We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Great location, roooms have excellent views. However this hotel is very tired and in need of refurbishment- the lifts ( when working) should be in a musuem, the rooms need re decorating, new furniture. The pool area is tired. The mens changing room/toilet was not tired- it was just very dirty and not maintained- not at all acceptable. The staff? Okay generally but 2 mornings I was told the pool was open for swimming from 0700 - it was still being cleaned both times at 07 45 & the staff at the pool were clearly not at all concerned about the customer.
There are no customer feedback facilities at this hotel which is in itself telling.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,955 - 1,961 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2007

Stayed in the Phoenicia in May mainly due to recommendations on Tripadvisor. The best thing about the hotel is the quiet under-stated service from all of the staff, nothing is ever too much trouble, they are all so polite and friendly. The location is very convenient and the walk into Valetta is only a matter of minutes, make sure to pick the right room with a view of the harbour. The rooms are small given the price of the hotel but adequate. Do try and get a room on the 3rd or 4th floors. We found on the 2nd floor the noise as the staff set up for breakfast early in the morning was intrusive as they drag chairs and tables across the tiled floors.
Valetta is very quiet we took pictures of the high street down town at 11pm on Friday and Saturday night and there is no-one in the picture. OK for us we wanted a relaxing break, but maybe not for younger couples / honeymooners etc.
The restaurant is excellent in terms of food and service but expensive, exactly twice the price of what you can expect to pay at a reasonable restaurant in town.
A good recommendation is a small restaurant called "The Office" excellent food and owned by a young Maltese couple, friendly service in a place popular with the locals. It's just down the street from the "The Pub" the place where Olly Reed passed out for the final time. Have to say I thought the Pub was a dreadful place not helped by a completely indifferent bar-man.
There also a restauarant come jazz bar in the main square, can't remember the name, owned by an awfully posh English lady. A nice combination of good food and live music.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

I stayed five nights at the Phoenicia in June 07. My overall experience was a quite good one.
The (standard) room was on the 3rd floor facing the central bus terminal. I never felt disturbed by the noise coming over from that place, particularly since only a few buses run after 10pm and it was anyway too hot to sleep with open windows (the air condition was working very well). The room was not very big, but quite comfortable and in a good condition. However, the standard in terms of furniture and equipment is not 5 star. A plus was the bathroom which was extraordinary big.
As for the service, the housekeeping was really excellent, checking everything three times a day. My experience with the other staff with mixed - upon arrival at 2 pm, my room was not yet ready and I had to wait for 1 hour. In the end, I had the impression they forgot about me. It should be possible to prepare a room in less than one hour...
The breakfast buffet provided for a good mix of hot and cold dishes. Service was OK, but not everybody was really attentive. The latter also goes for the reception staff.
The restaurant's terrace got a beautiful view towards the garden and the walls of Valletta. All other facilites looked alright and the garden and pool area was very nice. However the whole building looks a bit oversized from outside and does not unfold is beauty at first sight.

I would recommand this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in central Valletta and travel the island by bus. For that objective, the location is just perfect and the hotel is the best one in Valletta anyway. It might not be the right choice for everybody looking for a real luxury place or anykind of beach or fun holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Karl-Heinrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

What a lovely place. Graceful elegance,though perhaps a little tired in places. Got upgraded to a 4th floor superior room with a harbour view.......gorgeous.
Staff could not have been friendlier, or more helpful. However fell foul of the political and religious ramblings of the cocktail barman one night, for no good reason.
relaxing by the pool, good access to the city.
Top Tip....do not do the organised coach tours......go it alone with the local bus.......Boat trips on the other hand are excellent value.
Good local restaurants.....a trip to Mdina is a must.
Would definately go again to te Phoenicia.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lewisgrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We chose the Meridien Phoenicia, due to its excellent location next to Valetta historical center + private parking facility.

Rooms at the Meridien Phoenica are not that huge, but in a good state. Ours on the top 4th floor was composed of a regular room + a lounge with a nice view over City Gate and Grand Harbour.

The location and swimming pool area/gardens are the great assets of this hotel.
However elevators are rather “temperamental” and show their age.

Breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide choice and a good service.
We also had dinner once at the Pegasus restaurant which was fine. Expensive wine list, even for Maltese wines…
The Club Bar was also another good spot for drinks (at very reasonable prices this time).

On the negative side, I should say that sound insulation was not terrific. There are double windows, but not very recent ones, and the inner sound insulation was non-existent (sharing neighbour’s conversation), and enjoying the usual door slamming originating from the corridor.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank French
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We booked the Phoenicia last minute in an attempt to chase the sun! We've been to Malta before although some 10 years ago and just wanted a short break lazying around the pool, been close to the centre we hoped to take advantage of some shopping and strolling around.

Ok first the hotel - The Phoenicia commands a prime location right outside the main walled capital. 5 minutes walk places you right in the middle of town. The hotels main asset are its staff who are exceptionally helpful and friendly. The main facilities are fine with a very grand feeling to the whole place.(was cities first 5 star hotel way back) Its true that the hotel is in need of a refurb and once completed I'd say you'd struggle for a finer place to stay. The hotel has a great pool area which is reached via its extensive gardens, again this area could benefit with some updating, chairs/loungers etc. Rooms fine clean and good service from staff. Location - If your hoping for a lively med town forget it! with only 14 restaurants listed the town at night is dead. The complete opp to some of the alternatives such as St Jullians etc. Taxi's into St J etc are expensive and you can expect to add £30 to you night out. Would we go again - hmmm Yes but not to this hotel not until after referb. Going to check out SAS Rad at Golden Sands

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justgotback10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

The hotel was excellent, a peaceful, quiet, relaxing place. Our room had a view of the harbour which was well worth the extra. The facilities in the room were excellent and the air-conditioning was a welcome break to the heat of the sun outside. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The menus in the Phoenix restraunt were innovative and adventurous as well as delicious and well served. The pool was very clean and tidy and well maintained. The gardens were beautiful. The hotel is situated near to the gates of Valletta and there is an excellent bus system very close by, also taxis, horse cabs and a very quick water ferry to Sliema. It was our third time in Malta but our first at the Phoenicia. We will definitely return to the Phoenicia in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank floraerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
577 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: $140 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing