We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Val 19 Apartments – Very Good Indeed”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Main Bedroom Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
Living Room
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Single bedroom
Bedrooms
Apartment entrance
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main Bathroom
Top roof garden area no 4 with views of the grand harbour
Grand Garbour views
terrace
terrace
terrace
terrace
terrace
terrace
terrace
terrace
terrace with bbq
terrace
Terrace Area no 2
Terrace
Lift in Entrance
Main Entrance
Main Door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bernard L
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Val 19 Apartments – Very Good Indeed”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Recently stayed for a week under the excellent stewardship of Patrick and his delightful wife Dianne. Patrick was on board to meet us and provide a most comprehensive introduction to the apartment and his passion for them and the equally excellent roof top garden.

Pro’s – excellent size, very tastefully decorated, well equipped kitchen, gas cooker etc. Has a cable TV set up that receives some English speaking channels (mostly news based) and an real good DVD collection for your use. One bathroom with great hot water. Wireless internet was mostly good - Patrick is aware of drop outs and is fixing. A major bonus is the location at the top of St Paul St with very easy and smooth access to City Gates and many bars etc as well as the Upper Barrakka Gardens – a most for an ale and view.

Cons’ – advertised as 2 bed / sleeps 4. Main bed room and a very small single bed room. Sleeps 4 may be based on the sofa bed in the lounge / TV room. If this apartment had 4 adults with luggage and with one bathroom directly off the kitchen then it would be a very cozy and intimate arrangement indeed. Good for two and maybe one kid but after that ….... Not overly critical but a couple of really nice improvements – replace the $E1 towels with some $E5 ones (and spare set if more than a few days) and provide some laundry detergent for the washing machine (not across how many people carry washing powder in their international luggage or want to buy litre size bottles for a wash or two).

Would I stay again if in Malta – sure would. Could I recommend with honesty – sure can. Maybe just to meet Patrick and be engrossed in his passion for this apartments, garden, Valletta and Malta.

It was and remains a pleasure to have meet Patrick and Dianne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Dear Bernard, thank you for your review and for all the positive comments you mentioned about me and my family and also about our apartment and its location.
What regards the cons. The apartment does sleep 4 persons as in the spare bedroom from under the single bed comes out another single bed . We do not advertise sleeps 4 with the sofa bed included, that we leave it as an option.
As for the towels our policy as it is a self catering apartment is that we provide to our clients a set for each person for a 7 night stay and than there is the washing machine at the disposal of our clients in each apartment but if you required more towels during your stay all you had to do was ask me when you saw me in the block.
Regarding the washing powder or any other washing liquids we do not provide them as different people have different tastes and some people also suffer from allergies and other skin conditions.
Once again I would like thank you for your review , we are always open for suggestions from our clients as we always want to improve and make our clients more comfortable. Looking forward to accommodate you again in our apartments.
Regards
Patrick and Diane ( Owners Valletta Apartments 19)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimeuk
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice apartment, very central”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This apartment block (3 owned by Patrick in the same building) is very central, in a nice part of Valetta, close to harbour below, 3 minutes from bus station, etc. It is equipped with everything you need and Patrick is very proud of his apartments and goes all out to make you feel welcome. The new lift is very useful and the roof terraces are lovely, although we didn't get to use them as it was a little chilly while we were there. But they do have fantastic views and many seats. Patrick has thought of everything there and in the apartments.
If you are looking to stay in Valletta, I would recommend them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2017
Dear Kim
We would like to thank you once again for your stay in one of our apartments.Glad that you had a very nice holiday and also a comfortable accommodation. We would like to thank you for your review about everything.Hope we can accommodate you again in the future.
Regards Patrick Owner Valletta Apartments 19
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1VoiceInT...
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Super attentive hosts + great apartment + good location = wonderful stay”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My husband handled all the arrangements, so I had no idea what to expect (a little nervous having never been in Malta, and new to apartment renting). I was SO relieved and happy to find that not only was the apartment comfortable / large / nice, but our hosts (Patrick and Diane) spent a lot of time with us explaining everything, and giving us many tips about sights to see, restaurants to visit, and shops for groceries, etc. I felt like we were staying with family, because they even provided us with a few small provisions (like wine, bread, milk, fruits, and cookies) to help us get settled in.

Although we didn't need it (being there in the spring), I was glad to see an AC / heater unit, and even though we were only on the 1st floor (meaning one short flight up, as is the European way), it was great being able to use their brand new elevator for all of our heavy luggage, and when we were carrying groceries (or just tired after a fun day of sight seeing).

Because Patrick and Diane own all 3 apartments in the building (one on each floor), I am hoping to return someday, and bring friends or family along to rent the other 2 apartments while we are there. I'd like to share the architecture and history of Valletta with other friends who I know will enjoy it as much as we have.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Dear Clients
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay. It was our pleasure meeting you and explaining you everything.Glad that you have enjoyed our apartments and their facilities. For us this is very important as we always treat our clients like friends.We would like to thank you for all the detail in your review and really appreciate your recommendation with your friends.Hope that we can accommodate you and your friends in the future.Once again we would like to thank you for your stay.See you and take care.
Regards
Patrick, Diane and princess Mariah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turismogu...
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sea View Terrace In The Best Part Of Town”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I studied a lot of other places in Valetta on the various rental sites, and Patrick's apartments offered the best value, by far:
1. Great Location
2. Sea View Terrace
3. Elevator
4. Ample Space
5. Good Wifi
6. Great Price
Have you ever wished you could stay in the best part of a capital city, but still have a sea view? Well, there we were, staying in beautiful Valletta, just 1&1/2 blocks away from the sunny, hilltop piazzas with the Prime Minister's office, the Malta Stock Exchange, the Kavalier Arts Center, and near the Upper Barakka Gardens.

But wait, there's more...quite a bit more in fact. On the big rooftop terrace we were also able to enjoy beautiful views of the harbor, past the lighthouses, out to the Mediterranean, with its many types of vessels coming and going - traditional Maltese dghajsas rowing back and forth to the 3 cities across the bay, small sail boats, yachts, all the way up to cruise ships steaming through the harbor entry.

We had the unique opportunity to stay in 2 of Patrick's 3 lovely apartments - #1 and #3. The European floor system means that #3 was on the 4th floor, BUT, no worries here, Patrick just had an elevator installed in early 2017. This was a big relief, since we don't travel light!
As for indoors, the apartments are bigger than any European hotel rooms we've ever stayed in, with a modern kitchen - fridge, freezer, stove/oven, sink, and kitchen table; a living room, with a comfy couch, which pulls out if needed, a master BR, and an extra smaller BR with a single bed.
The BR's are on 1 end, followed by the entry way, living room, hallway, kitchen, and full bathroom with shower.
Wifi & TV - I was able to work efficiently via the internet in both apartments. Though we ate most meals out, we were able to enjoy meals here too- cheeses, fresh breads, sausages, olives, and wines from Wembley's shop, and a greengrocer's, (huge strawberries), a few blocks away.
The 2 apartments' layout is the same - I think they're around 100 sq. mtrs. They differ in artwork/decor - #1 has more of an Asian feel, with artwork depicting Buddha, traditional Maltese tiles. #3: tan tiles, modern art, floral; attractive natural wood doors, cabinetry, and bed frame.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Hi and wow I must admit that your review about our apartments and other things is amazing. You left me speechless with all the details. Really glad that you have enjoyed both apartments and everything. Hope that we can have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. We also would like to thank you for your review. It was our pleasure meeting you. Regards Patrick Owner Valletta Apartments 19
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannapri...
Isle of Wight, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect place to stay in Valletta”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The apartment was excellent and had everything we needed for our stay, and it was perfectly positioned for seeing the sights of Malta. It is within an easy walk of the bus terminus and the centre of Valletta.

Patrick has done a great job with the apartments. He is a great host and could not have been more helpful.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Dear Clients
We would like to thank you for your stay in one of our holiday apartments. Glad that you have enjoyed your holiday and also our apartment and all its facilities. Hope that we can accommodate you again in the future. Regards Patrick Owner Valletta Apartments 19
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick K
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
735 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Let's start with the location... It's perfect!! It is located a block away from a very bust shopping area. It is surrounded by tons of GREAT restaurants, cafe and bars. It's a very short walk to many incredible land marks and the waterfront. You are a comfortable walk away from almost everything.
The place offers a magnificent view from the rooftop. When we were there, the lift was being repaired, so the rooftop was not as accessible, but when the lift is working, this will be something special.
The apartment is laid out comfortably and is very spacious. The beds are comfortable and the blinds in the bedroom keep out 100% of the light. It's in a very safe community and a friendly area.
The owner (Patrick) cares deeply about his property and he cares that you enjoy tha stay. He has lots of helpful information and suggestions. He booked our trip from the airport to the apartment on our arrival and did the same on departure. This was for a small charge but worth the cost.
I highly recommend this place when staying in Valletta.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Dear Rick
Once again we would like to thank you for staying in our apartment for your holiday. Glad that you have enjoyed your holiday. Hope we can accommodate you again. Also we would like to thank you for your positive review about our apartment and it's location. Regards Patrick owner Valletta Apartments 19
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An apartment which feels like a home from home”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fantastic location with great views not only from roof-top terraces but also from nearby Upper Barrakka Gardens and Saluting Battery. A five-minute walk takes to the bus-station so you are with easy reach of all parts of the island while the elevator in the Barrakka Gardens takes you down to ferry to Vittoriosa. Patrick and Diane are great hosts, very welcoming and most helpful and responsive to any requests.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Dear Rosemary
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our apartment for your stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment. Really appreciate all your comments in your review. Hope that we can accommodate you again in the future. Thanks again for everything.
Patrick and Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing