We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the place for a short break.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Phoenicia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
ThetaSigma
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just the place for a short break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I went back for a short stay to relax after a busy spring. Malta in spring is much like England in summer, except that the temperature drop at night was only a few degrees; wind permitting, short sleeves are quite reasonable, while the sun lacks its midsummer ferocity and the mosquitoes don’t seem to be about yet. In short, there’s nothing significant wrong, and so much that’s just right!

The service at the Phoenicia remains as good as on our previous visit; there are a few new hands, who are still learning the art to the high standard the place sets, especially so early in the season. The breakfasts remain excellent, while the restaurant menu seemed to vary somewhat in its creativity, though everything we sampled remained of very good quality – missing a course is missing a treat, so bring an appetite each evening! However, it is worth noting that with simple choices the a la carte menu can work out slightly cheaper than the table d’hote, even over three courses.
The hotel restaurant also faces increasing competition; there are more restaurants to be found in Valletta, and the best of these are very good, though the hotel restaurant offers comparable value, so prospecting of an evening can be rewarding indeed, though there is no need to go out if you don’t feel like it.
The Phoenicia is a grand old lady among hotels, which is to say that it has just enough dignity to feel special without being stuffy. The bathroom fittings are veterans, but they work just fine – the shower in our room was a bathtap mixer, which would normally fill me with foreboding, but proved surprisingly easy to balance and commendably vigorous. It may not be all gleaming chrome and glass, but it does all work as you’d hope (and we greatly prefer this approach to rooms with modern showers, peculiar taps and no bathtub!).
The gardens leading down to the pool are still lovely, and evidently well-cared for with some replanting going on.
Note: the free wifi is described as being only in the lounge, but was also accessible in our room – a very welcome development which shows how seriously the quality of service is taken here – certain other hotels feel free to take note – charging for wifi is definitely out!

The afternoon tea we had was good, but the pattisserie was distinctly varied; the scones were okay, the apricot frangipane was phenomenal, but several of the other items were a bit dry, bland, or both. A little excess of experimentation, perhaps?

Unless I’m mistaken, the pool snack bar menu has shrunk; they no longer seem to do pizzas, but what they do remains good (the tuna ftira was excellent), and entirely adequate between the substantial delights of the breakfast and evening selections (and if you can get an excess of any cuisine in Malta, it’s pizza, so we missed it only because it used to be so good!). Also note that, while the pool bar does a fine range of non-alcoholic drinks and smoothies, even the “mocktails” are noticeably and surprisingly absent from the main hotel bar menu. That said, when my wife requested something of the kind, she was given an impressive fruit juice cocktail, with garnish - Carmen Miranda in a glass!

This exemplifies the helpful service, as does the seamless organisation of transfers and activities which the concierge was kind enough to coordinate for us before we even arrived. It is this combination of service, food and civilisation which makes a stay at the Phoenicia relaxing and unforgettable.

Room Tip: Only the first and second floor rooms have balconies; the higher floors have longer views, but a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThetaSigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear ThetaSigma,

Thank you for such a detailed review of your experience at the Phoenicia. I am so happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have been able to meet your expectations. Your comments are highly appreciated.

I look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    636
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
1,357
111
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Before talking about the hotel itself, I have to congratulate the management on having such friendly and helpful staff : from the concierge, housekeeper, bar men and receptionists, somone was always on hand to provide the information or help we needed.
We had a corner room with a balcony on each side - when the sun was too strong on one side we could sit in the shade on the other balcony - very pleasant, especially in the mornings.
The kingsize bed was very comfortable and the room was of a reasonable size and furnished in a simple style and had sufficient hanging and drawer space for our one week stay. In the bathroom there was a long shelf - very convenient for spreading out our everyday necessities, and one small but most important point the hot water was hot immediately, which is not the case in all hôtels.
The choice at the breakfast buffet was one of the best we had ever seen : from the hot buffet room supplying the full English breakfast to the cold buffet including all the usuals as well as Maltese specialities and home-made cakes.
We didn't eat in the restaurants but we did have some good snacks in the Palm Court lounge, which has a quiet relaxing atmosphere.
The gardens are just beautiful and it's a real pleasure to stroll around them.
Last but by no means least, is the location of the hotel - on Valletta's doorstep with buses and taxis just outside and even the Hop On/Hop Off buses stop in front of the hotel.
If in Valletta this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (away from the noise of the buses early morning)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizzyMEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear LizzyMEB,

It was great to read your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you felt the team were all very helpful. I will surely share your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Perhaps the most important thing here - you will get a good night's sleep. My fourth floor room facing the harbor was dead quiet all day and night; the blackout curtains were very effective; and the pillow and bed were exceedingly comfortable. Next most important - the location, which is right outside the Valletta city gate, and right next to the terminus for the buses that are the most effective way to get around the island. Additionally, the showers were very good, the grounds pretty, and the staff friendly. The one thing the hotel gets wrong is the disappointing decor in the rooms - they're generic and dull enough to look like something you'd find in an airport Sheraton, not a luxury European hotel. But, aesthetics aside, this is a really good place to stay in Malta.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmoryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear AmoryB,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and that you found most of our services to your satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Malta in the future.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

What a cracking location for a hotel. Had a fantastic week here, staff were excellent if not a little slow with coffee in the mornings (simple solution...ask for your own pot). The concierge was a great guy, knew all the best places to eat, listen to him, he knows what he's talking about. The rooms are ok, bit tired perhaps but perfect for what you need them for, although I must mention the bed and the pillows.....PERFECT, comfiest I've slept on in years! The gardens were outstanding, what a beautiful setting for a walk......leading you finally to the pool area, simply perfect! What a great space with am AMAZING views of Malta harbour!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandyfyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Mandyfyfe,

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your trip to Malta! It’s great that the hotel was conveniently located to all your points of interest and that you enjoyed comfort of our rooms. I appreciate your comments, particularly those about our team members.
I hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We first came to the Phoenicia in November last year and enjoyed it very much. In a way we were rather 'spoiled' that time, because we had room 321, with a great view of the harbour and the gardens (and, to the right hand side, the building works on the fortifications). This time we were rather dismayed on arriving to find that room 430 looked straight out at the fortifications and that the bus station was also in full view. It turned out, I think, that when we booked, a few weeks earlier, all the better harbour view rooms had already been booked. Anyway, although initially disappointed, we were quite surprised that we could happily sleep with the sliding glass door onto the 'juliet balcony' open all night, with only the very occasional loud noise from the building works or the bus station.

This time, unlike November, we were able to enjoy the lovely pool and the pool bar. (The toilets there aren't SO bad - at least in the gents, which were the only ones I looked at!) Bar staff were fun (Pierre in the cocktail lounge and the impressive bottle juggling Latvian guy by the pool. I won't add anything to all the other comments about the great bus service etc. but I would say that the Hypogeum was a great disappointment the last time we visited (and outrageously expensive for last minute bookers). Even worse, we went there on a Sunday when the only bar that was open was a good half mile from the catacombs - and not the nicest place to spend time!

Finally, though, another great 'thank you' to Neville Cardona, who - last time - checked us in and printed our Air Malta boarding passes. This time there was a problem, but he was kind enough to email AIr Malta and secured the seats we wanted. Excellent service!

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are at a premium price. Some balcony rooms are still rather dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear RobfromKensington,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Phoenicia again during your visit to Malta, and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users.

I am sorry that you were not happy with the room allocated to you. For your visit last year you had booked a Harbour View room whereas this time the booking was for an executive room. The harbour view rooms are our bestselling rooms and these are the first to sell out. We would have gladly moved you to a harbour view room had we one available, however we were running at very high occupancy levels and all Harbour View Rooms were booked.

I would like to thank you for your comments about the staff these were greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the staff concerned.

I do hope will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here some years ago, not long after its new Irish owners had enthusiastically set about restoring this faded gem to its former glory. Their impetus seems to have waned a little - our room this time had just been refurbished quite nicely but that had not included the bathroom, which was a little tired, or the corridors. Nevertheless, this remains an excellent hotel, by virtue of its perfect position just outside the city, its great facilities (including a lovely pool area) and high quality service. I would not consider staying anywhere else on Malta.

Room Tip: The views are great (especially on the harbour side) so I would recommend rooms on the first and sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianewestt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Janewestt,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia with other Trip Advisor users. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have found our location, ambiance and service to your satisfaction.
I appreciate your feedback and comments as these will help us improve on you standards of quality and service.
I do hope we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again, for your third visit.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Phoencia for 3 nights -we very much enjoyed the location- just outside the walled old city of Valletta. Also, right outside the hotel is a major bus turnaround as well as taxis stands and the hop on hop off tourist buses stop here-so a great location to see Malta from. You don't need a car as its a perfect base for seeing Valetta and surroundings on foot, by short ferry rides or bus.

The hotel is an older style hotel, elegant lobby, lovely garden and outdoor pool. Staff were uniformly pleasant. We didn't try the afternoon tea-but I would have liked to - as it was a lovely room.

On check-in they noted we hadn't booked breakfast and offered us the discounted rate- we took this for the 3 days- it was a good idea- as there wasn't much close for breakfast and the breakfast was extensive and worth it. Made to order eggs, lots of cold and hot items- all very good- my only minor complaint is the coffee wasn't particularly good ( in fact I didn't find a good coffee in Valetta at all-except for the one at the coffee place at the airport).

One minor concern was the travel desk, where the person claimed to be able to get us tickets to the Hypogeum - I had tried online and they had been booked 6 weeks in advance -- she promised us tickets at a premium price- we paid and then she didn't come through and had to refund us- we got our money back no problem, but were a bit annoyed by the whole thing- as she shouldn't have claimed to have the tickets in the first place- in that quality of hotel, they should be more careful of which travel companies are allowed to man their tourist desk.

Room was spacious-we didn't have a view-but we were not in the room until well after dark anyway.The bathrooms are older style- shower in the bathtub- but everything worked. Bed was very comfortable, temperature control in the room worked very well.

One thing that surprised us was that there was a sign in the bathroom telling us not to drink the water, yet none was provided (except at 4.50 Euro for a tiny bottle in the minibar- which was overpriced, especially since you can get 1.5 liter for 1.5 Euro around the corner from the hotel. They do however provide you with a kettle to boil the water and cups and instant coffee and tea bags-The water isn't actually unfit for drinking-its perfectly safe- it just doesn't taste good- as it is obtained by reverse osmosis from sea water and then heavily chlorinated- so it was best to make tea with bottled water otherwise it didn't taste very good.

All in all for the price we paid through Expedia I think this was a great location, nice staff, great breakfast and nice large comfortable room.

Room Tip: We didn't ask for a view- but they have some rooms with balconies that might be nice Also, if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear TW53,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience at the Phoenicia. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet your expectations in most aspects of your stay.

As you rightly pointed out the tour desk is managed by a third party however we still insist on a level of service in line with that expected from our hotel. We have discuss this with them in order to avoid such incidents in the future. I am pleased however that our staff managed to rectify the situation immediately.

With regards to the tap water, this is potable water which can safely be used with our tea and coffee facilities in the room. We do however provide all guests with a complimentary bottle of water on arrival. I apologise if this was not available in your room on you arrival day.

I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Property: Hotel Phoenicia
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing