We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay in a quiet, elegant hotel with pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“An enjoyable stay in a quiet, elegant hotel with pleasant staff”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Phoenicia on our first trip to Malta. We both enjoyed our stay in this elegant 20's style hotel very much. The hotel is close to the centre of Valletta but situated in lovely gardens. Even though we stayed in November, we were able to make use of the outdoor swimming pool located in the gardens. For the first two nights we stayed in a really lovely room at the front of the building with traditional tiled floors and balconies. Unfortunately, we found this room noisy because of the hotel's proximity to the bus station, but staff were very helpful in arranging a quieter room, although this one was in a more contemporary style. We stayed for a week and found that most evenings there was some music, such as a pianist or a guitarist, and one evening people were dancing the Tango. The breakfasts were excellent and we enjoyed the meals we had there. We both have very pleasant memories of our stay in this Maltese hotel.

Room Tip: Some balcony rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy so ask for a quiet room and also you may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear ElaineT,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Phoenicia, and I thank you for posting a review about us. It was a pleasure to read that every aspect of your stay, from our location to your room and probably most importantly our service, where up to your expectations and I only hope you will return very soon.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    653
    168
    53
    22
See reviews for
248
1,404
114
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Made to feel welcome. Our fourth floor harbour view room did not smell fresh and on reporting the fact, we were immediately moved to a third floor harbour view room, which was excellent. We were on half board and found the breakfast and dinners to be good. The staff were friendly,polite and provided a good service. Unfortunately the mixed weather prevented us from making use of the swimming pool and gardens. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the hotel and will be more than happy to return at some future time.

Room Tip: The harbour view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob10353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Bob10353,

Thank you so much for your such a nice review, I am so happy to learn that your have enjoyed your stay with us and even more so, to learn that you would be coming back here during your next visit to Malta.

I look forward to welcoming you back,

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have stayed here many times and I really like this hotel. It is relatively quiet, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is good. It is close to Valletta, which is 5 minutes walk away. The gardens are extensive. It is not like 5 star hotels in London or Paris and for me it has a certain charm. This year I also stayed at the Meridien in St. Julian's and the Grand Excelsior. I much prefer the Phoenicia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear David C,

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at the Phoenicia. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Hotel Phoenicia.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Phoenicia on business and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel is elegant and comfortable, and the gardens and swimming pool are wonderful - quiet, no thumping music, no screaming kids. The pool is accessed by means of a walk though lovely gardens, which provide reasonably good insulation, as hotel is bracketed by several busy roads.
The hotel's guests at this time of year are mostly middle-aged and elderly couples from the UK and this makes for a really pleasant stay if you are looking for peace and tranquility. There was building work in progress on the city wall nearby (part of the general redevelopment of the area) but I assume this will be finished eventually and it wasn't going on in the late afternoons or early morning which is when i had the time to visit the pool.
The hotel suffers from the usual problem - free wifi only in the lobby - but this is unfortunately common in large hotels. (see other reviews on this). The hotel is used for functions which tends to interfere with the guests comfort levels and makes work or quiet conversation impossible in the lobby or on the terrace when a function is on
The restaurant has a lovely terrace which was oversubscribed in the mornings - go either early or late to get a table. The staff were very helpful and polite. The food on offer is ok but could be better quality and value, given the overall standard of the hotel. The Brasserie food was better than the big restaurant.
I didn't experience any of the problems described in some of the other reviewers, and I assume that the hotel suffers from uneven provision and that some rooms have remained unrefurbished. I asked to change the room when I arrived as it was noisy when the window was open and was given another room, of the same standard on the same floor which was far quieter.
The hotel may have some untapped potential, but I enjoyed my stay and was grateful for the peace and quiet, and the good service the hotel offered.

Room Tip: overlooking the gardens is the obvious choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Voyagemore,

Thank you for taking the time to write review of your recent stay with us! Your wonderful comments are greatly appreciated and will serve as a wonderful motivator for our team.
Sorry to hear you had a few minor issues, we highly appreciate you feedback and we will surely use it as a learning opportunity.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked an "Executive Harbour View Suite" 5 months ago as we particularly wanted a suite on the second floor (with balconies) as we were aware that the suites were immediately over the bar.On arrival we were told that we had to have the first floor.When we got to the suite we found that the only resemblance to the photos and description on the website was that it had 2 rooms and the balconies we wanted.The photos (excluding the balcony one) were of the refurbished top two floors.I display here the description on the website and show the differences between the description and reality.

Executive Harbour View Suite features and amenities:

Spacious and elegant suite overlooking the harbour
2 roomed suite with separate lounge and bedroom with a four poster double bed. NO "4 POSTER"
Non smoking rooms
Air-conditioned
Fully stocked mini bar
Tea & Coffee Making Facilities.TUCKED IN A CUPBOARD AND A MAJOR OPERATION TO UNLOAD AND GET TO THE NEAREST SOCKET EACH TIME WE WANTED A CUPPA.
High Speed Internet Access (wired, at a charge)
Trouser press
Direct dial telephone
42" LCD TV in sitting room.NO, PERHAPS THE OLDEST TV IN CAPTIVITY HIDING IN A CUPBOARD.
In-room safety deposit box
Private bathroom with floor to ceiling marble and a large walk-in shower (no bathtub)
NO, AGED BATHTUB WITH SHOWER OVER, ENAMEL CHIPPED AND RUSTY WITH AN OLD ATTEMPT TO HIDE THE CHIPS WITH DROPS OF WHITE PAINT (NOT SUCCESSFUL).THE TAPS PERPETUALLY DRIPPED HOWEVER ONE TRIED TO TIGHTEN THEM.THE TOWEL RACK LOOKED NEW,UNFORTUNATELY IT WAS SO POSITIONED THAT THE LOWEST BAR'S HAND TOWELS MAINLY LAID ON A SHELF AND THE TOP BATH TOWEL BAR WAS APPROXIMATELY 7 FEET OFF THE GROUND SO THAT AFTER USE THE ONLY WAY TO REPLACE THE TOWEL WAS TO LOB IT AND HOPE IT STUCK. THE GROUTING WAS STAINED (PROBABLY BEYOND CLEANING) IN PLACES AND SOME OF THE FLOOR TILES WERE LOOSE.
Hairdryer
Double glazed windows. OBVIOUSLY NO WINDOWS AS THERE WERE BALCONIES BUT UNFORTUNATELY NOT VERY DOUBLE GLAZED AS THE RUBBER SEALANT WAS COMING AWAY IN PLACES.

I have gone on and on about this to show that,at least as far as our suite is concerned, this hotel is by no means 5 star and would have to be lucky to reach 4 star.
The breakfast is adequate but I don't understand other reviewers waxing lyrical about it.I have had better in 4 star hotels in poorer parts of the world.I cannot comment on dinners or other services as we made no use of them as I saw no reason to reward the hotel for providing the above suite with more of our money.(there are plenty of restaurants and bars etc of all qualities and prices in Valletta)
So I would suggest that,unless it is vital that you stay near the bus station or the entrance to Valletta, you look at the other 5 star hotels in Malta.
PS.the staff were mainly helpful,some unhelpful and a few downright unpleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DouglasManxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Malta and we definitely wish to return to this hotel. From the moment we walked through the door we were welcomed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an executive bedroom on the second floor with harbour views and it was well worth the additional price. There is a great atmosphere in the hotel which can be missing from many hotels and the elegance of the period is well preserved. The food was good starting with a very tasty breakfast with something for everyone. Having stayed here the hotel would be a must when we return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Christine L,

I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed you stay at the hotel Phoenicia, and I wish to thank you for sharing this experience with other Trip Advisor users.

I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Phoenicia has certainly been grand, but little of it still is. Unless you are prepared to accept the historic 5 Star plaque outside the hotel, read on or look elsewhere as the rooms and service are comparable only with 3 or 4 star international standards.

The public rooms hark back to earlier times but are smart. It is well-located, very convenient for the old city and with good views from the pool and gardens, if right next to the untidy bus station and a taxi rank. Views are good on the harbour side, but from most of the rooms are uninspiring.

We would say that “5 Star” applies only to the lobbies, recently hung with expensive examples of the paintings by best original artists of Malts and the Club Bar where the ambiance and the service are brilliant. The rest of the public rooms, gardens, pool and the 3rd and 4th floor rooms rate 4 stars, almost. The 1st and 2nd floor rooms are no better than “3 Star”. These “Classic rooms” are well past their best and, in their present state, should not be sold as any part of a 5 star hotel. In our reasonably spacious corner room on the 2nd floor, a mouldy non-slip shower mat was just the start of it. It was quickly replaced when we complained about its disgusting state at the front desk. Dripping tap, dizzy mirror, faulty window, blind and curtains with holes, pathetic off-the-taps shower clumsily replacing a defunct but still in place early thermostatic shower, old TV not showing the full picture, scruffy lampshades, worn headboard, cracked floor tiles and engrained dirt… Get the picture? A large and comfortable bed was not enough to make up for this and more. Talking to other guests, some of the Classic rooms are not so bad – so at least try to get a better one.

The upper floor rooms were refurbished and modernised some years ago and are of a higher standard although still well short of what most 5 star hotels offer with ill-fitting windows, corroding bathroom fittings, slow-starting first generation flat screen TVs not showing the whole picture either, tired decoration, sub-standard plumbing and a mean selection of toiletries. After “Guest Relations” offered us a change of room to the 4th floor we endured a night of “water torture” with gurgling water noises being transmitted through the air conditioning or service ducts. In the morning we found that many guests on several floors had suffered too and that management had been told about it the previous evening but did nothing other than to call maintenance to fix it early the following morning.

Maintenance of the bedrooms is an issue throughout the hotel and we felt that the staff had almost given up on the lower floor rooms recognising that, unless the owners get them refurbished, they cannot keep them up to an acceptable standard. Corridor carpets on the lower floors have loose threads that could easily be cut off to improve the appearance, but this suggestion to 'Guest Relations' was ignored. Retaining the Classic character would be good for the local hot climate, provided bathrooms are thoroughly upgraded, and windows, curtains, lights replaced.

Aside from the 5-star service in the Club Bar we found the service a mix of pleasant and offhand. “Order at the bar” is the un-5 Star regime in the Palm Court Lounge and companions missed their bus because their light breakfast option there was so slow coming. Housekeeping is not faultless and used room-service items are left in corridors throughout the day. External events are obviously good business for the hotel and may spill out of the function rooms to take over the Palm Court Lounge which is the usual retreat of residents for drinks, snacks and free Wi-Fi (which is an outrageous €12.50 per day in your room plus a deposit for a wire-to-wireless converter!). Breakfast had a good selection of cold foods (but no screening to ensure the hygiene of the fresh fruit, cheeses and cooked meats) and warm items in a buffet with eggs being prepared to order and a self-service toaster. Not the best. Other guests who had dined in the hotel’s Pegasus Bistro waited an hour for their food to arrive and then is was cold – so we went out for dinner.

We would say: Don’t be deceived by the weekly management reception for guests in the Palm Court Lounge, or by the pianist there in the evenings. These inexpensive offerings cannot make up for the deficiencies of this hotel.

So, if you are used to 5-star hotels and don’t want have a nostalgic return to how they were 50 years ago, be very particular about getting a good room, probably on the 3rd or 4th floor, or if not and if you want real 5 Star, look elsewhere. And if you do stay there, please put an honest report on TA which properly reflects the rating of the hotel and stops the ridiculous posting of TA 2013 Winner Certificates of Excellence in the lobby. While these are there, the management will continue its decades of resting on the Phoenicia’s laurels.

Room Tip: Do not accept any room until you have checked it thoroughly. Rooms with views of the bus station or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Whilst thanking you for your review of your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia. I would like to apologise for the shortcomings experienced with some aspects of your stay.

The first and second floor rooms are the Mediterranean style rooms, these rooms retain the original features of the hotel rooms such as the classic Maltese tiles and are quite popular with many of our returning guests. I am sorry about the short comings in your rooms, our rooms are thoroughly checked by our housekeeping supervisors prior to the guests’ check in, in order to prevent such situations from happening. Mark Quintano; our housekeeper with whom you have spoken while at the hotel has already looked into the matter and addressed the situation in order to ensure that this does not happen again.

During your stay, we had a maintenance issue in the air-conditioning system. Whilst the fault was dealt with within the hour, it took quite a bit of time until the system went back to running normally. We do understand that this was very inconvenient for some guests however it was beyond our control. Please do accept my most sincere apologies for this.

We highly appreciate your feedback, which has already been circulated amongst our Heads of Department so they may identify the areas which we need to improve on.

I thank you once again for your review.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,958 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,667 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing