We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location, historic house.”
other travelers have booked this property
Romantic bedroom with antique colourful tiles & traditional Maltese balcony.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic bedroom with antique colourful tiles & traditional Maltese balcony.
The traditional enclosed balcony, a view of street life in the capital city. Kitchen/dining room in cellar with crossed stone arches.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Romantic bedroom with antique colourful tiles & traditional Maltese balcony.
The traditional enclosed balcony, a view of street life in the capital city.
Kitchen/dining room in cellar with crossed stone arches.
This gives you an idea of the House layout on 3 floors.
Plenty of reading material in the bedroom's library
A good night's sleep in the comfortable king size bed.
Selection of DVDs in TV room for an evening in.
Street entrance to Valletta G-House.
Valletta as seen from the sea, across the harbour.
Detail of Renzo Piano's exciting new parliament building in Valletta.
British history - Have tea in Queen Victoria Square in Valletta.
Plenty of knights of St John history in Valletta.
Discover Valletta on foot. Some great examples of architecture.
St John's CoCathedral in Valletta where Caravaggio's 'Beheading of St John' is.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Twinkiebo...
NY
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Location, historic house.”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

IF you want to stay in the heart of Valletta, this place is ideal. The bed was comfortable, the hosts were responsive during booking and when we arrived. The house was clean, and the photos are not deceiving - it really does look like this.

There are 2 "warnings" for potential tenants - there is no A/C, which was not too big a problem in late September, but could be an issue in July or August. There are a couple of fans, but these might not be enough in the real heat of summer.

The other is the bathroom - the shower does not have a great hot-water supply. In summer, this might not be a problem (who wants a hot shower when it's THAT hot outside?), but in the shoulder season or off-season, it might leave the person showering second with little hot water.

The hosts did warn us about both things - they were up-front about these and didn't try to hide anything.

There is a full kitchen, so if you want to cook in, you can.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thank you for your comments Twinkieboy. Both the AC and the hot water supply are limitations that come with a 450 year old house :) The structure just does not allow for an AC to be installed but unless there's a heatwave, the house is well insulated and breezy enough for a comfortable stay. With regards to the hot water supply - allowing 15 minutes between showers does the trick - it gives the tank time enough to fill up again so that both guests can enjoy a nice hot shower.
Hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poguie
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A house like no other”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say. We loved the G House in Valletta. It was so different to anything we have ever experienced before. People have been living in this house even before Australia (where we live) was even discovered! We loved the sense of history that seemed to come out of the stone walls - If those walls could talk.

The house is right near the centre of Valletta and it's lovely to stroll around the stunning narrow streets in the evening. There are lots of places to eat within a five minute walk and the atmosphere is again magical.

The G House itself is over three levels with the living room being the first level you come to. We hardly used this room but I suggest logging onto the wifi from here as the signal is strongest - in other parts of the hous the wifi won't work, due to the thickness of the ceilings or walls I guess.

Underneath is the cutest little kitchen you will ever see. We made a few simple meals here because we loved the house so much that we wanted to make the most of it. Upstairs is a really good sized bedroom. If you are tall like me you will definitely need to watch your head as the stone arches from the ceiling in the kitchen and bathroom are very low. Saying this though, I never banged my head once.

There you go, we would definitely recommend a stay at the fabulous G House. Salah the driver will pick you up and we got him to drop us back at the airport again at the end of our stay. He's super nice and informative. Also, Alison the co-host was right on the ball with her communication and sent us an email after we arrived to make sure everything was ok.

Big thumbs up to Valletta G House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
Thanks for your kind words Poguie. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you left with your forehead intact :) We have now installed soft coushining at the lowest part of the arches, to avoid accidents. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS0180
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing retreat”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

After a long trip the Valletta G-House was the perfect place for a good and quiet rest. Though it has three floors to it, the bedroom is large, airy and luxurious.

Visiting Malta is always a pleasure and this was the first time we stayed in Valletta; a decision we do not regret. The city of Valletta has so much to offer, not to mention other places like Mdina, Cospicua, Senglea and Sliema (which you can easily cross to by ferry). But strictly speaking you can make a good holiday just by strolling around Valletta’s little nooks and crannies, eating and drinking and enjoying the friendly atmosphere. Alison and Suzanne are very friendly and were always available for whatever we needed, even if it was just advise on where to visit.

Highly recommended for a relaxing break on a sunny island.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Thank you for your kind words...we do try our best to provide our guests with an authentic experience but we must admit that the location of the house should take most of the credit. Hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosee266
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem ”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As far as self-catering accommodation goes, the Valletta G-House exceeded my expectations big time. I visited for a week on business and didn’t intend to cook my own meals, but the kitchen in the house is so welcoming and different that I had to give it a shot. Every night I prepared a lovely meal for myself and a couple of friends and then strolled out into the quiet city for a walk. Valletta is beautiful and at night it’s mesmerizing. The location of the house immerses you in the history and culture of the city and the hosts are very accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Thank you Rose, seems like you fell in love with our Valletta G-House as much as we did :) hope to see you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera J
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I spent few days in VGH with my partner last February.

Having to experience Mediterranean life in this quaint setting was simply awesome.

Taxi driver picked us up from the airport and took us directly to the house. He was really helpful and explained everything in the house as the pickup was included in the service. :) He gave us a lot of tips and an introductory guide to the Island.

The house was simply amazing. The photos of the property do not give it enough justice.
It is clean and comfortable.
Since it was winter, there were extra heaters on each level of the house.

Though it is self catering place, we had welcoming package inclusive of bottle of wine waiting for us.
Extra towels, shampoo (for me very important since it always spills in my bag :) ), coffee, milk... even spices :).
What made it even more enjoyable was that it was really quiet and we could sleep in.
True gem. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you Vera, it was lovely to host you. The winter in Malta is mild but it can be very humid so we make sure to provide extra heaters for each level of the house so that our guests are always nice, warm and comfy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markbyng
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Height restrictions will apply”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Pros
The hosts are friendly, informative, quick to respond to enquiries and offered to mail us some clothing left behind.
They provide a welcome pack of wine & nibbles
They arrange free pick up from the airport and deliver you to the apartment, the driver gives you a quick tour.
The 350 euro security deposit was refunded promptly.

Cons
Mentioned in the reviews and included in the overview so it should come as no surprise that the bathroom / kitchen has low (stone) beams. Not so clear is that one beam is about 30" in front of the loo, step back, turn around too quickly or even stand up wrong and you will feel the pain. Anyone over 5'3" will be at risk.
Also clearly mentioned in the apartment overview is that the shower is low (stone ceiling 5'9", shower head a bit lower) but we also found that the shower hot water ran at most for 6 minutes before turning cold.
The Kitchen / Bathroom is in the basement, even with the windows constantly open and low humidity outside it is damp (enough to make your biscuits go soggy after a day).
Once we were told that the saucepan and frying pan set hanging from the ceiling hook were "for decoration only" we were left with just a stock pot and a milk pan for use on the hob - this seemed a bit limited.
Be aware that as there is no air-con you'll need to keep the windows open in the bedroom to stay cool, sadly the lack of any proper netting means you may be visited by flying biting insects as we were.
This is the third apartment we have rented in Valletta over several years (the others were at Triq II Batterija & Triq Sant' Orsla) this neighbourhood was by far the noisiest as it seems to be on the route to the ferries so traffic started up around 6am (and the Maltese love to use thir car horns), not so much of a problem if you didn't have to leave the windows open to keep cool.
The smallish TV seems to be glued into position inside a TV cabinet, not usually an issue but it doesn't actually face the sofa nor can you move the sofa without sending it down the stairwell to the kitchen, it ticks the boxes for being available but doesn't seem to be set up for the comfort of the users.

Overall this is an interesting space, the height restrictions are a feature of the original construction so can't be rectified, just be aware that its not a good fit for tall people. For me improvements are needed in the kitchen equipment, insect proofing and the entertainments package before it could be rated excellent, right now its about average.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
Dear Mark
thank you for your review - we’ll take your views into consideration. In fact we'll also be 'cushioning' the low part of the bathroom to avoid future accidents. Hope the head feels better.
Alison and Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantiagoO...
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful, quiet base in the old part of Valletta”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A truly beautiful place in the Old Town. Close to everything. Not touristy at all. Clean and well-equipped. A bit inconvenient to go down two flights of stairs to the washroom. However, all in all a wonderful experience. Very hospitalbe hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
Thank you Santiago. It was a pleasure to host you in our beloved Valletta G-House. Yes the washroom is a little bit inconvenient more modern days, but it's part of the 450 year history that's entrenched in the place. Hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing