We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quality and friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
UK
1 review
“Great quality and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Hotel Osborne is ideally situated on South Street in the heart of Valleta, quietly tucked away but close enough to bars, restaurants and the main sites. Really friendly helpful staff made our stay very pleasant and the roof top pool while not very large provided the perfect place to relax after a days site seeing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank TL1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    507
    183
    62
    38
See reviews for
124
533
94
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

A brilliant location, within the centre of Valetta. A good choice for breakfast, ranging from a cooked breakfast, cereals, fresh fruit and continental foods. Staff very helpful and room cleaned daily with fresh towels. We were lucky as our bathroom window was so big we could step through it into a small balconey and we could see the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank humphries415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

If you are in search of a hotel that
a) is close to the various historical sights of Valletta (5 to 10 minutes by foot),
b) is located in a quiet street,
c) has clean and recently renovated rooms,
then this middle-class hotel is worth a consideration and one of the not so numerous options in Valletta. Besides, the receptionist Mr. Ronald does not get tired of providing the guest with valuable suggestions for activities and dining options.
However, you should be prepared that rooms (at least ours on the 3rd floor) are on the small side. The bathroom only allows minimalistic movements.
The breakfast room can get crowded (at least in high season) and also feels a bit claustrophobic. Selection and quality of breakfast items were fine but nothing to write stories about.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardMainz_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed at the Osborne Hotel for 4 nights in May. Was travelling by myself and stayed in a very nice and spotless clean double room on the 1st floor. Felt very comfortable staying in this hotel as a female travelling alone and really enjoyed the more cosy atmosphere of the hotel. The breakfast was very nice and offered a good varied choice and you were able to go down between the times of 7am and 10am. Internet access was available in the lounge and bar area for a cost of 3.50 Euros an hour or if you have your own computer you can get a internet access for 2.50 Euros in your room.. There was a flat screen tv in the room and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. There is a beautiful view across Valletta from the hotel roof top and a small swimming pool with lounge chairs and tables.Really enjoyed my stay here and would love to return again if I get the chance to visit the beautiful city of Valletta again someday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank taurus14au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in this lovely hotel which has a wonderful old reception area, bar and restaurant. It's location just inside the walls of Valletta and yet so close to the bus station and all main sights is superb. We were 3 people so had a very nice twin room but had to pay 17euros extra for a camp bed in the room - we did not object to paying but the bed was horribly uncomfortable and my daughter might have been better off on the floor. Did not have breakfast or dinner there but the 10.95 buffet dinner for as much to eat as you liked looked amazing value. The drinks in the bar are very reasonable and Philip was always pleasant and helpful. The reception staff could swing hot and cold, depending on the mood.... but were generally fine. The pool area was small but lovely - it was just a shame you could not get drinks up there. Overall it is a great hotel in a perfect spot. My only gripe was that the doors make a helluva noise and from early in the morning you hear nothing but doors banging and people in the corridors which have wide wooden floors. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything from the next door room, especially the plumbing. Don't expect a quiet lie-in, but then who wants to when there is so much to explore on the doorstep! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get one far away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fitz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Great location in the old town only a couple of minutes from the main street and bus station, well away from the modern horrors of the package-deal type of accommodation seen across the water! As we went to Malta to enjoy the history this suited us very well.
The hotel was spotlessly clean, the reception and other staff excellent. Breakfast was fine. Our room was not large but comfortable with good facilities and a view across the rooftops - lovely. Excellent value for money, we thought.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

This hotel is located in a very quiet area of Valetta, just 5-10 minutes walk to the bus station and restaurants so very well located, and with the road works is now in a quiet street.

I also chose this hotel as it was described as recently upgraded, and the rooms and en-suites and lifts are all pleasant enough. The reception staff are all pleasant and helpful, though the plastic flowers in reception should be binned! There is an adequate breakfast buffet, though I am gald not to have eaten evening meals which smelled of over-cooked vegetables.

My first night was in a room with obscured glass in the window as it opened onto a very small lightwell. Another in our party had a similar room and we were both moved to much better rooms the following day. The cleaning standard was excellent. Unfortunately there was no wifi signal in the room and they charge 2.5 euros per hour to get a code so I had to use my computer in the bar which was inconvenient - not least as I used up most of an hour trying to get a signal.

There is an up-to-date fire alarm system and good emergency lighting, but there is only a single staircase hardly 2ft wide. Bedroom doors do not have smoke seals and bedroom corridors are not separated from the stairwell. This single staircase exits along the reception corridor past the dining room and bar across which there are doorways that are a poor fit and without fire seals, fire grade glass and closers. Strangely one pair of doors was fitted with closers, but when the fire alarm sounded only one door shut as the other sticks on the floor and would not close as it has a stand in front of it. For a renovated hotel where the staircase has been reconstructed this is unacceptable.

Great rooftop terrace with loungers and a very small swimming pool.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MS31Dec2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 13 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 13 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 11, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing