We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the staff makes it wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed May 3, 2007

we just returned form a lovely 5 night stay at the phoenicia . as prior revievers mentioned , the location cannot be beat .. but what really makes this hotel worthwhile is the staff . without exception, everyone we came in contact with, simply couldn't have been nicer and more helpful .

as for the star rating .. well.. i think the 5 stars are generous . however , this is reflected in a fair price.
our only misgivings were about a scratchy blanket on the bed and cheap bathroom tissue . actually , we didn't waste a second thought on either and those details would not keep us from staying here again .

the phoenicia offers plenty of charm, incredible views and slightly faded old world splendour but you won't find plasma screens and pretentious designer sinks in the bathroom.

anyone looking for a friendly , quiet , safe hotel in a fantastic location, for a reasonable price and who is happy with a comfortable room with a beautiful view that features "normal" ammenities (tv with lots of channels, coffee/teamaker, broadband access, quality toiletries, etc) will do well with the phoenicia .

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank spammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,244)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenicia Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,902 - 1,908 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2007

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is two minutes walk into Valletta to see the views from the Upper Barracca Gardens, the archaeology museum, Lascaris War museum, St John's Co-Cathedral and shops & restaurants.
I travelled with my three children aged 14, 12 and 11. We had two interconnecting rooms which I would class as 4 star, (maybe 5 star but faded). However, the pricing in contrast to the other 5 star hotels reflects this. If you are looking for lively night times, don't come here as it is very quiet in the evenings, (but you could easily get a taxi from Paceville back here for ML7, and you then don't get the late night revellers outside your window!).
We travelled all round the island very cheaply on the buses - the bus station is one minute from hotel, and most fares are 20c or 50c each way. The buses run quite frequently all over the island.

I would definitely return to this hotel again. We had breakfast here which was good, (the chef will make you omelettes etc on request) again, I would say a 4* breakfast rather than 5* but we ate so much for breakfast we didn't need lunch so it was obviously tasty! We ate out the rest of the time. (Fusion 4, 1st turning left in Valletta, then take 1st left was good and not expensive compared to the UK. - Ask to be outside on the bastion - and go see their museum of working figures!).

The swimming pool was several minutes walk from the hotel through lovely gardens, but worth the walk and with great views of the marina.

Stayed: April 2007
6  Thank PatRBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

Hotel has good location just at the entrance of Valetta.

service what you would expect - food the same

The problem is that the hotel is marketing itself as a traditional hotel and charges same price as other five star hotels while all the furinture is more than dated and used and in plain text also cheap. It is unbelevable but despite the price tag and all the past grandeur the quality of the lobby, rooms and communal areas this gives you the feeling of being in a three star pension 9and I am not really exagerating...).

Should you still book this hotel just be aware that the price is equal to other prime hotels like hilton/westin etc. but just not comparable at all. The location also does justify a higher price since valetta is compeletely dead with no real restaurants in town ...

you can get much better in being at hilton/ westin or meredien for the same price and with modern SPAs and other ammneties that that you would expect in a decent five star hotel

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank peter3franz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

Le Meridien,Valetta,Malta. 6 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pfGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Just back from a 7 night stay at the Phoenicia and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The hotel has first class staff and the service is second to none. It is an old hotel but the rooms are spacious, the bar, lounge and restaurant take you back in time - very olde world. Breakfast has everything you could wish for from freshly squeezed orange juice to omelettes made to order with choice of fillings. The pool area is lovely with great views and the walk to the pool - a nice stroll after breakfast!
The bus station outside the hotel is very handy, you can go anywhere on the island for 25c. Mdina was my favourite. Valletta was delightful with narrow streets and amazing balconies - a must is St Johns Co-Cathedral on Republic Street then relax and have a coffee st Cafe Cordone. Matala restaurant on Palace Square I can't recommend highly enough, quite expensive £25 for 3 courses with wine - but worth a visit. Hotel Castille rooftop restaurant worth it just for the views . Portopalo in Sliema ( bus 63) was excellent, we ate there 4 nights out of our 7 night stay.
All in all a great holiday with lots of memories.

Stayed: February 2007
12  Thank cazza-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January 2007.We would echo the sentiments of others on this website - great location, lovely old world hotel etc. etc. Accomodation was spacious and well-appointed (in an old-fashiioned way). Gardens were lovely for a short walk, especially at night. Pool was shut for refurbishment. View from room balcony on 4th view was very pleasant. Breakfast provided an excellent variety of food and drinks.
This is an ideal hotel from which to explore Valetta and the rest of Malta. Frequent buses to everywhere from the front of the hotel, and just a few pence each journey. It made it all very easy to get around.
Valletta is a lovely old city, just a very short walk away but dead in the evening (at least it is in January!). Not a city for young people which perhaps made it a bit more attractive for us (mid-50's couple). Overall, a lovely short break.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

The title says it all really. The Phoenicia ticked all the boxes. The service staff really were EXCELLENT. We made use of the busses on the doorstep too. You won't do better for a stay in Valletta.

Down sides?

Well there was no apparent internet - surely a must for a hotel these days.

The (outdoor) pools were about 1/2 km from the hotel and I'd have had no more energy to swim as well after the walk. No, really! But it was a beautiful walk through the hotel gardens to get there, and there is a crazy golf course, petanque and other games available - surely lovely in the summer.

It is a 5 star hotel, but slightly faded glory. Everything worked, and it was all spotlesly clean, but don't expect modern 5* decor (I prefered it that way anyway, but appreciate that not everyone would).

We didn't eat at the hotel as we tend not to, but can highly recommend eating at Ambrosia or for a rustic, hearty meal go to Legligin on St Lucy St.

And really do not miss the Hypogeum! It is incredible! They only take about 70 visitors a day, so you need to book on-line weeks in advance. It was well worth it though.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ontheqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestmaltaadvice, General Manager - Ben Sington at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2007

I would like to thank the guest for his comments. I wanted to correct one point - the hotel does have internet. In fact there is a very efficient high speed internet service in the bedrooms where guests can plug in and play with their own laptop via a customised point on the desk. There is a fee for 24 hr usage. Alternatively there is a business centre next to reception with High Speed Internet Access computer. Cards can be purchased from reception.

Hope this clarifies for other readers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,061 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: $147 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing