We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

St. John's Co-Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.87*
and up
Valletta Walking Tour Including St. John’s Co-Cathedral
More Info
$47.42*
and up
Valletta - City of the Knights Half Day Tour
More Info
$55.72*
and up
Mosta Crafts Village Mdina and Valletta Full Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 89 things to do in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built between 1573 and 1577, this cathedral contains two masterpieces by Caravaggio.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Not happy with paying to visit a place of worship! Maybe a charge to see the famous painting by Carrivagio but not to enter the cathedral itself

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank amumwhocares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,601
    1,323
    231
    48
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We thought we were just heading into a cathedral for a short wander - how wrong we were! Almost an hour and a half passed, during which time our hand-held audio guide took us on a journey around one of the most amazing and beautiful buildings I have had the pleasure to visit. Leading on from the cathedral is the museum area and the highlight of the visit for me was the original "Beheading of John the Baptist" by Caravaggio. A treat not to be missed when in Valletta!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“A 'Must Do'”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

First place you should visit in Valletta. Spectacular. Great you can take photos ( no flash). Given handheld audio guide included in 6 euro price.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gaildevonshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Incredible cathedral, the detail, the gold, the paintings, especially two of Caravaggio's and the marble... . €6 to get in with headphones so not a bad deal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank huntinginthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not our bag ...”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

... but, if you like churches, this is very impressive. We liked the architecture (it would stand alone) but found the internal gilding and other ornamentation a bit OTT.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonington3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's Co-Cathedral also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to St. John's Co-Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing