We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, elegant, well staffed and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
near London, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Comfortable, elegant, well staffed and perfect location”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Ideal location - on the doorstep of the old city and of the terminus for island buses. Staff were confident, polite and helpful. Room comfy, roomy and nice - probably could have had herb tea bags if we had asked. Breakfast buffet good - best hash browns anywhere, bread could be more interesting, skilled egg man, bacon too smoky, fresh fruit not always ripe, a lovely marinated white fish, good cakelets - and more if one asked. Warmed outdoor swimming pool with comfortable sunbathing - perfect in late spring when uncrowded - reached through a pleasant garden stroll. A lovely place to stay.
On the basis that the hotel reads these reports herewith some negatives.
There is no free INTERNET ACCESS - a small and totally unused Business Centre had two enticing screens, but no access without cash. There was free WiFi but I don't carry my electronics abroad. Most inconvenient.
I do not expect religious indoctrination in a 5* hotel. What was both bizarre and worse was that the book in the bedside drawer was New Testament only. Malta may be a last bastion of traditional Roman Catholicism but this is no reason to insult international guests. So Muslims, Jews, Hindus, Agnostics, Atheists, etc can all go hang. My religion and morals are my business, not the hotel's.
I would unquestionably stay here again if in Valletta in future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    644
    167
    53
    22
See reviews for
242
1,385
113
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Wonderful hotel, full of old world charm - I wouldn't have been surprised if Noel Coward had been playing the piano.

The levels of service were absolutely amazing; the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.

The food was exceptional (and I am a true foodie).

Fab location for Valletta.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GladysAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We've just returned very sadly from a ten day stay at the Phoenicia where we were, once again, treated as old friends.

This was our 14th or 15th stay - we still can't agree - and we loved it just as much as when we first stayed over ten years ago. We stayed in one of the unrefurbished rooms (which we greatly prefer to the made over ones) and the only criticism we could make of our stay in Malta was the mixed bag of weather.

The Phoenicia continues to delight us. The staff are wonderful - friendly, helpful and warm. We both slept better than we ever manage at home and thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful food, peace and beauty of the gardens and the amazing views from our balcony. We could easily have stayed another week (in our dreams) and can't wait to return.

We continue to recommend this brilliant hotel to all our friends. If only there was wi-fi in the rooms it would be absolute perfection.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeShoequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We visited the hotel in March on an Air miles package & we were so pleased with our choice-the hotel was very beautiful,comfy bedrooms,lovely breakfast,nice outdoor pool which was heated!Mario was really helpful,changing our room for one with a balcony so we could enjoy the views with a nice glass of wine before dinner!Would definatly visit again & recommend to others-Thanks Airmiles!!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eugene75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Having visited the Phoenicia several times on business trips, I decided to take my wife for a week’s break. I had “waxed lyrical” about the standards there, and was afraid I had overstated the case and she would be disappointed when we arrived. Not a bit of it however!!

It exceeded her expectations and she aptly described it as a “colonial gem”, grand and yet not intimidating as the wonderful staff made us both feel “at home”. The place is splendid – all marble, Concierges, Maitre d’Hotels, Grand Pianos and cocktails at dusk, but still friendly and ideally placed.

Malta is not really a place for beach holidays, so situated just outside the Valetta City Gate, the Phoenicia is ideally placed to explore – Valetta is on your doorstep for walking about – and the adjacent bus terminus and transport system with it’s very sensibly priced bus fares will get you anywhere on the island cheaply. A word of warning – the buses all like to say “hello” to each other at around 0630 every morning – so expect to have an early alarm call every day!!

The rooms at the Phoenicia are extremely comfortable, with everything provided for you. Free tea and coffee as standard, although the “milk” is evaporated milk and doesn’t taste good in tea – take a “Squeezy Jif Lemon” with you for lemon tea which neatly gets round the problem!! The beds are very comfortable, and there is certainly enough space in the rooms. The only criticism is that there is no free Wi-Fi internet service in the rooms – it is available in the Palm Court Lounge, but that is not always convenient and making it available in the rooms would be a bonus.

The room pricing is fair, and the restaurant “something else” with an excellent selection of reasonably priced wines as well as the more expensive ones for the connoisseurs. We enjoyed the Wednesday evening Buffet which was a “gut buster” if you wanted it to be. Certainly the menus offered were superb, and with the serving staff being so friendly and efficient we certainly had no complaints at all.

All in all – an experience is the best way to describe the Phoenicia – full of memories from the recent past – the gallery of photographs of famous faces in the bar picturing those who have stayed in the past ranges from royalty to film stars and is certainly worth a look. We offered our photographs to be added to the gallery but funnily enough our offer wasn’t taken up!!

A lovely stay with fond memories of good food and wine in comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltonpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The classy public rooms and the quality of the food combined with the friendliness of the staff made our stay a delight.
The position of the hotel in the proximity of the gates of Valletta and the bus station make it an ideal location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendailes74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Lovely hotel, perfectly located to explore Valetta, impeccable service, the staff even left a birthday cake in our room form my boyfriends birthday. Breakfast which was included was huge with a full choice of healthy or cooked breakfasts. One minor was that there was no air-conditioning in the room, the first night we were absolutely boiling so asked some one to come and turn on aircon but they said would not be possible at this time off year, so he gave us a fan instead which definately helped. Seemed odd that they woiuld not have manual aircon in a 5 star hotel. I would defiantely recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Helenamathieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,825 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing