We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenicia Malta
Nearby Hotels
$247
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Falconeria(Valletta)
$264
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
$215
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$165
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$335
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais Le Brun(Valletta)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,430)
Filter reviews
2,430 results
Traveler rating
1,476
695
181
55
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,476
695
181
55
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub barthe palm courtphoenix restaurantthe businfinity poolgrand old ladyold world charmpublic roomselegant hotelmain restaurantold stylecity gatea harbour view roomstar hotelbuilding workmain gatewithout exception
Filter
Updating list...
878 - 883 of 2,430 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Location: What especially recommends this venerable, elegant hotel is its location: right at the start of the main street in Valetta, steps from a number of sites (including the Co-Cathedral of St. John), and across the street from the main bus terminus, where for 1.5 euros you can get a ticket that entitles you to ride the buses all day. In fact, the bus system itself is very easy to use, clean, efficient, and a great way to see a bit more of Malta than more direct and much more expensive cabs. We were even going to take the express bus back to the airport because it stops just across from the hotel, but decided on a cab because we were tight on time. In addition, if you’re interested in taking either the south or north “hop-on/hop-off” tours of Malta, those buses are accessed next to the hotel. Just toward the main street and across from the bus terminus there are also a number of stands selling all sorts of drinks and interesting Maltese street food, as well as hats and caps (essential for blocking the sun), t-shirts, and souvenirs.

The Hotel:The exterior of the hotel is beautiful and regal, with a colonial feel, surrounded by grass and palm trees, and behind there are extensive private gardens that lead down to a large pool and bar. Along the way there’s a minigolf area nestled into the trees and cacti. A small terrace hidden along the route opens onto spectacular views of a bay where enormous yachts dock. The interior of the hotel has an updated colonial feel, with a huge circular bar area surrounded by sofas and chairs. Our double room was spacious enough, with a very comfortable bed and large tiled bathroom, and excellent air conditioning (at times almost too cold—had to adjust it). There’s a safe just large enough for a small laptop; a minibar fridge just large enough to rearrange some things and get a bottle of prosecco in to chill; TV; coffee and tea service; a trouser press; bathrobes; and the usual bathroom amenities. A quick walk down the main street in Valetta yields many stores, including some (such as Wembley’s) that sell snacks, gourmet foods, and wines starting from a few euros.

Suggestions: Two small recommendations, first for the owners: the elegant bathroom with soaker tub could use some grout work (clean and whiten it). And for guests: request a room with a balcony. We were given a third-floor room with a sliding window that could be opened to a very nice view of the bay, but there was no way to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine in the room. The staff are friendly and the concierges very helpful. Internet service is good. As we did not dine at the Phoenicia, we have no comments about the food. There are many restaurants nearby, but try especially Rampilla, just a few minutes away and tucked into the massive bastions surrounding Valetta (see separate review), or Guze Bistro, a terrific little place about ten minutes walk from the hotel (also separately reviewed). The cost for a double room for three nights was around $575 euros including VAT tax. Breakfast was an additional 15 euros per person. We skipped it and bought croissants elsewhere for a couple of euros.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DoctorCompRhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear DoctorCompRhet,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review about your stay at the Phoenicia, I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and found our service, ambiance and location to your liking.

I do hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

OK this is a place for a treat, it is not cheap but in my opinion value for money.
It is a grand opulent hotel steeped in history and a few seconds walk from the heart of Valletta.

The main entrance which is pretty dull, hides a massive expanse of beautiful well maintained gardens,which lead to a stunning pool area where you forget you are in the middle of a capital city.
The Bar area is out of a film set and oozes charm of a bygone era.
The restaurants looked amazing but I did not eat there due to budget restrictions,but I did hear very good comments.
I recommend this establishment as a place for a treat and total relaxation, it may not be the cheapest but It is very close to the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FirmfriendsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear FilmFriendsLondon,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience. Great to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were not disappointed. We thank you for your recommendations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

A very grand hotel located in the heart of Valetta so very close to the shops, tourist attactions and the harbour. The main bus termius which has great connections to other towns such as Silema is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

All of the staff right from the front desk to the concierge, cleaning staff and the resturant personel were friendly, courteous and professional and delivered first class service and were always willing to go the extra mile to help us.

The standard of food for breakfast (choice of continental and/or full English buffet) and on the one occaision that we had dinner/buffet was outstanding.

Room was clean and spacious and although our room was standard we had an adequate number of 'personal touches' such as slippers, dressing gowns, large flat screen tv plus free and good quality internet connection throught the hotel.

In summary we would have no hesitation coming back to this hotel based on this experience and there were no negatives for us at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Norton G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I was really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations in terms of facilities and specially the service we provided.

We look forward to welcome you again to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014


Top location, grounds, pool, staff, breakfast. Comfortable bed in a fair sized room. Would use again.

This is so close to Valetta which is a city jewel in itself, you are spoiled for choice for stunning destinations within level walking.

Then we have the proximity to the bus station about 4 minutes away. Just buy a one day ticket for €1.50 which lasts for any buses all day. Unbelievable.

Dined just one meal here and was the Sunday buffet. More choice than you could shake a spoon at.

Used the services of the knowledgable concierge to book a harbour cruise which was cheaper than we could have done it - and door to door service!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear bandp2,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenicia!

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you want to be in the centre of things rather than lazing on a pool-side sun-lounger then Hotel Phoenicia is the place to stay. It has been described as 'old-style colonial' and, certainly, it is very grand, outside and in. According to taste, visitors might find the décor somewhat overwhelming, but the public spaces are cool and very roomy. We had booked a 'Harbour View' room and would certainly recommend that. Such an upgrade (actually on Floor 4) with commanding views across Grand Harbour and, because of its corner aspect in the building, across Pieta Creek too. Make sure that the internal sliding windows are firmly closed when you want air conditioning otherwise it will not work no matter what you do with the switch.
Room service of every description was available, but, on half-board we dined in the Phoenix Restaurant where the service was efficient and friendly. A huge choice buffet breakfast, however, tended to be a bit of a scrum and the service was not so slick.
We enjoyed several conversations with the knowledgeable front-of-house staff and a problem we had with the afore-mentioned air-conditioning switch was solved immediately.
Hotel Phoenicia is very good, but not perfect and during our stay let itself down with a few minor aberrations. Its location made up for those easily: no distance at all to Valletta's main gate; only yards to the central bus station from where visitors can travel the island, efficiently, comfortably and at little cost. We like Malta very much and Hotel Phoenicia could very well accommodate us on a return visit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the higher floors allow cooling air flow during the day.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldiePlymouth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear OldiePlymouth_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us.

I hope that we do have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the near future.

Kindest regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews