We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Maltese!”

Nenu the Artisan Baker
Ranked #22 of 242 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nenu The Artisan Baker is a meeting place for young and old, locals and foreigners, frequent patrons as well as those desirous of a taste of local authentic cuisine served within an old setting, restored to a pristine and unique look. Undoubtedly, the business venture places major emphasis on the need to promote the historical, cultural and societal importance of the prima donna which prompted the whole idea behind the project, namely... the Maltese bread in its traditional format. Apart from the meeting spots such as the 'Bar' area and the 'Discovery Room' area (primarily aimed at the younger generation), the premises offer an extensive dining coverage spread in many key points such as the 'Courtyard', the 'Attic' and other areas which may easily cater for special occasions and events.
Balzan, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Maltese!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Everything with this place is very Maltese - food, ambience, atmosphere, etc, etc. Went there with the whole family and ate bragjoli (beef olives) after a very long time. Delicious!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nellozulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    226
    51
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Traditional Maltese food, just like mama used to make”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

W hat a wonderful find. The food is simple Maltese food done with love and pride. The staff are excellent and offer insight into the menu and the preparation of the food. Ask your waiter to show you the kitchen. They will show you the wood fired ovens where they bake all the food.

As you enter the restaurant you descend a glass staircase. Below you are exhibitions which demonstrate the traditional bakery and the type of activities that went on - nice touch. The most important thing about any restaurant is the food and I am happy to say that everything we had was simply first rate. Even the food our fellow dinners had ordered on neighboring tables looking enticing, especially the Ftira.

My party of three had lunch mid week. The restaurant soon filled up so worth making a reservation. We had a freshly baked selection of breads with a variety of Maltese dips including Bigilla which is a mashed up bean dip with olive oil, a tomato puree and diced onion and tomato. Very nice. For mains we had stuffed marrow. These were three marrows stuffed with minced pork and minced beef with onion and herbs and baked in the oven. There was also a nice selection of baked veges and some divine sliced potatoes also baked with herbs, very very tasty. Two of my party had the stuffed marrows and I had the baked macaroni. This was cooked to perfection and especially tasty, again with some lovely herbs and cheese.

We had a bread pudding for desert (it includes nuts, raisins and dried fruit) along with a Maltese date and fig pastry which is deep fried. My god, the deserts were superb and I can highly recommend both of these. To finish off we had a Maltese coffee, which does not taste like coffee but was pleasant and very herby in taste. The waiter gave us a complimentary Gozoitan liquor which was very pleasant.

We had a small bottle of Maltese red wine (single serve), which was Shiraz Merlot blend - which was OK - two large bottles of sparkling mineral water and a small bottle of plain water. The entire lunch for three people came to under €50 which was great value. We even had a doggy bag with left overs which was great the day after.

What a find, great simple food, local produce prepared with passion at reasonable prices. Can't wait until next time we visit Malta.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great idea!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is really interesting place with its own history as it was a bakery. Now you can eat very tasty food there. As my friend said, it's like Malta's fusion - for example you can eat ravioli with rabbit meat. :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank M_Iwanowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Ftira”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 4 and decided to order and share four ftira 'pizzas' the Ta'Nenu special with maltese sausage was best out of the four but all of them were very good, the service was great and restaurant clean with a good atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Maltese food at its best”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Anyone wanting true Maltese food, this is the place to go. Restaurant only has traditional Maltese food, that is served by attentive staff. Excellent choice of meals at very reasonable prices. Will tell my Maltese friends and relatives about this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NinoXerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nenu the Artisan Baker also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Nenu the Artisan Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing