We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hotel to fall in love with.......and visit time and again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We enjoy travel and take several breaks each year to new destinations but we have been visiting The Phoenicia regularly each June for many years.......we went first to explore Malta's many historic sights and enjoy its superb climate. We now return each year in order to stay at The Phoenicia - to get away from our hectic working lives and take time to relax and recharge our batteries .
The Phoenicia, which is one of our favourite hotels in the world, is a welcoming five star hotel which has much to offer the discerning traveller seeking to escape to a haven of peace and quiet. It 's location just minutes from the entrance to Valletta, the island's capital which is a world heritage site, and also the main bus station, is ideal for those wanting to explore Malta's rich heritage.
But although the hotel is at the heart of the popular island, once through the hotel's main doors residents find a cool haven of peace and tranqulity. The staff are its biggest asset, always being warm and friendly and ready to help in any way. Many have been at the hotel for a long time, helping to give it a family-run atmosphere and all seem to be proud to work at The Phoenicia which has a special place in Malta's history.
The hotel's Palm Court Lounge and main restaurant have recently been refurbished and both now look even more inviting. The work has been done with imagination, with the impressive new look in keeping with the hotel's colonial character which is one of its biggest charms. The bedrooms on the third and fourth floors have also been tastefully refurbished and among the new features is flat screen televisions. The first and second floors are due to be done this winter.
The hotel's 'secret garden' at the rear is a must see.....it is full of colourful blooms and a joy to explore on a summer's day - or in the evening when it smells fantastic. The pool is at the end of the garden, hidden from the rest of the hotel, and is a real discovery for first time visitors. The pool area is large with shady areas, a bar and poolside cafe. There are plenty of comfortable loungers for sun worshippers and the views of the harbour are fantastic. But most of all it never feels crowded!
We have no hestitation in recommending this superb hotel and am sure new visitors will find it as appealing as we do.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKPaulEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesGM, General Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2009

Thank you for your numerous positive comments about the Phoenicia. It is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our refurbishment to your liking. It is extremely important for us that the changes we are doing appeal to our guests, especially such loyal guests like yourself.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next June.

Kind Regards,
Charles Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

Had a very enjoyable stay at the end of June We stayed on the 3rd floor which has recently been refurbished and the room was lovely.Excellent friendly staff.We hired a car and found travelling not as bad as many people say it is.If you avoid rush hours the roads are very quiet.Do not travel at night as the direction signs are not lit up and it is very difficult to work out what road or turn- off to take.Best restaurant we found was Giannini in Valletta.Book a terrace table for a fantastic view.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesGM, General Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2009

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. Your positive comments about the staff were greatly appreciated by all.

You are right, driving on the island is not so bad once you get used to it. It is an advantage that we drive on the same side of the road as in the UK !

In closing, I truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Kind Regards,
Charles Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed at he Phoenicia on our honeymoon. We emailed the hotel before arriving and found a card from the manager and bottle of sparkling wine in our room on arrival. This was a nice touch and appreciated.

The hotel is elegant. The gardens are beautiful and extensive and the pool has magnificent views over one of the harbours. It was also ideally located for Valletta and for local buses which we used extensively during our stay to get around the island. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesGM, General Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2009

Thank you for your review and your comments about the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our gardeners were overjoyed with your comments about the garden and the beautiful photos you posted. It is their pride and joy and they tend the gardens with a passion so they are very happy when their hard work is appreciated.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Phoenicia.

Kind Regards,
Charles Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

The Irish investors who have taken over this grand hotel which looms over the landward approach to Valletta are doing a splendid job in renovating it. I was worried by reports last year about the impact of the work but was assured that it would be finished by the time we visited. In fact, the work has paused. The public rooms on the ground floor, including the splendid vaulted Palm Court, and the bedrooms on the top two floors have been done and they hope to modernise the bedrooms on the first and second floors next year.

We had a room on the top floor overlooking the Grand Harbour. It was not the biggest hotel room I've stayed in - the bathroom in particular was small by modern standards - but it was well-appointed and very comfortable. What makes this hotel really stand is its first class service, supremely efficient but relaxed and friendly.

The options for eating and drinking are wide. The main restaurant has an open-air terrace and serves excellent breakfasts. There is an informal modern bistro, which has won awards in the local restaurant guide. The Palm Court serves snacks all day and does proper afternoon tea and the cafe by the pool offers a range of food including good pizzas. The pool area is delightful, with lots of shade for those who want it.

We only went to Malta because we were invited to a wedding on the island but we shall be going back again soon and this hotel is an important factor in this.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianewestt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesGM, General Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Phoenicia. We are happy that the new look of the hotel is to your liking.

On behalf of the staff I would like to thank you for your kind comments about the service. Such feedback is very motivating and encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Charles Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Our last trip to the Phoenicia was last Christmas. It is a lovely time to be in Malta and the hotel was absolutely superb as usual. The management & staff make your stay a joy. The food is excellent and varied to suit every taste. You may also make special requests to the chef should there be a special occasion or culinary whim.
The hotel is in the process of receiving a 'facelift' and this has been skillfully designed to modernize without loosing the gracious character and comfort of the building.
The Phoenicia is a hotel where guests return year after year. the standard is consistently good and inviting.
We have already booked our next stay in the Phoenicia and we are keenly anticipating our holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unispaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

It's rare I miss a hotel the instant I check out but that's the effect the Phoenicia had on me. My stay there was six days of bliss and comfort. The atmosphere is welcoming and hospitable. The staff are attentive but not invasive. There are no pretentions when it comes to dress code, as is the case with many other five star hotels and the facilities are superb. I was particularly taken by the colonial style club bar, reminiscent of a bygone era and the swimming pool with its panoramic view of the port of Valetta. I can't recommend it enough and I'm sure you'r stay there will be as memorable as mine.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Have been to this hotel every year for the past 10 years and I still cannopt fault the wonderful holidays we have here. The staff are like our family, you could not be made more welcome in this wonderful hotel.
Dinner and breakfast are very relaxed and nothing is too much trouble for the staff there if you need anything. Food is of high standard and the bar is very intimate yet relaxing in the evening after your meal.
The staff make this hotel even more special as they are simply wonderful. We will continue to go every year and have already booked our next trip for sept 2009. 10/10

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesGM, General Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2009

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff at the Phoenicia, I would like to thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Kind Regards,
Charles Azzopardi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
577 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: $140 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing