We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our last night in Valletta”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Sfoglia

La Sfoglia
Ranked #27 of 227 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Sfoglia Cafe Bistro' kitchen is lead by head chef Mr.Oswald Caruana together with his crew.Our head chef renowned for his culinary skills creates tasty, natural dishes which daily as specialities.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our last night in Valletta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The restaurant was very quiet when we arrived on a Monday night. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. We sat inside downstairs (sort of basement) which was very atmospheric with candles in alcoves. We shared the Maltese platter as a starter as we were keen to try some local food - it was excellent with a tasty variety of items and also very filling. We had the rabbit as a main course which came with a nice little selection of vegetables, there was a lot of meat and we could have probably shared the main course (big rabbits in Malta!). We received good service - attentive refilling our water & pouring our wine. Would certainly go there again if we're in Valletta.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank P_S_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    128
    31
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was my second visit to La Sfoglia! The food is excellent, as well as friendly, welcoming staff and a nice atmosphere! A definite must if you're in Valletta!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenni_fielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recommended by a local, we did not know what to expect and what we found is a super family run restaurant. Great ambiance, excellent food, the freshest fish mixed with Maltese specialities served with local charm and professionalism by two of the 3 brothers. The 3rd brother is the chef, running the show in the kitchen, but took the time to come 3 times to check if all was fine. We can only recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“friends from Norway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Sorry for my English, I’m Norwegian. I ate here at 07.04. It was a great stay. We (me and 2 friends of mine from college) loved everything about this place… the food, the staff and especially the chef who gave us great recommendations and invited us into the kitchen so that we see for our own eyes the local ingredients that he used. Fantastic! We tried the local seafood as an appetizer and had fish for main course and for dessert we had cheesecake and chocolate cake. I have never tasted fish like this…delicious!!! And the cheesecake just melted in my mouth… it was like heaven…
We were so pleased that we came back to this place 09.04. My friends went for fish again, while I tried the traditional rabbit. Again we had a fantastic stay. I think you all get my point by know… so I will end this recommendation by saying that from now on we will associate Maltese food with the food we ate here.
++ the chef was really cool, so was the female servant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank medkurd90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lija, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste bud heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wonderful experience throughout. Waiting staff make you feel at home and are always present without being intrusive. Food is amazing, I can safely say that it is one of those restaurants I'd want to visit over again. Genuine stuff that is obviously cooked with great passion, and artistic talent. Rack of lamb melts in your mouth with an explosion of flavours. White chocolate cheesecake and panna cotta also made it worth the visit on their own. Don't postpone going to this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sfoglia also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Sfoglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing