We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Palazzo Preca

Palazzo Preca
Ranked #12 of 235 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Palazzo Preca Restaurant is serving a variety of Mediterranean and Maltese cuisine such as pasta "mostly recomended with seafood", colourful salads, juicy Irish steaks, traditional cooked rabbit, beef olives ,snails in garlic and what we are known for, the fish and shellfish which comes fresh every day.We are open every day for lunch and dinner, accept Sunday evening and Monday closed all day.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We followed Tripadvisor recommendations and visited Palazzo Preca whilst in Valetta. It's tucked away in a quiet side street and doesn't look like much from the outside. However, inside it is a beautiful building full of character. We ate the maximum number of courses and we had no complaints about any dish. The food was lovely. The staff were unbelievably friendly, and made such an effort without being intrusive. We had a nice relaxing meal and the bill was extremely reasonable. We had wanted to make a return visit but were disappointed to find that the restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday, which were the only remaining days of our trip.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCM_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,183
    349
    88
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rightly No. 1”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We'd defiantly agree with many of the reviews on here that make this the top rated restaurant in Valetta. We visited twice and the food was excellent on both occasions and good value. Try the scallops as a starter or the clams, particularly if you like buttery garlic sauces! Like some of the other restaurants in Valetta, they provided a small selection of Maltese appertizers before the starters; try them – Maltese olives are very potent and the hummus-like paste grows on you, as does the local wine!

Helpful?
Thank Cumnor_writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Preca Magic!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Strolling down Strait Street and stumbling across the rather elegant doorway and the sign saying 'Palazzo Preca' - you have no idea as to the treat that awaits you inside... if you can get a table that is!

We were most fortunate and had some of the best food available on Malta! If was so good we returned the following night for wonderful 'snails' and deep delicate 'rabbit', a taste so intense and delicious that it will be forever in my taste bank.

This is a family affair, with two sisters and their father Charles taking great care and culinary flair with the cooking... a cousin, a boyfriend and friends managing the front of house in a gorgeously friendly yet utterly professional way. Knowledgeable about the Menu, produce, cooking methods and the Wine list - this is a tightly drilled brigade.

The elder of the sisters Ramona, emerged from the kitchen after service and worked the room with charm and elegance, she was greeted with warm applause from her guests and rightly so... this girl is a sublime chef!

So a magical setting, extraordinary culinary skills, wonderful service... This is a restaurant of the very highest standard and would not be out of place in New York, London or Paris... it is worth visiting Malta just to be able to eat here - Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Deserves being number 1”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great value for money. Service and food were both great.Local rabbit dish and sea bass, followed by chocolate and nut dessert. Would like to visit again before we leave,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wren012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, good prices..”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My last night in Malta, back in September was decided to Palazzo Preca.. I really enjoyed the good atmosphere, and everything from the food to the service was great. I ordered some kind of local food (Can't remember the name), and a local wine, which was recommended by the waiter.. Both was really tasteful.. If you are going to Valletta, and are searching for excellent food, with good prices, then visit Palezzo Preca..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZlatkoAlispahic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Preca also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Palazzo Preca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing