We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Massy, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. charming old building, top staff, very nice pool with a great view on the bay, great breakfast, nice clientele, location : close to Valetta and bus stations.
We will surely come back to this place!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofiane z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sofiane Z,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your time here, thank you for posting a review about us. It was a pleasure to read that every aspect of your stay, from our location to your room and probably most importantly our service, met your expectations. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    645
    167
    53
    22
See reviews for
243
1,386
113
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scarborough
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

top staff all singing from the same sheet, grace full old building ,only downside pool bar price is too high for what you get, moderate drinks etc. great breakfast , no idiots in vests and football gear, very close to the grand harbour and pool overlooks sliema cree

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfonshaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear alfonshaar,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others. Thank you for choosing us and for recommending us to fellow travelers, we hope to welcome you back to the Phoenicia very soon.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Phoenicia, you made a great 5 days for us. Neville on reception was very welcoming, Simon by the pool, Charlo and Joe and the restaurant team, Jonathan etc I could go on.
This is a classic hotel and reminds you of days gone by, but cleverly up to date with all you need in the 21st Century without selling out, plus you can walk straight out into Valetta and explore. You are not stuck miles from anything. When you have had enough come back to the cool foyer and then relax by the pool with its stunning views.
Breakfast and Dinner on the veranda must be experienced and I am now an ardent fan of The Phoenicia.

Room Tip: Sea view, but to be honest we spent most of our time exploring Malta and Valetta or by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonyJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Anthony JB,

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We highly appreciate your comments and I will make sure that all the team members you have mentioned are aware of your kind words towards them.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived in Malta late at night and were due to stay only 4 nights, the company we had booked with had gone bankrupt so had to find other accomodation at short notice. This hotel was the only one available at short notice. We were told it was 184 Euro a night so we decided to just stay 1 night and find other accomodation the following day. We were then told, 184 was a discount rate for 4 nights so we paid 204 EuR for 1 night!

Breakfast was good, a man makes you eggs but for this price I expected luxury. The room was about 12ft x 12ft. The bathroom was small, the decor was old and outdated.
I was rather upset about having to pay so much, but the man at the reception desk didn't care nor did he want to help us even though we were stranded.

I paid, I slept, I left. Not impressed in the slightest, you can stay somewhere else for cheaper and get a luxury trip! No way 5 Star.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Cat K,

Thank you for your review.

As you pointed out your booking was during peak period for the island and the hotel. The person who called to make your booking asked specifically for the rate for a four nights stay. As we had a discounted rate for minimum of 3 nights we quoted this to give the benefit on the rate for a longer stay. It was only at check in that we were advised that your stay will only be for 1 night and therefore our front desk agents were not able to give the length of stay discount.

It is very unfortunate that the company and the hotel you originally booked with did not make alternative arrangements for you prior to your arrival and I can understand your disappointment with having to find alternative accommodation at such short notice during such a busy period.

I thank you once again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Returning to this beautiful hotel after over 20 years, I was not disappointed. I had many summers staying here with my family and remember staff and the hotel with fondness. I remember celebrities of all sorts and no doubt the VIP list is still one to read!
The hotel still has high standards, the staff are still professional and friendly - its a shame the restaurant has changed to a more buffet style I feel ( at least for our stay), but the food was great nevertheless. The rooms are relaxed and sedate, cool and comfortable - even a bed turning down service - and they too have not been overhauled to look "business class".

Its such a special place - go if you can! Hopefully it won't lose its charm, hopefully it won't disappear - what a crime that would be! Full of elegance, a very special place.

Thank you Phoenicia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear lorraine j,

It is lovely to read your positive comments and that you had such a good time when you were staying with us. I am pleased that you had a great stay with us and hope it will not be long before you come and stay again at the Hotel Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wonderful service as usual.Particular credit to Neville (Front Office Manager) and Simon ( at the Pool Bar). All the other staff were as helpful as usua, and the chambermaids excellent.l would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeOff186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear GEoff186361,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others. Thank you for choosing us and for recommending us to fellow travelers, we look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for probably about five years now and it never seems to lose it's charm! The staff can't do enough for you and you are always greeted with 'Welcome back'. There are so many favourites we cannot name just one, firstly the rooms are first class and sitting outside for breakfast in the mornings is such a perfect way to start the day with all the little sparrows around. The pool is very relaxed but at the same time not too quiet.Our general opinion of this hotel is 'Perfect'. The location is great too. We cannot wait to go back again next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Adam M,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your time here, thank you for posting a review about us. It was a pleasure to read that every aspect of your stay, from our location to your room and probably most importantly our service, met your expectation.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia next Summer.

Kind regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,844 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing