We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel but needs renovation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel but needs renovation!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a Lovely hotel in a prime location.

The hotel does look tired though and needs some serious upgrading. I have stayed in other 5 star hotels that are far superior.

The Restaurant is good though not brilliant. The Phoenix Bar which is adjacent to the hotel offers a high standard of modern cuisine. By comparison the main restaurant is a little turgid.

The staff are friendly, especially the senior ones.

Having stayed there 3 times in 3 years it is time to give it a rest and see if they can up their game. I get the distinct feeling this place lives on its past glories. The best could be still to come, but that depends o. The consortium of owners who need to keep their eye on the game !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bosco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Bosco D,
Dear Bosco D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. We highly appreciate your feedback as this will help us enhance our standards of quality and services.
We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Malta.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    648
    168
    53
    22
See reviews for
246
1,394
114
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and got married here in August 2013.

Service was amazing all staff were friendly and extremely helpful, everyone says hello and good morning from cleaning staff to management we could not fault anyone. Breakfasts were delicious one of the largest buffet breakfasts we have had at a hotel from full English with freshly made eggs to your liking (omlettes, fried or scrambled) to fruit, continental and local pastries. You can even have prosecco with your breakfast! and you can eat al fresco or inside.

Room - We stayed in a deluxe room with balcony. A little old fashioned but balcony views were superb both at night and during the day. Standard rooms are just as nice if not a bit nicer but you give up the balcony and view.

Restaurants and bars were excellent especially the pegasus restaurant and club bar both had good food and great service.

Location - right next to the bus station and republic street for restaurants and shopping. There's an M&S if you are missing English food and wine.

For anyone planning on getting married here:. The wedding day was organised perfectly and ran smoothly in every aspect. We had a buffet sit down meal which was far better than we expected. The photographer was excellent the staff on the day could not have been more attentive. Rachel the wedding planner was outstanding and every was delivered.

We would definitely recommmend a stay at this hotel and we will be back.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are more modern with carpets however don't have balcony views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandGFagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear AandGFagan,

It is lovely to read your positive comments and that you had such a good time when you were staying with us. I am pleased that you had a great stay with us. I would like to thank you for recommendation as a wedding venue. I hope to welcome you back for your first anniversary celebrations.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had an excellent experience at the Hotel Phoenicia; friendly staff, superb food, perfect location and great facilities. The room was lovely too - we have one of the refurbished rooms on the 4th floor with harbour views. Would certainly recommend for couples.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd and 4th floor have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Alex T,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others. Thank you for choosing us and for recommending us to fellow travelers, we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton middlesex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for five nights and really enjoyed our stay. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the harbour which was fantastic. I loved the fact that the hotel is set within it's own grounds and the pool is a in a great location, right next to the the city walls with fantastic views. Similarly the terrace, where you have your meels, is in a great location. Position could not be better, the bus from the airport drops off just outside the hotel and you are just by the main gate into the old city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Jeremy H,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. I am glad that your have enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We read a lot of Trip Advisor reviews on Hotel Phoenicia and even considered booking half board. Glad that we didn't as the fine dining menu was a little uninspiring in our opinion and the many good dining options available in Valletta vindicated our decision. The breakfast was great and set us up for the day. The waiting staff are on the whole very friendly and attentive, a little too attentive one evening where we felt that the staff were almost circling the tables waiting for somebody to put a knife or fork down so that they could take the plates away. The pool area is looking a little tired and could do with a good clean, although the view across the harbour is amazing. Not quite enough sunbeds at busy times, particularly if you prefer the shade every now and then. A large bottle of water cost 5 Euro and a Magnum ice cream just shy of this price. If you like your brandy to be a decent quality, expect to pay 10 Euros! We had a basic room and this was well maintained and air-conditioning was great as it was 33 degrees during our visit ! The Phoenicia sits right a the top of Valletta and you can walk into the city and down to the harbour within 5 or 10 minutes to eat or drink in the evening if you prefer. To be fair, I would probably return to stay at The Phoenicia should I ever visit Malta again but hope that the hotel spends a little more effort around the pool area to give a better overall holiday experience.

Room Tip: Avoid a room adjacent to the fire doors - we found that other guests would let these slam at all hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbo49_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Timbo49_10,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Your comments and feedback are appreciated and will help us ensure that we improve the service we provide in the future.

It is a pity that you did not try dinner at one of our restaurants. The Pegasus features a menu which is primarily focused on fresh local produce and daily fresh fish. During the Summer months we also have different theme nights at the Phoenix restaurant including a Maltese Buffet and a Sunday Grill to offer a variety to dining options to our guests.

I am glad you would choose to reside at the Hotel Phoenicia and look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Not sure why all the raving about this hotel here. It's ok but certainly not the best place I've ever stayed and definitely not a five star hotel. Little touches are missing - the swimming pool could certainly do with more cleaning, lots of sand on the steps and scum floating on the corner. There are always dirty cups left from the day before that are not collected by staff. To prove this point there's a shower gel left in the pool shower area for five days now! Obviously nobody checks it. Prices are also a rip off: 4.50 Euros for a coke and 5,75 for a pint for example.
Also, the Buffett Night is by far the worse value meal we had in Valletta. One can eat very well indeed in the many great restaurants in town and the food offered at the Phoenicia on Buffet Nights is just not worth the money, despite the free flow wine. On top of that I felt very ill after dinning on it one night and despite complaining to management, I was ignored - I just didn't get any feedback. My advice is don't bother with the buffet, go and eat well in one of the many great restaurants in Valletta.
Best thing regarding service is room cleaning, I could not fault it. But overall the hotel failed to wow me, despite its great location and fading grandeur. It seems to me it really needs to up its game.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriGll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear PriGll,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Phoenicia.

I sincerely apologise for not fully meeting your expectations on this visit. We were also very concerned about your comment that you fell ill after eating at our hotel. I assure you that all precautions are taken to ensure that our food, especially in our buffets, is fresh and prepared in the most hygienic environment possible. Our kitchen is fully HACCP compliant. We also pride ourselves of the fact that all incidents, especially anything like your comment, are reported directly to the General Manager on a daily basis. On the day in question we served over 50 persons from the buffet and I am pleased to say that we had no other reports on any incident with the food.

We have also taken your comment about the cleanliness of the pool and our housekeeper and pool staff are making sure that cleanliness in this area is improved.

Whilst once again we sincerely apologise for the incidents encountered we also thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of our hotel.
I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

we stayed here for a week and the staff could not have been more helpful especially when I needed to see a doctor on an official holiday! The breakfasts were wonderful and we loved the ambience of the hotel. They even provided my husband with a lovely chocolate cake as it was his birthday the day we arrived. The only gripes were that we upgraded to an executive room but were disappointed that it didnt have a balcony - also the drinks in the pool bar were rather overpriced!

Room Tip: although the executive room we had was very comfortable if you can I would go for a room with a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenrids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear helenrids,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

All our executive rooms are on the 4th floor and these are all without balcony. On the other hand they have open views on both Floriana and Valletta which is something which is highly appreciated by most of our guests.

I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Phoenicia next time you are in Malta.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,903 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing