We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last of summer sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phoenicia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Last of summer sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We spent a long weekend at the hotel for the bank holiday. The pre arrangements were smooth and well communicated and we arrived to our transfer, a speedy check in and our pre-ordered champagne. The hotel is an historic style building but the bedrooms are very modern, well appointed, good bathrooms and free wifi. There are also in room safes, mini bars and plenty of hanging space. Reasonable toiletries, no conditioner or body lotions though so you might want to pack your own.

The staff were very helpful though out our stay both in the bars and restaurants and reception and concierge.

The inclusive breakfast had hot and cold selections including a cook to order omelette station and drinks included a wide choice of juices, fruit teas, coffee and prosecco. The in house restaurant was good, one a la carte one buffet. Though I don't see Malta as a gourmet destination there were some reasonable foods on offer. At the pool which is a short walk through the gardens the team served afternoon fresh fruit like water melon. There is also unusually a hotel veg garden and crazy golf courses the grounds. The pool is a walk away but once there there is everything you need including immaculate toilets / showers, a bar, restaurant, wifi oh and a pretty good view.

There also a small shop and tour desk in the hotel, and on weekends live music and dancing last night tango class which was nice to watch.

It was 31 degrees when we visited so a bit hot for site seeing though the sites are very accessible. I would recommend the hotel to others , during our visit there were fiestas on which meant pretty constant fireworks / cannons. It could be seen from the balcony of the hotel terrace which was a nice way to round off the evening.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cconta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear cconta,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled that we were able to provide you with excellent accommodations and great service to make your trip in Malta all the more enjoyable.

We are grateful for your high recommendation of our Hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    635
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
1,357
111
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great location at the gate of Valletta. Friendly staff, tidy rooms and excellent breakfast. Great pool, it is a pity that the pool bar closes at around 19:30. Free WiFi works outstanding in the entire hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rudi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Rudi D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Phoenicia on Trip Advisor. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Although excellent in quality of food, cleanliness & facilities in room and central location for Valletta, I do think that the least the hotel could do is to provide free bottled water in the room especially during exceptionally hot weather, and when the tap water is not drinkable.

If I were living in Malta, I think I would be putting pressure on politicians to massively raise taxes on fireworks. Kids set off fireworks throughout the day as well as night, right up till 11pm. Everyone likes a bit a high spirit, especially us but fireworks continually throughout the day & night is unbearable.

Room Tip: Choose Harbour view, but stipulate second floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Phil J,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Phoenicia with the travel community, I am pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our facilities and services to your satisfaction.

A bottle of water is supplied to all our guests upon arrival. Water is also made available to our guests in the minibar which is replenished daily and through room service.

I am quite surprised to read your comments about Fireworks. Fireworks are a local tradition and highly sought by Maltese and Foreigners alike. Our village festas are a highlight throughout Summer and one of the major attractions of them is in fact the fireworks.

I thank you for your feedback and hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The Staff and very efficient and extremely pleasant. I thought I was going to get a basic single room but I had a double bed in quite a large room. Breakfast was brilliant with everything you could wish for, including a hot food room where the chef would cook eggs however you wanted. The hotel and the rooms are kept very clean and tidy.
Its just unfortunate that I was only staying for four nights and didn't get time to investigate the pool area or the gardens.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juleRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear juleRochdale,

It’s great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel facilities and services were to your satisfaction.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

A very nice, relaxing hotel. Great location, with friendly, well trained and efficient staff. My room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, with good view. Bottles of water, replenished each day, were a nice touch as it was very hot while I was there. Breakfast was good - I loved being able to get fresh cooked eggs - and well priced if included in the booking. The terrace was lovely and the food was good. The pool area was also great, although the water was warm as it is in sunshine all day - again, very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear PhilippaG,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us, with other Trip Advisor users. It’s good to know that your stay was overall a pleasant and relaxing experience.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

I can only echo the views of all the other comments on here that have praised this hotel. We (a family of four) have just enjoyed a very pleasant week in the Phoenicia.

We were on a bed and breakfast package and were delighted with the standard of the breakfasts. The rooms were very comfortable, the atmosphere of the hotel was calm and relaxing and the pool area was peaceful and private. Above all however, all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Combine all the above with a very convenient location for exploring Valletta itself and the rest of the island and it all adds up to a very enjoyable holiday.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chappers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Chappers0,

Thank you for sharing you feedback with travel community! It’s great to know that your stay with us was an enjoyable experience and that you found the hotel location convenient to your needs. We highly appreciate your comments particularly those about our team members.

We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Experience varies, but personally this is the best experience I have had in a hotel. I stayed there in June 2014, with my family (2 young kids). The overall hotel location is great (although quite crowded), the services are top notch, garden beautiful and greatly laid out, rooms are OK (I picked the basic one), clean. The highlight of my stay though was really in the staff, which is beyond helpful and kind. We had quite a bit of luggage and the concierge was really awesome, the room wasn't ready when we arrived which didn't bothered me, and I was offered a coffee and my kids some juice. The staff in the restaurant was awesome, food really good, and we had the chance to be there for special event with a famous guitar player, and really enjoyed it. The swimming pool staff was admirable too (not to mention the swimming pool location). So overall I will definitely go back without ANY hesitation when I am back in Malta,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiss1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear wiss1976,

Thank you for the excellent review! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us, and that you found our location, facilities and especially the staff to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Property: Hotel Phoenicia
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing