location for getting from the bus station - took us less than ten minutes to walk with cases. They also let us leave our cases in a locked luggage room when we arrived early.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheridanslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    510
    185
    62
    38
See reviews for
125
538
94
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds, england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great location,staff were really helpful and friendly very clean and comfortable.My partner was diagnosed with coeliacs disease just before we went which means he needs a gluten free diet the staff went shopping for food items for his breakfast and were very kind and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathathowells@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

So central in Valletta, being off the main street just inside the city gates: check out the wonderful wine bar down the stepped street just before the hotel. We also love the views from the Hastings Gardens behind the hotel, and also the noon day firing of the gun from the other gardens.

Our room was beautifully furnished and decorated. There was obviously no balcony. The bathroom, however, was tiny and outdated. Rather limited breakfast in their ground floor restaurant. There was a small plunge pool on the roof with plenty of sunbeds. I thought it was a quaint old fashioned, but stylishly decorated hotel. The other guests seemed to be generally older than us. There was a pleasant lounge and bar. The hotel had been highly recommended to us by friends who had stayed there many times.

Please buy a day or a week bus pass (week pass 12E) as it is far better value. From Valletta you can easily travel across the whole of Malta. There are always events involving marching bands and even fireworks taking place in Valletta and its surrounding area so look up these before you go.

Any questions - give us a shout. Cath & Kev

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed 3 nights on a business trip. If you want to stay in Valletta the location is just perfect, 5 min walking from the main pedestrian street and less than 10 from the main bus station from where you can reach almost every corner of the island (€ 2.60 one day ticket, really convenient).
On the other hand if you are more into night life and 'action' please be aware that after 10 pm is hard to find even a bar open downtown Valletta (unless you move towards the sea near the Ferry Terminal to Sliema) therefore I'd rather suggest some accommodation in Sliema, St. Julian or Paceville, where most of the bars, restaurants and discos are located.
Back to Osborne, the gentleman at the reception was really friendly and helpful, nothing to say about it. I just had to wait till 2 pm till checking in, but cannot really argue with it, the rules are rules. Single rooms are quite small but the double bed was rather comfortable. What I really found disappointing was the size of the bathroom, really microscopic, with a shower box in which I could hardly move (and luckily I'm not that big) and really bad quality (the doors were not properly sliding, they were almost falling apart), not to mention the sink which was probably the smallest I've ever seen in 15 years traveling.
On the rooftop a very enjoyable terrace with, again, a microscopic swimming pool I wouldn't really worry about it, with the beautiful Maltese sea at your disposal.
Internet is not included, they sell cards at the reception, minimum 3€ for 1 1/2 hours, not cheap at all.
Breakfast which was included in my rate is something you can perfectly skip, more of a 1 star pension. Horrible coffee (american) and juices, poor choice of hot dishes, canned fruit, you'd really better walk down to the city center and have a wonderful cappuccino with a pastry or a local sandwich 'ftira' sitting on a terrace for less than 5€.
Overall a just ok hotel, with definitely some improvements needed to be a very good one...

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank fijitime71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here for just 3 nights 9/7/12 as we wanted to see the historic sights of Malta and then spent 6nts in Gozo ( see review for Hotel San Andrea ).

Fantastic location and charming small hotel in the centre of Valletta.We opted for a superior room - which was huge and very modern ( although very small bathroom ) and everything was spotless.Room also had tea and coffee making facilities. We used the roof top terrace and pool ( we were often the only ones using it ) which had superb views over the city.

Breakfast was pretty average and we ate out in the evenings so can't really comment on the evenings meals. Nice Italian cafe bar a few doors from the hotel called Si Mangia - fantastic pasta dishes and so cheap !!

5 mins walk to the bus station.Hotel easy to reach from the airport on the X1 express service and also used local buses to St Julians,Sliema and Medina.

Would definitely stay here again if visiting Malta but maybe not in July as the temps were incredibly hot- could have done with more powerful air conditioning.

Lovely, friendly staff especially the Hotel Manager..

Room Tip: Request a superior room. Apparently these are more modern and larger than standard ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dgibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Whilst holidaying in Malta decided to visit Valletta & stay over. Looked online night before using comparison sight & decided on The Osborne, due to location, reviews & price I managed to find online. Ended paying €40 less than initial price found online.
Location was great, 5 mins walk from main bus terminal & directly off main street, Republic Street.
Central for all attractions.
Staff were very helpful & friendly.
Breakfast was buffet style but good selection, both hot & cold.
Only negatives were poor beds, soft & uncomfortable & inadequate air conditioning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 310 at front of hotel nice sized room with traditional shutters on the windows but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wavy2davy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

lWhat a lovely stay we had at the Osborne, a wonderful small family feel to the Hotel. We found all staff, especially Noel and Bridgette who were so friendly to us as were all the other staff. The housekeeping was very good all towels changed daily, you just had to leave them out and they would be changed, the room was cleaned and tidied on a daily basis and as we were on the fifth floor facing the street we had a view over the tops of biuldings. You had a lovely almost panoramic view from the rooftop where there was a small but addequate pool and sun loungers, this was also lovely after an evening out to go up and look out across Valetta. A wonderful hotel to stay in. Would go back anytime, or tomorrow!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 510 very large room large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 11, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing