We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining at a bargain price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Preca

Palazzo Preca
Ranked #12 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Palazzo Preca Restaurant is serving a variety of Mediterranean and Maltese cuisine such as pasta "mostly recomended with seafood", colourful salads, juicy Irish steaks, traditional cooked rabbit, beef olives ,snails in garlic and what we are known for, the fish and shellfish which comes fresh every day.We are open every day for lunch and dinner, accept Sunday evening and Monday closed all day.
Lake District
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine dining at a bargain price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This restaurant is a joy to find in Valletta tucked away on Strait Street. We were VERY lucky to be able to walk off the street without a reservation at the restaurant's opening at 6.45pm and get a table. Later on, we saw at least half a dozen parties being turned away because the restaurant was full. The reason for the popularity is the quality of the food. This is most definitely a fine dining establishment, without being overly posh or stuffy. My wife had pumpkin soup, which she said was perfect, and I had seafood spaghetti, which was done to a tee. For main courses, my wife had salmon, and I had rib-eye steak. Both fantastic. There was just room for a light dessert. If I had a small criticism, but it is small, and did not detract from the experience, I would have liked the server to explain the complimentary appetisers to us. I would have happily paid more for this meal and would certainly put it on my "must return" list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaddadLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,131
    335
    81
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mgarr, null, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Eating at this restaurant means I will now carry this memory of tasting the most delicate and perfect veal ravioli I have ever tasted in my life.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marija A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Why is this restaurant not no.1!??!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

are you serious? we are locals that have dined in all restaurants in Valletta, there is no other place that compares in price, quality and service as palazzo preca. This restaurant was some time ago no.1 on tripadvisor, and I am quite surprised that it is now no.4, considering the food and service, and PRICE other restaurants offer and charge! for once, I have to disagree with Tripadvisor with their way of calculating ratings. Who has dined here will know what I mean. this is true maltese hospitality at its best - great food, superb freshness, great service, and guess what.....very affordable prices. If the prices do not go up, this is the best restaurant in Valletta, if not in all Malta.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamaica29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden Jem just a stones throw from the cities main street, and so easy to miss.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This magnificent Restaurant in Straight Street is a mixture of rooms set in an old palace, the display of fish to choose from is worth a visit. On a romantic eveening with your love one? Let them know and you will be directed to just the right table. The food is "Historic" and the staff dedicated to your enjoyment. Book or be disapointed.
Sparrow London.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sparrowwelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Visited twice while on holiday in Malta from England (weekday lunch and a late Sunday lunch - for Sunday we made a reservation so that we were not disappointed and would recommend doing this). Had been recommended by a Maltese colleague and it lived up to expectations. Service was attentive but informal - don't expect old style waiters. We liked the complimentary nibbles when we did not order starters. Food was excellent and over two visits we tried a variety of Maltese dishes. Excellent value for money given overall quality. We eat out every day during our week's stay and overall this was the best food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Preca also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Palazzo Preca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing